Golden State: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster,
Pub. Date:
2015.
Language:
English
Description
A haunting literary drama, with a ripped-from-the headlines urgency reminiscent of Defending Jacob and Sue Miller's While I Was Gone, Golden State asks hard questions about the limits of loyalty and the bounds of family ties. Growing up in the 1960s in one of California's most prominent political families, Natalie Askedahl worshipped her big brother, Bobby, a sensitive math prodigy who served as her protector and confidante. But after Bobby left home at sixteen on a Princeton scholarship, something changed between them. Now that Natalie is happily married, with a career and two young daughters, her only real regret is losing Bobby. Then, a bomb explodes in the middle of her seemingly ideal life. Her oldest daughter is on the Stanford campus when one person is killed and another maimed. Other bombings follow across California. Frightened for her family, Natalie grows obsessed with the case until she makes an unthinkable discovery: the bomber's manifesto reads alarmingly like the last letter she has from Bobby. Unsure of whom to sacrifice and whom to protect, Natalie is confronted with a terrible choice that will send her down a rabbit hole of confusion, lies, and betrayals. As her life splits irrevocably into before and after, she begins to learn that some of the most dangerous things in the world are the stories we tell ourselves.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781476709321
9781476709314
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 70b4ad1e-5382-9848-af9a-cb03585d19d8
Grouping Title golden state
Grouping Author kegan stephanie
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-18 23:20:17PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-19 00:28:57AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Kegan, Stephanie,
author_display Kegan, Stephanie
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Adult Fiction
display_description "In the vein of Defending Jacob or We Need to Talk About Kevin, a compelling literary drama about finding evil close to home and how far a woman will go to protect her family. All her life, Natalie Askedahl has been the good girl, an obedient team player. Growing up as the youngest child in one of California's most prominent political families, she worshipped her big brother, Bobby, a sensitive math prodigy who served as her protector and confidante. But after Bobby left home at sixteen on a Harvard scholarship, something changed between them as Bobby retreated deeper into his own head. Now that Natalie is a happily married, with a lawyer husband, two young daughters, and a house in the Berkeley Hills, her only real regret is losing Bobby. Then, a bomb explodes in the middle of her ideal-seeming life. Her oldest daughter is on the Stanford campus when one person is killed and another maimed. Worse, other attacks follow across California. Frightened for her family, Natalie grows obsessed with the case of the so-called Cal Bomber, until she makes an unthinkable discovery: the bomber's infamous manifesto reads alarmingly like the last letter she has from Bobby, whom she has seen only once in fifteen years. Unable to face the possibility that her sweet brother could be a monster and a murderer, is confronted with a terrible choice, about who to sacrifice and who to protect. The decision she makes will send her down a rabbit hole of confusion, lies, and betrayals that threaten to destroy her relationships with everyone she holds dear. As her life splits irrevocably into before and after, what she begins to learn is that some of the most dangerous things in the world are the stories we tell ourselves"-- "A haunting and heartstopping novel about a suburban mother of two who is faced with an unthinkable choice: betray her husband and children, the brother who helped raise her, or her country"--
format_catalog Book
format_category_catalog Books
id 70b4ad1e-5382-9848-af9a-cb03585d19d8
isbn 9781476709314, 9781476709321
item_details ils:CARL0000455329|35192047116599|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Kegan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||
itype_catalog Book
last_indexed 2018-09-19T05:28:57.923Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Kegan
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids
primary_isbn 9781476709321
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000455329|Book|Books||English|Simon & Schuster,|2015.|288 pages ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000455329 35192047116599 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Bombings -- Fiction, Brothers and sisters -- Fiction, California -- Fiction, Psychological fiction, American
title_display Golden State : a novel
title_full Golden State : a novel / Stephanie Kegan
title_short Golden State :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Bombings, Brothers and sisters, Psychological fiction, American