My brother's shadow

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014.
Language:
English
Description
Fans of David Almond's Skellig and Patrick Ness's A Monster Calls will embrace this deeply affecting middle grade novel in which a girl suffering from terrible grief befriends a mysterious wild boy. When I saw him that first time I screamed--a small and silent scream, all inside, in my gut. Eleven-year-old Kaia, who has felt isolated since her older brother committed suicide more than a year before, befriends a wild boy who mysteriously appears at her London school. Though the boy is mute and can only communicate with a flash of his gray eyes, he might be the friend Kaia needs to bring her through her grief. Here's a fascinating story, which offers a fresh and completely original portrayal of loss and renewal. "Readers who love stories of overcoming personal struggles and emotional strife will eat this up." -- Booklist "Fans of realistic fiction... will surely devour Avery's latest." -- School Library Journal "[Kaia's] confessional narration and self-aware observations yield a believable and haunting portrait of grief." -- Publishers Weekly
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780385384889
9780385384896
9780385384872
Reading Level:
MG+
Level 4.2, 3 Points
Lexile measure:
590L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 71056e49-513f-397c-63c3-68e7a4a58105
Grouping Title my brother s shadow
Grouping Author avery tom
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-14 23:22:22PM
Last Indexed 2018-10-15 00:22:21AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG+
accelerated_reader_point_value 3
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.2
author Avery, Tom (Children's story writer).
author_display Avery, Tom
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Kids Fiction, Main Library - Kids Fiction, Southeast - Kids Fiction
display_description Eleven-year-old Kaia, who has felt emotionally isolated since her brother's suicide, befriends a wild boy who mysteriously appears at her London school, finding a way to communicate with him despite his being mute.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 71056e49-513f-397c-63c3-68e7a4a58105
isbn 9780385384872, 9780385384889, 9780385384896
item_details ils:CARL0000445101|35192046450288|Green Hills - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Avery|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000445101|35192046450296|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Avery|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000445101|35192046450304|Southeast - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Avery|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000445101|A01859955|Pennington Elementary - Kids Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||2K640||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00736416|East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4A296||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00736511|McMurray Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||4K540||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00736605|Joelton Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4G470||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00736693|Antioch Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||41111||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00736784|Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||48275||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00736966|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4S612||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00737062|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4N555||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00737152|Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||47270||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00737239|Litton Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4I510||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00737874|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||46260||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00738092|Croft Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||45238||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00738312|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00738626|McKissack Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4J535||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00739533|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00739629|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00739882|Goodlettsville Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4B355||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00740310|J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction|REAL F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4O563||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00740715|J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||4H498||, ils:CARL0000445101|B00740807|Jere Baxter Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||43120||, ils:CARL0000445101|FF00081514|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, ils:CARL0000445101|FF00089072|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4N555||, ils:CARL0000445101|MK10105996|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F AVE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, overdrive:11f78cec-29e7-471d-9b3b-dc7ef47db018|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-10-15T05:22:21.674Z
lexile_score 590
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction Avery
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780385384889
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000445101|Book|Books|First American edition.|English|Schwartz & Wade Books,|2014.|161 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:11f78cec-29e7-471d-9b3b-dc7ef47db018|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:11f78cec-29e7-471d-9b3b-dc7ef47db018 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000445101 35192046450304 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000445101 35192046450288 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000445101 35192046450296 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet England -- Juvenile fiction, Friendship -- Juvenile fiction, Grief -- Juvenile fiction, London (England) -- Juvenile fiction, Mutism -- Juvenile fiction, Single-parent families -- Juvenile fiction, Suicide -- Juvenile fiction
title_display My brother's shadow
title_full My Brother's Shadow, My brother's shadow / Tom Avery
title_short My brother's shadow
title_sub
topic_facet Friendship, Grief, Juvenile Literature, Mutism, Single-parent families, Suicide, Young Adult Fiction