Yard war

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Wendy Lamb Books, an imprint of Random House Children's Books, a division of Random House LLC,
Pub. Date:
[2015]
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Description

"Taylor Kitching's rousing debut puts you right on the fifty-yard line of a vital historical moment." --Chris Grabenstein, New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library Perfect for readers of Christopher Paul Curtis's Bud, Not Buddy and Vince Vawter's Paperboy , Yard War explores race relations during the Civil Rights Movement from the perspective of a boy who accidentally sets off a "yard war" when he invites his maid's son to play football on his front lawn. Trip Westbrook has spent his first twelve years far from the struggle for civil rights going on in Mississippi. The one black person he knows well is Willie Jane, the family maid, who has been a second mother to him. When Trip invites her son, Dee, to play football in the yard, he discovers the ugly side of his smiling neighbors. Trip's old pals stop coming by. He is bullied, his house is defaced, and his family is threatened. The Westbrooks will be forced to choose between doing the right thing or losing the only home Trip has ever known. Who knew that playing football in the yard could have such consequences? This engaging, honest, and hopeful novel is full of memorable characters, and brings the civil rights-era South alive for young readers. "Trip is a fine character. 1964 Mississippi leaps to life in this book." -- Gennifer Choldenko, Newbery Honor winning author of Al Capone Does My Shirts "A captivating story about standing up for your friends. I loved seeing Trip learn how hard it can be to do the right thing." -- Kristin Levine, author of The Lions of Little Rock and The Paper Cowboy "Trip's journey is a sensitive account about how one person can slowly make a difference." -- Booklist "A challenging but worthwhile portrait of a very difficult period in American history." -- SLJ

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780553507546
9780553507539
9780553507560
Reading Level:
MG
Level 4.8, 7 Points
Lexile measure:
770L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 71f3311b-03e6-06ba-d370-b17eb8b80574
Full title yard war
Author kitchings taylor
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-06-05 23:34:31PM
Last Indexed 2018-06-24 01:44:21AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 7
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.8
author Kitchings, Taylor,
author_display Kitchings, Taylor
available_at_catalog Bordeaux, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bordeaux - Kids Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction, Main Library - Kids Fiction, Richland Park - Kids Fiction, Southeast - Kids Fiction
display_description Twelve-year-old Trip Westbrook lives in Jackson, Mississippi, in 1964 and discovers the underlying racism in his family and neighborhood when he invites his maid's son Dee to play football in the yard.
format_catalog Book
format_category_catalog Books
id 71f3311b-03e6-06ba-d370-b17eb8b80574
isbn 9780553507539, 9780553507546, 9780553507560
item_details ils:CARL0000466538|35192047764216|Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Kitchin|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000466538|35192047764240|Southeast - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Kitchin|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||SE||, ils:CARL0000466538|35192047764257|Bordeaux - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Kitchin|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BX||, ils:CARL0000466538|35192047764265|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Kitchin|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000466538|35192047764273|Richland Park - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Kitchin|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000466538|A02101704|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000466538|A02105978|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00751072|Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4U730||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00751174|Rose Park Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4T675||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00751276|Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||48275||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00751345|East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4A296||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00751413|West End Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4V770||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00751515|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00752226|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00752327|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4S612||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00752421|J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4H498||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00752609|J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction|HIS F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4O563||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00752825|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4N555||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00753062|Goodlettsville Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4B355||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00753359|McMurray Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4K540||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00753465|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||46260||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00753553|Wright Middle - Teen Fiction|SPRT F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4X805||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00754005|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00754230|Litton Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4I510||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00754341|Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||47270||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00754566|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00754679|Haynes Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4D400||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00755296|Croft Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||45238||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00756691|Margaret Allen Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||40100||, ils:CARL0000466538|B00757220|Jere Baxter Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||43120||, ils:CARL0000466538|FF00129124|Napier Elementary - Kids Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||2F590||, ils:CARL0000466538|TT00008496|Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||48275||, ils:CARL0000466538|TT00008825|Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4F434||, ils:CARL0000466538|TT00009366|Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction|F KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4M551||
itype_catalog Book
last_indexed 2018-06-24T06:44:21.384Z
lexile_score 770
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction Kitchin
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bordeaux, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780553507546
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000466538|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Wendy Lamb Books, an imprint of Random House Children's Books, a division of Random House LLC,|[2015]|216 pages : 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000466538 35192047764265 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000466538 35192047764240 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000466538 35192047764216 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000466538 35192047764257 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000466538 35192047764273 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet African Americans -- Juvenile fiction, Families -- Mississippi -- Juvenile fiction, Football stories, Juvenile, Jackson (Miss.) -- History -- Juvenile fiction, Neighbors -- Juvenile fiction, Nineteen sixties -- Juvenile fiction, Race relations -- Juvenile fiction, Racism -- Juvenile fiction
title_display Yard war
title_full Yard war / Taylor Kitchings
title_short Yard war
topic_facet African Americans, Families, Football stories, Juvenile, History, Neighbors, Nineteen sixties, Race relations, Racism