Miles away from you

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt,
Pub. Date:
[2018]
Language:
English
Description
From debut voice A.B. Rutledge comes a quirky and completely fresh story of young love, loss, and the drastic distances we sometimes have to travel in order to move on, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Jandy Nelson. Explores gender nonconformity and the spectrum of sexual preference in an authentic way. It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a talented and dazzling transgender girl. Eighteen months since a suicide attempt left Vivian on life support. Now Miles isn't sure who he is without her, but knows it's time to figure out how to say goodbye. He books a solo trip to Iceland but then has a hard time leaving the refuge of his hotel room. After a little push from Oskar, a local who is equal parts endearing and aloof, Miles decides to honor Vivian's life by photographing her treasured Doc Martens standing empty against the surreal landscapes. With each step he takes, Miles finds his heart healing--even as he must accept that Vivian, still in a coma, will never recover. Told through a series of instant messages to Vivian, this quirky and completely fresh novel explores love, loss, and the drastic distances we sometimes have to travel in order to move on.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781328852335
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 720L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 7353e7dc-ac42-1ee7-d06f-77d5a7fc1b61
Grouping Title miles away from you
Grouping Author rutledge a b
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-06 23:36:35PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-17 03:38:22AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Rutledge, A. B.,
author_display Rutledge, A. B
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Teen Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction, Green Hills - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction, Southeast - Teen Fiction
display_description Eighteen months after Vivien, his beloved transgender girlfriend, slipped into a coma after a suicide attempt, eighteen-year-old Miles begins healing while photographing her empty shoes against the stark landscapes of Iceland. Told through a series of instant messages.
format_catalog Book
format_category_catalog Books
id 7353e7dc-ac42-1ee7-d06f-77d5a7fc1b61
isbn 9781328852335
item_details ils:CARL0000709322|35192050505373|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Rutledg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000709322|35192050505381|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Rutledg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000709322|35192050505399|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Rutledg|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000709322|35192050505407|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Rutledg|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000709322|35192050505415|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Rutledg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000709322|B00781064|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|Realistic F Rut|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000709322|B00781223|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F Rut|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000709322|B00781422|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F Rut|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||6A452||, ils:CARL0000709322|B00781622|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F Rut|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||6I787||, ils:CARL0000709322|B00781844|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F Rut|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000709322|B00782931|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F Rut|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000709322|B00783088|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F Rut|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000709322|QQ00315173|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F Rut|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||
itype_catalog Book
last_indexed 2018-07-17T08:38:22.443Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 720
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Rutledg
local_time_since_added_catalog Six Months, Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
primary_isbn 9781328852335
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:CARL0000709322|Book|Books||English|Houghton Mifflin Harcourt,|[2018]|268 pages ; 22 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000709322 35192050505399 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000709322 35192050505407 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000709322 35192050505415 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000709322 35192050505373 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000709322 35192050505381 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Bisexuality -- Fiction, Coma -- Fiction, Conformity -- Fiction, Lesbian mothers -- Fiction, Love stories, Suicide -- Fiction, Transgender people -- Fiction
title_display Miles away from you
title_full Miles away from you / by A.B. Rutledge
title_short Miles away from you
topic_facet Bisexuality, Coma, Conformity, Lesbian mothers, Love stories, Suicide, Transgender people