The trip to Echo Spring: on writers and drinking

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

WHY IS IT THAT SOME OF THE GREATEST WORKS OF LITERATURE HAVE BEEN PRODUCED BY WRITERS IN THE GRIP OF ALCOHOLISM, AN ADDICTION THAT COST THEM PERSONAL HAPPINESS AND CAUSED HARM TO THOSE WHO LOVED THEM?

In The Trip to Echo Spring , Olivia Laing examines the link between creativity and alcohol through the work and lives of six extraordinary men: F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, John Berryman, John Cheever, and Raymond Carver.

All six of these writers were alcoholics, and the subject of drinking surfaces in some of their finest work, from Cat on a Hot Tin Roof to A Moveable Feast . Often, they did their drinking together: Hemingway and Fitzgerald ricocheting through the cafés of Paris in the 1920s; Carver and Cheever speeding to the liquor store in Iowa in the icy winter of 1973.

Olivia Laing grew up in an alcoholic family herself. One spring, wanting to make sense of this ferocious, entangling disease, she took a journey across America that plunged her into the heart of these overlapping lives. As she travels from Cheever's New York to Williams's New Orleans, and from Hemingway's Key West to Carver's Port Angeles, she pieces together a topographical map of alcoholism, from the horrors of addiction to the miraculous possibilities of recovery.

Beautiful, captivating, and original, The Trip to Echo Spring strips away the myth of the alcoholic writer to reveal the terrible price creativity can exert.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781250039569
9781250039583
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 748ec441-0f38-3e2f-3572-c1794b450120
Grouping Title trip to echo spring on writers and drinking
Grouping Author laing olivia
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-18 22:57:00PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-18 23:57:08PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Olivia Laing
author_display Laing, Olivia
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction, Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction, Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description "In The Trip to Echo Spring, Olivia Laing examines the link between creativity and alcohol through the work and lives of six of America's finest writers: F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, John Berryman, John Cheever, and Raymond Carver. All six of these men were alcoholics, and the subject of drinking surfaces in some of their finest work, from Cat on a Hot Tin Roof to A Moveable Feast. Often, they did their drinking together: Hemingway and Fitzgerald ricocheting through the cafes of Paris in the 1920s; Carver and Cheever speeding to the liquor store in Iowa in the icy winter of 1973. Olivia Laing grew up in an alcoholic family herself. One spring, wanting to make sense of this ferocious, entangling disease, she took a journey across America that plunged her into the heart of these overlapping lives. As she travels from Cheever's New York to Williams's New Orleans, and from Hemingway's Key West to Carver's Port Angeles, she pieces together a topographical map of alcoholism, from the horrors of addiction to the miraculous possibilities of recovery. Beautiful, captivating, and original, The Trip to Echo Spring strips away the myth of the alcoholic writer to reveal the terrible price creativity can exert. - For readers of Amanda Vaill's When Everyone Was So Young, Elif Batuman's The Possessed, and Kingsley Amis's Everyday Drinking"--
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 748ec441-0f38-3e2f-3572-c1794b450120
isbn 9781250039569, 9781250039583
item_details ils:CARL0000424758|35192045003542|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|810.9353 L187t|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000424758|35192045091919|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|810.9353 L187t|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000424758|35192045109273|Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction|810.9353 L187t|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000424758|35192045868118|Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction|810.9353 L187t|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, overdrive:479385a4-e029-464f-86a1-ed073ea5ec9a|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-19T04:57:08.948Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 810.9353 L187t
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9781250039569
publishDate 2013, 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000424758|Book|Books|First U.S. edition.|English|Picador,|2014.|340 pages : illustrations, map ; 22 cm., overdrive:479385a4-e029-464f-86a1-ed073ea5ec9a|eBook|eBook||English|Picador|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:479385a4-e029-464f-86a1-ed073ea5ec9a -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000424758 35192045091919 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000424758 35192045003542 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000424758 35192045109273 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000424758 35192045868118 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Alcoholics -- United States, Alcoholics in literature, Alcoholism in literature, American literature -- 20th century -- History and criticism, Authors, American -- 20th century -- Alcohol use, Authorship -- Psychological aspects, Creative ability -- Psychological aspects
title_display The trip to Echo Spring : on writers and drinking
title_full The Trip to Echo Spring On Writers and Drinking, The trip to Echo Spring : on writers and drinking / Olivia Laing
title_short The trip to Echo Spring :
title_sub on writers and drinking
topic_facet Alcohol use, Alcoholics, Alcoholics in literature, Alcoholism in literature, American literature, Authors, American, Authorship, Biography & Autobiography, Creative ability, History, History and criticism, Nonfiction, Psychological aspects, Psychology