Speak easy, speak love

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

Six teenagers' lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare's Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle's estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice's cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement--one that might not survive the summer.

Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother, John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.

Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George's debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062560926
9780062560940
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 7566e404-0b41-ebc3-75bd-c73ae940bf77
Grouping Title speak easy speak love
Grouping Author george mckelle
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-17 22:59:17PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-18 02:53:27AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author McKelle George
author_display McKelle George
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Teen Fiction, Green Hills - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction, Richland Park - Teen Fiction
display_description "Six teenagers' lives intertwine during a summer of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this retelling of Shakespeare's Much Ado About Nothing, set in the era of Prohibition in the 1920s"-- After she gets kicked out of boarding school, Beatrice goes to her uncle's estate on Long Island. It's a rundown old mansion, where Beatrice's cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement. As Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy, they are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends -- Prince, John, Benedick and Maggie-- might be quietly orchestrating in the background.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 7566e404-0b41-ebc3-75bd-c73ae940bf77
isbn 9780062560926, 9780062560940
item_details ils:CARL0000687366|35192050067721|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction George|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000687366|35192050067739|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction George|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000687366|35192050067747|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction George|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000687366|35192050067754|Richland Park - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction George|||1|false|false|||||In Transit for Hold||RP||, ils:CARL0000687366|QQ00279842|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|ROM F Geo|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000687366|QQ00279982|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|Romance F Geo|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000687366|QQ00280121|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F Geo|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000687366|QQ00280259|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F Geo|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000687366|QQ00280396|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F Geo|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000687366|QQ00280533|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F Geo|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000687366|QQ00280670|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Geo|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000687366|QQ00280806|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F Geo|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000687366|QQ00280942|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Geo|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000687366|QQ00281078|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F Geo|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000687366|QQ00281213|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F Geo|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000687366|QQ00281347|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F Geo|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, ils:CARL0000687366|QQ00281479|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F Geo|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000687366|QQ00281609|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F Geo|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000687366|QQ00295597|Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction|F Geo|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||65397||, overdrive:23ae3754-c0c6-4f76-9c9a-d978adb2fa42|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-18T07:53:27.399Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction George
local_time_since_added_catalog Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park
primary_isbn 9780062560926
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:CARL0000687366|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|[2017]|423 pages ; 22 cm, overdrive:23ae3754-c0c6-4f76-9c9a-d978adb2fa42|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:23ae3754-c0c6-4f76-9c9a-d978adb2fa42 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000687366 35192050067739 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687366 35192050067721 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687366 35192050067754 Checked Out In Transit for Hold false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000687366 35192050067747 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Dating (Social customs) -- Fiction, Dysfunctional families -- Fiction, Friendship -- Fiction, Gangsters -- Fiction, Long Island (N.Y.) -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction, Nightclubs -- Fiction, Nineteen twenties -- Fiction, Prohibition -- Fiction
title_display Speak easy, speak love
title_full Speak Easy, Speak Love, Speak easy, speak love / McKelle George
title_short Speak easy, speak love
title_sub
topic_facet Dating (Social customs), Dysfunctional families, Friendship, Gangsters, Historical Fiction, History, Humor (Fiction), Nightclubs, Nineteen twenties, Prohibition, Romance, Young Adult Fiction