Speak easy, speak love

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

Six teenagers' lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare's Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle's estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice's cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement--one that might not survive the summer.

Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother, John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.

Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George's debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062560926
9780062560940
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 7566e404-0b41-ebc3-75bd-c73ae940bf77
Grouping Title speak easy speak love
Grouping Author george mckelle
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-11-16 23:01:25PM
Last Indexed 2019-11-17 03:22:40AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author McKelle George
author_display McKelle George
available_at_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
Richland Park
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Teen Fiction
Green Hills - Teen Fiction
Main Library - Teen Fiction
Richland Park - Teen Fiction
display_description "Six teenagers' lives intertwine during a summer of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this retelling of Shakespeare's Much Ado About Nothing, set in the era of Prohibition in the 1920s"-- After she gets kicked out of boarding school, Beatrice goes to her uncle's estate on Long Island. It's a rundown old mansion, where Beatrice's cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement. As Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy, they are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends -- Prince, John, Benedick and Maggie-- might be quietly orchestrating in the background.
format_catalog Book
eBook
format_category_catalog Books
eBook
id 7566e404-0b41-ebc3-75bd-c73ae940bf77
isbn 9780062560926
9780062560940
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:23ae3754-c0c6-4f76-9c9a-d978adb2fa42 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000687366 QQ00280121 Antioch High - Teen Fiction F Geo 1 false false On Shelf 60110
ils:CARL0000687366 QQ00279982 Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction Romance F Geo 1 false false On Shelf 6G632
ils:CARL0000687366 QQ00280942 MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction F Geo 1 false false On Shelf 6C497
ils:CARL0000687366 35192050067754 Richland Park - Teen Fiction YA Fiction George 1 false false On Shelf RP
ils:CARL0000687366 QQ00280396 East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction F Geo 1 false false On Shelf 63290
ils:CARL0000687366 QQ00281479 Overton High - Teen Fiction F Geo 1 false false On Shelf 6F615
ils:CARL0000687366 QQ00280670 Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction F Geo 1 false false On Shelf 69450
ils:CARL0000687366 35192050067721 Bellevue - Teen Fiction YA Fiction George 1 false false On Shelf BL
ils:CARL0000687366 QQ00280806 Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction F Geo 1 false false On Shelf 6A452
ils:CARL0000687366 35192050067747 Main Library - Teen Fiction YA Fiction George 1 false false On Shelf MN
ils:CARL0000687366 QQ00281213 McGavock High - Teen Fiction F Geo 1 false false On Shelf 6D532
ils:CARL0000687366 35192050067739 Green Hills - Teen Fiction YA Fiction George 1 false false On Shelf GH
ils:CARL0000687366 QQ00281609 Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction F Geo 1 false false On Shelf 6I787
ils:CARL0000687366 QQ00280259 Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction F Geo 1 false false On Shelf 61182
ils:CARL0000687366 QQ00281347 Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction F Geo 1 false false On Shelf 62242
ils:CARL0000687366 QQ00295597 Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction F Geo 1 false false On Shelf 65397
ils:CARL0000687366 QQ00281078 Maplewood High - Teen Fiction F Geo 1 false false On Shelf 6E550
ils:CARL0000687366 QQ00280533 Glencliff High - Teen Fiction F Geo 1 false false On Shelf 64325
ils:CARL0000687366 QQ00279842 Hillwood High - Teen Fiction ROM F Geo 1 false false On Shelf 67440
itype_catalog
Book
last_indexed 2019-11-17T09:22:40.755Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction George
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
Richland Park
primary_isbn 9780062560926
publishDate 2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:23ae3754-c0c6-4f76-9c9a-d978adb2fa42 eBook eBook English HarperCollins 2017
ils:CARL0000687366 Book Books First edition. English Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2017] 423 pages ; 22 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:23ae3754-c0c6-4f76-9c9a-d978adb2fa42 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000687366 35192050067754 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687366 35192050067721 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687366 35192050067747 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687366 35192050067739 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Dating (Social customs) -- Fiction
Dysfunctional families -- Fiction
Friendship -- Fiction
Gangsters -- Fiction
Long Island (N.Y.) -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
Nightclubs -- Fiction
Nineteen twenties -- Fiction
Prohibition -- Fiction
title_display Speak easy, speak love
title_full Speak Easy, Speak Love
Speak easy, speak love / McKelle George
title_short Speak easy, speak love
title_sub
topic_facet Dating (Social customs)
Dysfunctional families
Friendship
Gangsters
Historical Fiction
History
Humor (Fiction)
Nightclubs
Nineteen twenties
Prohibition
Romance
Young Adult Fiction