Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka: A Memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Pub. Date:
2014
Language:
English
Description
"[A] hilarious and heartbreaking story of a Jewish family's escape from oppression." -- The New York Times A compelling story of two intertwined journeys: a Jewish refugee family fleeing persecution and a young man seeking to reclaim a shattered past. In the twilight of the Cold War (the late 1980s), nine-year old Lev Golinkin and his family cross the Soviet border with only ten suitcases, $600, and the vague promise of help awaiting in Vienna. Years later, Lev, now an American adult, sets out to retrace his family's long trek, locate the strangers who fought for his freedom, and in the process, gain a future by understanding his past. Lev Golinkin's memoir is the vivid, darkly comic, and poignant story of a young boy in the confusing and often chilling final decade of the Soviet Union. It's also the story of Lev Golinkin, the American man who finally confronts his buried past by returning to Austria and Eastern Europe to track down the strangers who made his escape possible . . . and say thank you. Written with biting, acerbic wit and emotional honesty in the vein of Gary Shteyngart, Jonathan Safran Foer, and David Bezmozgis, Golinkin's search for personal identity set against the relentless currents of history is more than a memoir--it's a portrait of a lost era. This is a thrilling tale of escape and survival, a deeply personal look at the life of a Jewish child caught in the last gasp of the Soviet Union, and a provocative investigation into the power of hatred and the search for belonging. Lev Golinkin achieves an amazing feat--and it marks the debut of a fiercely intelligent, defiant, and unforgettable new voice.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780385537780
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 771f36cb-0ced-9feb-9d76-f957bdc01fea
Grouping Title backpack a bear and eight crates of vodka
Grouping Author golinkin lev
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-14 22:54:25PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-15 00:07:27AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Lev Golinkin
author_display Lev Golinkin
display_description "[A] hilarious and heartbreaking story of a Jewish family's escape from oppression."The New York Times
A compelling story of two intertwined journeys: a Jewish refugee family fleeing persecution and a young man seeking to reclaim a shattered past. In the twilight of the Cold War (the late 1980s), nine-year old Lev Golinkin and his family cross the Soviet border with only ten suitcases, $600, and the vague promise of help awaiting in Vienna. Years later, Lev, now an American adult, sets out to retrace his family's long trek, locate the strangers who fought for his freedom, and in the process, gain a future by understanding his past.

Lev Golinkin's memoir is the vivid, darkly comic, and poignant story of a young boy in the confusing and often chilling final decade of the Soviet Union. It's also the story of Lev Golinkin, the American man who finally confronts his buried past by returning to Austria and Eastern Europe to track down the strangers who made his escape possible . . . and say thank you. Written with biting, acerbic wit and emotional honesty in the vein of Gary Shteyngart, Jonathan Safran Foer, and David Bezmozgis, Golinkin's search for personal identity set against the relentless currents of history is more than a memoir—it's a portrait of a lost era. This is a thrilling tale of escape and survival, a deeply personal look at the life of a Jewish child caught in the last gasp of the Soviet Union, and a provocative investigation into the power of hatred and the search for belonging. Lev Golinkin achieves an amazing feat—and it marks the debut of a fiercely intelligent, defiant, and unforgettable new voice.
From the Hardcover edition.
format_catalog eBook
format_category_catalog eBook
id 771f36cb-0ced-9feb-9d76-f957bdc01fea
isbn 9780385537780
item_details overdrive:909db103-9b75-4451-bd44-17fd7945dc2f|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog
last_indexed 2018-11-15T06:07:27.503Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
primary_isbn 9780385537780
publishDate 2014
record_details overdrive:909db103-9b75-4451-bd44-17fd7945dc2f|eBook|eBook||English|Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:909db103-9b75-4451-bd44-17fd7945dc2f -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
title_display A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka
title_full A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka A Memoir
title_short A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka
title_sub A Memoir
topic_facet Biography & Autobiography, History, Nonfiction, Travel