A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka: A Memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"[A] hilarious and heartbreaking story of a Jewish family's escape from oppression." -- The New York Times A compelling story of two intertwined journeys: a Jewish refugee family fleeing persecution and a young man seeking to reclaim a shattered past. In the twilight of the Cold War (the late 1980s), nine-year old Lev Golinkin and his family cross the Soviet border with only ten suitcases, $600, and the vague promise of help awaiting in Vienna. Years later, Lev, now an American adult, sets out to retrace his family's long trek, locate the strangers who fought for his freedom, and in the process, gain a future by understanding his past. Lev Golinkin's memoir is the vivid, darkly comic, and poignant story of a young boy in the confusing and often chilling final decade of the Soviet Union. It's also the story of Lev Golinkin, the American man who finally confronts his buried past by returning to Austria and Eastern Europe to track down the strangers who made his escape possible . . . and say thank you. Written with biting, acerbic wit and emotional honesty in the vein of Gary Shteyngart, Jonathan Safran Foer, and David Bezmozgis, Golinkin's search for personal identity set against the relentless currents of history is more than a memoir--it's a portrait of a lost era. This is a thrilling tale of escape and survival, a deeply personal look at the life of a Jewish child caught in the last gasp of the Soviet Union, and a provocative investigation into the power of hatred and the search for belonging. Lev Golinkin achieves an amazing feat--and it marks the debut of a fiercely intelligent, defiant, and unforgettable new voice.
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 771f36cb-0ced-9feb-9d76-f957bdc01fea
Grouping Title backpack a bear and eight crates of vodka
Grouping Author golinkin lev
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-21 23:35:05PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-22 00:23:24AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Gamburg, Daniel.
author Lev Golinkin
author2-role Findaway World, LLC., Gamburg, Daniel., Playaway Digital Audio.
author_display Golinkin, Lev
available_at_catalog Richland Park
collection_catalog Audiobook
detailed_location_catalog Richland Park - Adult Audiobook
display_description "[A] hilarious and heartbreaking story of a Jewish family's escape from oppression."The New York Times
A compelling story of two intertwined journeys: a Jewish refugee family fleeing persecution and a young man seeking to reclaim a shattered past. In the twilight of the Cold War (the late 1980s), nine-year old Lev Golinkin and his family cross the Soviet border with only ten suitcases, $600, and the vague promise of help awaiting in Vienna. Years later, Lev, now an American adult, sets out to retrace his family's long trek, locate the strangers who fought for his freedom, and in the process, gain a future by understanding his past.

Lev Golinkin's memoir is the vivid, darkly comic, and poignant story of a young boy in the confusing and often chilling final decade of the Soviet Union. It's also the story of Lev Golinkin, the American man who finally confronts his buried past by returning to Austria and Eastern Europe to track down the strangers who made his escape possible . . . and say thank you. Written with biting, acerbic wit and emotional honesty in the vein of Gary Shteyngart, Jonathan Safran Foer, and David Bezmozgis, Golinkin's search for personal identity set against the relentless currents of history is more than a memoir—it's a portrait of a lost era. This is a thrilling tale of escape and survival, a deeply personal look at the life of a Jewish child caught in the last gasp of the Soviet Union, and a provocative investigation into the power of hatred and the search for belonging. Lev Golinkin achieves an amazing feat—and it marks the debut of a fiercely intelligent, defiant, and unforgettable new voice.
From the Hardcover edition.
format_catalog Playaway, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, eBook
id 771f36cb-0ced-9feb-9d76-f957bdc01fea
isbn 9780385537780, 9781481511643
item_details ils:CARL0000452379|35192046930321|Richland Park - Adult Audiobook|PLAYAWAY B G6262b|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, overdrive:909db103-9b75-4451-bd44-17fd7945dc2f|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Playaway
last_indexed 2018-07-22T05:23:24.954Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog PLAYAWAY B G6262b
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Richland Park
primary_isbn 9781481511643
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000452379|Playaway|Audio Books||English|Findaway World, LLC,|[2014]|1 audio media player : digital, HD audio ; 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in., overdrive:909db103-9b75-4451-bd44-17fd7945dc2f|eBook|eBook||English|Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:909db103-9b75-4451-bd44-17fd7945dc2f -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000452379 35192046930321 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Audiobooks, Golinkin, Lev, Jewish refugees -- United States -- Biography, Jews, Russian -- Ukraine -- Kharkiv -- Biography, Jews, Russian -- United States -- Biography
title_display A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka
title_full A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka A Memoir, A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka [sound recording] / Lev Golinkin
title_short A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka
title_sub A Memoir
topic_facet Audiobooks, Biography & Autobiography, Golinkin, Lev, History, Jewish refugees, Jews, Russian, Nonfiction, Travel