Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

All library locations are closed Thursday, Nov 22 and Friday, Nov 23 for the Thanksgiving holiday.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

Notes from the Internet Apocalypse: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
When the Internet suddenly stops working, society reels from the loss of flowing data and streaming entertainment. Addicts wander the streets talking to themselves in 140 characters or forcing cats to perform tricks for their amusement, while the truly desperate pin their requests for casual encounters on public bulletin boards. The economy tumbles and the government passes the draconian NET Recovery Act. For Gladstone, the Net's disappearance comes particularly hard, following the loss of his wife, leaving his flask of Jamesons and grandfather's fedora as the only comforts in his Brooklyn apartment. But there are rumours that someone in New York is still online. Someone set apart from this new world where Facebook flirters "poke" each other in real life and members of Anonymous trade memes at secret parties. Where a former librarian can sell information as a human search engine and the perverted fulfill their secret fetishes at the blossoming Rule 34 club. With the help of his friends - a blogger and a webcam girl, both now out of work - Gladstone sets off to find the Internet. But is he the right man to save humanity from this Apocalypse? For those of you wondering if you have WiFi right now, Wayne Gladstone's Notes from the Internet Apocalypse examines the question "what is life without the web?"
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781250045027
9781482964875
9781482990270
148299027
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 7965b29e-41dc-08e2-03d9-a51fa4eeea78
Grouping Title notes from the internet apocalypse
Grouping Author gladstone wayne
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-18 02:27:40AM
Last Indexed 2018-11-17 00:14:08AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Garcia, Paul Michael.
author Wayne Gladstone
author2-role Blackstone Audio, Inc., Findaway World, LLC., Garcia, Paul Michael., Playaway Digital Audio.
author_display Gladstone, Wayne
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Audiobook, Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description "When the Internet suddenly stops working, society reels from the loss of flowing data, instant messages, and streaming entertainment. Addicts wander the streets, talking to themselves in 140 characters or forcing cats to perform tricks for their amusement, while the truly desperate pin their requests for casual encounters on public bulletin boards. The economy tumbles further and the government passes the draconian NET Recovery Act. For Gladstone, the Net's disappearance comes particularly hard following the loss of his wife, leaving his flask of Jamesons and grandfather's fedora as the only comforts in his Brooklyn apartment. But there are rumors that someone in New York is still online. Someone set apart from this new world where Facebook flirters "poke" each other in real life and members of Anonymous trade memes at secret parties. Where a former librarian can sell information as a human search engine, and the perverted fulfill their secret fetishes at the blossoming Rule 34 club. With the help of his friends, a blogger and a webcam girl both now out of work, Gladstone sets off to find the Internet. But is he the right man to save humanity from this Apocalypse? For fans of David Wong, Chad Kultgen, and Chuck Palahniuk, Wayne Gladstone's Notes from the Internet Apocalypse examines the question "What is life without the Web?""--
format_catalog Book, Playaway, eAudiobook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 7965b29e-41dc-08e2-03d9-a51fa4eeea78
isbn 148299027, 9781250045027, 9781482964875, 9781482990270
item_details ils:CARL0000428263|35192045211574|Bellevue - Adult Fiction|Fiction Gladsto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000428263|35192045211624|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Gladsto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000431550|35192045959826|Green Hills - Adult Audiobook|PLAYAWAY Fiction Gladsto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, overdrive:34e7af39-3600-4098-a50a-8355f42f2194|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, Playaway
last_indexed 2018-11-17T06:14:08.031Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Gladsto, PLAYAWAY Fiction Gladsto
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9781250045027
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000428263|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Thomas Dunne Books, St. Martin's Press,|2014.|216 pages ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000431550|Playaway|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Findaway World, LLC,|[2014]|1 audio media player (5 hr., 30 min.) : digital, HD audio ; 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in., overdrive:34e7af39-3600-4098-a50a-8355f42f2194|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Blackstone Audio, Inc.|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000431550 35192045959826 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000428263 35192045211624 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000428263 35192045211574 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:34e7af39-3600-4098-a50a-8355f42f2194 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Internet apocalypse novels
series_with_volume Internet apocalypse novels|1
subject_facet Audiobooks, Computer system failures -- Fiction, Internet -- Fiction, Satire
title_display Notes from the Internet Apocalypse
title_full Notes from the Internet Apocalypse / Wayne Gladstone, Notes from the Internet Apocalypse A Novel, Notes from the Internet Apocalypse [sound recording] / Wayne Gladstone
title_short Notes from the Internet Apocalypse
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Audiobooks, Computer system failures, Fiction, Internet, Literature, Satire