Curbside Service: learn about temporary changes for voting season beginning October 14.

10/26 service update: Beginning November 9, public computer access will be available by reservation at 5 NPL locations. Get details.

In observance of Veterans Day, in-person library services are unavailable Wednesday, November 11.

The 100-year-old man who climbed out the window and disappeared: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(4)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A larger-than-life old man with a fondness for vodka goes on an unexpected adventure in this whimsical novel -- perfect for fans of Forrest Gump and A Man Called Ove . The international publishing sensation -- more than six million copies sold worldwide! A reluctant centenarian much like Forrest Gump (if Gump were an explosives expert) decides it's not too late to start over . . . After a long and eventful life, Allan Karlsson ends up in a nursing home, believing it to be his last stop. The only problem is that he's still in good health, and in one day, he turns 100. A big celebration is in the works, but Allan really isn't interested (and he'd like a bit more control over his vodka consumption). So he decides to escape. He climbs out the window in his slippers and embarks on a hilarious and entirely unexpected journey, involving, among other surprises, a suitcase stuffed with cash, some unpleasant criminals, a friendly hot-dog stand operator, and an elephant (not to mention a death by elephant). It would be the adventure of a lifetime for anyone else, but Allan has a larger-than-life backstory: Not only has he witnessed some of the most important events of the twentieth century, but he has actually played a key role in them. Starting out in munitions as a boy, he somehow finds himself involved in many of the key explosions of the twentieth century and travels the world, sharing meals and more with everyone from Stalin, Churchill, and Truman to Mao, Franco, and de Gaulle. Quirky and utterly unique, The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared has charmed readers across the world.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781401324643
9780316287333
9781620643099
9780792793328
9780792793335
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 79803160-ccf0-b6c8-cd61-f829e23ae072
Grouping Title 100 year old man who climbed out the window and disappeared
Grouping Author jonasson jonas
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2020-10-28 23:02:39PM
Last Indexed 2020-10-29 00:15:12AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Bradbury, Rod.
Crossley, Steven.
author Jonas Jonasson
author2-role AudioGO (Firm).
Bradbury, Rod.
Crossley, Steven.|Narrator
author_display Jonasson, Jonas
available_at_catalog Donelson
Goodlettsville
Inglewood
Main Kids
Main Library
collection_catalog Audiobook
Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Donelson - Adult Fiction
Goodlettsville - Adult Audiobook
Inglewood - Adult Audiobook
Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description Confined to a nursing home and about to turn 100, Allan Karlsson, who has a larger-than-life back story as an explosives expert, climbs out of the window in his slippers and embarks on an unforgettable adventure involving thugs, a murderous elephant and a very friendly hot dog stand operator.
format_catalog Book
CD audio book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books
Books
eBook
id 79803160-ccf0-b6c8-cd61-f829e23ae072
isbn 9780316287333
9780792793328
9780792793335
9781401324643
9781620643099
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000406412 35192049856648 Goodlettsville - Adult Audiobook CD AUDIO Fiction Jonasso 1 false false On Shelf GO
ils:CARL0000406412 35192043877897 Inglewood - Adult Audiobook CD AUDIO Fiction Jonasso 1 false false On Shelf IN
overdrive:7316b560-c63e-4b33-a89c-fe7b14b3cf02 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 3 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
ils:CARL0000399377 35192049754280 Donelson - Adult Fiction Fiction Jonasso 1 false false On Shelf DO
ils:CARL0000399377 35192048848299 Main Library - Adult Fiction Fiction Jonasso 1 false false On Shelf MN
overdrive:cf0fd73e-a1be-4e12-9aff-7f8e0ab90627 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 2 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
itype_catalog
Book
CD audio book
last_indexed 2020-10-29T05:15:12.339Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Jonasso
Fiction Jonasso
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Donelson
Goodlettsville
Inglewood
Main Kids
Main Library
primary_isbn 9781401324643
publishDate 2012
2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000406412 CD audio book Audio Books Unabridged. English AudioGO, [2013], p2012. 10 sound discs (12 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
overdrive:7316b560-c63e-4b33-a89c-fe7b14b3cf02 eAudiobook Audio Books English Blackstone Publishing 2012
ils:CARL0000399377 Book Books English Hyperion, c2012. 384 p. ; 21 cm.
overdrive:cf0fd73e-a1be-4e12-9aff-7f8e0ab90627 eBook eBook English Hachette Books 2012
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000406412 35192049856648 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000406412 35192043877897 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:7316b560-c63e-4b33-a89c-fe7b14b3cf02 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000399377 35192049754280 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000399377 35192048848299 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:cf0fd73e-a1be-4e12-9aff-7f8e0ab90627 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series 100 year old man novels
series_with_volume 100 year old man novels|1
subject_facet Audiobooks
Escapes -- Fiction
Humorous stories, Swedish
Older people -- Fiction
Voyages and travels -- Fiction
title_display The 100-year-old man who climbed out the window and disappeared
title_full The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared
The 100-year-old man who climbed out the window and disappeared / Jonas Jonasson ; translated from the Swedish by Rod Bradbury
The 100-year-old man who climbed out the window and disappeared [sound recording] : a novel / Jonas Jonasson ; [translated from the Swedish by Rod Bradbury]
title_short The 100-year-old man who climbed out the window and disappeared
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Audiobooks
Escapes
Fiction
Humorous stories, Swedish
Literature
Older people
Voyages and travels