All library locations are closed Monday, Jan 21 in observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
 

Friday black

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A National Book Foundation "5 Under 35" honoree, chosen by Colson Whitehead "An unbelievable debut, one that announces a new and necessary American voice." -- Tommy Orange, New York Times Book Review "An excitement and a wonder: strange, crazed, urgent and funny." -- George Saunders "Dark and captivating and essential . . . A call to arms and a condemnation . . . Read this book." -- Roxane Gay Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle's John Leonard Award for Best First Book A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America. From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country. These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In "The Finkelstein Five," Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In "Zimmer Land," we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And "Friday Black" and "How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King" show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all. Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders, Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781328911247
9781980002819
9781980002635
9781328915139
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 7a3dfc35-8ee1-47b0-23dd-185da4654b67
Grouping Title friday black
Grouping Author adjei brenyah nana kwame
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-01-17 23:28:47PM
Last Indexed 2019-01-18 04:22:23AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Allen, Corey,, Allen, Corey., Patterson, Carra,, Patterson, Carra.
author Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame,
author2-role Allen, Corey,narrator., Allen, Corey.|Narrator, Patterson, Carra,narrator., Patterson, Carra.|Narrator, Recorded Books, Inc.
author_display Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids
collection_catalog New
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult New, East - Adult New, Edmondson Pike - Adult New, Goodlettsville - Adult New, Green Hills - Adult New, Hermitage - Adult New, Inglewood - Adult New, Main Library - Adult New, Richland Park - Adult New, Southeast - Adult New
display_description A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America. From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country. These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In "The Finkelstein Five," Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In "Zimmer Land," we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And "Friday Black" and "How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King" show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all. Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders, Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 7a3dfc35-8ee1-47b0-23dd-185da4654b67
isbn 9781328911247, 9781328915139, 9781980002635, 9781980002819
item_details OneClickdigital:rbdZ14439|rbdZ14439|OneClickdigital|Online OneClickdigital|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OneClickdigital||https://nashvilletn.rbdigital.com/#titles/9781980002819||Available Online||OneClickdigital||, ils:CARL0000740506|35192051020711|Bellevue - Adult New|Fiction Adjei-B|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000740506|35192051020729|East - Adult New|Fiction Adjei-B|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||EA||, ils:CARL0000740506|35192051020737|Edmondson Pike - Adult New|Fiction Adjei-B|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||EP||, ils:CARL0000740506|35192051020745|Green Hills - Adult New|Fiction Adjei-B|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000740506|35192051020752|Goodlettsville - Adult New|Fiction Adjei-B|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GO||, ils:CARL0000740506|35192051020760|Hermitage - Adult New|Fiction Adjei-B|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||HM||, ils:CARL0000740506|35192051020778|Inglewood - Adult New|Fiction Adjei-B|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||IN||, ils:CARL0000740506|35192051020786|Main Library - Adult New|Fiction Adjei-B|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000740506|35192051020794|Richland Park - Adult New|Fiction Adjei-B|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||RP||, ils:CARL0000740506|35192051020802|Southeast - Adult New|Fiction Adjei-B|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||SE||, ils:CARL0000740506|QQ00335065|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F ADJ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000741198|35192051118341|Green Hills - Adult New|CD AUDIO Fiction Adjei-B|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000741198|35192051118358|Edmondson Pike - Adult New|CD AUDIO Fiction Adjei-B|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000741198|35192051118366|Hermitage - Adult New|CD AUDIO Fiction Adjei-B|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||HM||, overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|4|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book
last_indexed 2019-01-18T10:22:23.004Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Short Stories
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Adjei-B, Fiction Adjei-B
local_time_since_added_catalog Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, East, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast
primary_isbn 9781328911247
publishDate 2018
record_details OneClickdigital:rbdZ14439|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Recorded Books ;|2018, p2018.|1 online resource (7 hr., 8 min.), ils:CARL0000740506|Book|Books||English|Houghton Mifflin Harcourt,|2018.|194 pages ; 21 cm, ils:CARL0000741198|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Recorded Books,|[2018]|6 audio discs (7 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07|eBook|eBook||English|HMH Books|2018|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000741198 35192051118341 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000741198 35192051118366 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000741198 35192051118358 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
OneClickdigital:rbdZ14439 rbdZ14439 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020711 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020745 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020778 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020729 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020802 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020752 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020794 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020760 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020786 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020737 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
subject_facet African Americans -- Fiction, Audiobooks, Downloadable audio books, FICTION / African American / General, Racism -- Fiction, Short stories, Short stories, American
title_display Friday black
title_full Friday Black, Friday black / Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, Friday black : stories / Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, Friday black [electronic resource] / Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
title_short Friday black
title_sub
topic_facet African American Fiction, African Americans, FICTION / African American / General, Fiction, Racism, Short Stories, Short stories, American