Mozart in the jungle: sex, drugs, and classical music

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland's Dancing on My Grave , Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music. In a book that inspired the Amazon Original series starring Gael García Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musician--from the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, where musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions-- working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans, a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars. An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780802142535
9781555847463
9780871138903
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 7bb6f8dd-29a5-24bd-5e26-c2ce60025b22
Grouping Title mozart in the jungle sex drugs and classical music
Grouping Author tindall blair
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-19 23:26:08PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-19 19:24:03PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Tindall, Blair.
author_display Tindall, Blair
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction, Southeast - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description

In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland's Dancing on My Grave, Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music. In a book that inspired the Amazon Original series starring Gael García Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musician—from the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, where musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions— working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans, a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars. An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.

format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 7bb6f8dd-29a5-24bd-5e26-c2ce60025b22
isbn 9780802142535, 9780871138903, 9781555847463
item_details ils:CARL0000246471|35192038551887|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|781.68 T5881m|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000246471|35192048543569|Southeast - Adult Non-Fiction|781.68 T5881m|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, overdrive:4244e884-d050-4ffa-abee-60e6f83b99ea|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-20T00:24:03.126Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 781.68 T5881m
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780802142535
publishDate 2005, 2007
record_details ils:CARL0000246471|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Atlantic Monthly Press,|c2005.|x, 318 p. : ill. ; 24 cm., overdrive:4244e884-d050-4ffa-abee-60e6f83b99ea|eBook|eBook||English|Grove Atlantic|2007|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000246471 35192038551887 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000246471 35192048543569 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:4244e884-d050-4ffa-abee-60e6f83b99ea -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
subject_facet Oboe players -- United States -- Biography, Tindall, Blair
title_display Mozart in the jungle : sex, drugs, and classical music
title_full Mozart in the Jungle Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music, Mozart in the jungle : sex, drugs, and classical music / Blair Tindall
title_short Mozart in the jungle :
title_sub sex, drugs, and classical music
topic_facet Music, Nonfiction, Oboe players, Tindall, Blair