All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

The Famous and the Dead

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

"The most groundbreaking crime series in decades." -- St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Los Angeles County sheriff's deputy Charlie Hood is attached to the ATF, working undercover on the Iron River that flows across the U.S.-Mexican border. The diamond fillings he wears in his left canine glimmer, distracting the men who sell the illegal firearms that enable the unspeakable violence on both sides of the map. Spotting the sparkle when "Charlie Diamonds" opens his mouth is often their first step toward life behind bars.

Meanwhile, Bradley Jones, sheriff's deputy and employee of the Baja Cartel and son of the love of Charlie's life, the deceased L.A. outlaw Suzanne Jones, is expecting a son of his own. Suzanne was descended from famed Mexican desperado Joaquin Murrieta, whose embalmed head Bradley inherited from her and keeps nestled among piles of cash, proceeds from Bradley's own life of crime.

Charlie knows all of Bradley's secrets; the question is what will he do with the information? Until he decides, his obsession remains the inexplicable existence of Mike Finnegan, the diminutive devil who flits in and out of both men's lives, knowing things he shouldn't, seemingly immortal.

Three men--earnest law enforcer, inveterate lawbreaker, and the man who pits them against each other--hurtle toward one another in the jaw-dropping conclusion to T. Jefferson Parker's mesmerizing vision of the border. Their climactic showdown brings to a spectacular close a crime series that obliterated the boundaries of the genre.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781455818068
9781101624180
9781410457004
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 7d6fba6c-e0de-0524-dfac-af04ffa3f778
Full title famous and the dead
Author parker t jefferson
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-22 22:53:33PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-22 23:40:49PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Colacci, David.
author T. Jefferson Parker
author2-role Colacci, David.
author_display Parker, T. Jefferson
available_at_catalog Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Audiobook, Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Hermitage - Adult Large Print, Main Library - Adult Audiobook
display_description For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, from New York Times bestseller and Edgar-award winner T. Jefferson Parker, author of The Room of White Fire, comes the explosive finale in his Charlie Hood series, which will bring together the destinies of three men caught between light and darkness, and now features an excerpt from his upcoming novel The Room of White Fire.
Los Angeles County sheriff's deputy Charlie Hood is attached to the ATF, working undercover on the illegal arms trade that flows across the U.S.-Mexico border. The sparkle of the diamond fillings he wears in his left canine distracts his task force targets and is often the first step toward a long stay behind bars.
Meanwhile, Bradley Jones—sheriff's deputy, employee of the Baja Cartel, and son of the love of Charlie's life—is expecting a son of his own. Bradley, supposedly descended from the famed Mexican outlaw Joaquin Murrieta, has reaped the rewards of his treachery, keeping a hoard of cash and jewelry in a secret lair on his property.
Charlie knows Bradley's secrets, all of them; the question is what he'll do with the information. But he still has to contend with the devilish Mike Finnegan, who flits in and out of the lives of his friends, knows things he should not know, is seemingly immortal, and delights in the havoc he wreaks in the orbits of everyone he touches....
All three are about to meet. But all will not survive....
format_catalog CD audio book, Large Print, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 7d6fba6c-e0de-0524-dfac-af04ffa3f778
isbn 9781101624180, 9781410457004, 9781455818068
item_details ils:CARL0000404633|35192044019648|Main Library - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Parker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000414915|35192044111130|Hermitage - Adult Large Print|Fiction Parker Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, overdrive:0f5b7e73-eb3c-49eb-a87d-c18ed2b1960a|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , CD audio book, Large Print Book
last_indexed 2018-05-23T04:40:49.869Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Parker, Fiction Parker Large Type
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9781455818068
publishDate 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000404633|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Brilliance Audio,|p2013.|12 sound discs (13 hr., 54 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., ils:CARL0000414915|Large Print|Books|Large print edition.|English|Thorndike Press,|2013.|603 pages (large print) ; 23 cm., overdrive:0f5b7e73-eb3c-49eb-a87d-c18ed2b1960a|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Publishing Group|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000404633|35192044019648|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000414915|35192044111130|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:0f5b7e73-eb3c-49eb-a87d-c18ed2b1960a|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
series Charlie Hood thrillers
series_with_volume Charlie Hood thrillers|6
subject_facet Audiobooks, Hood, Charlie (Fictitious character) -- Fiction, Police -- California, Southern -- Fiction, Suspense fiction, American
title_display The Famous and the Dead
title_full The Famous and the Dead, The famous and the dead [sound recording] / T. Jefferson Parker, The famous and the dead [text (large print)] / T. Jefferson Parker
title_short The Famous and the Dead
title_sub
topic_facet Audiobooks, Fiction, Hood, Charlie (Fictitious character), Mystery, Police, Suspense fiction, American