All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

MindWar: MindWar Trilogy, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
MindWar trilogy volume 1.
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

When Rick lost the ability to run, he came one step closer to becoming a hero.

New High Score! New Record Time!

Rick nodded with grim satisfaction. He laid the game controller aside on the sofa and reached for his crutches.

Rick Dial was the best quarterback Putnam Hills High School had ever seen. Unflappable. Unstoppable. Number 12. But when a car accident left him crippled, Rick's life as he knew it ended. He disavowed his triumphant past. He ignored his girlfriend. He disappeared into his bedroom--and into the glowing video screen.

But Rick's uncanny gaming skills have attracted attention. Dangerous attention. Government agents have uncovered a potentially devastating cyber-threat: a Russian genius has created a digital reality called the Realm, from which he can enter, control, and disrupt American computer systems . . . from transportation to defense. The agents want Rick, quick-thinking quarterback and gaming master, to enter the Realm and stop the madman--before he sends America into chaos.

Entering the Realm will give Rick what he thought he'd never have again: a body as strong and fast as it was before the accident. But this is no game, there are no extra lives, and what happens to Rick in the Realm happens to Rick's body in reality.

Even after Rick agrees to help, he can't shake the sense that he's being kept in the dark. Why would a government agency act so aggressively? Can anyone inside the Realm be trusted? How many others have entered before him . . . and failed to return?

In the tradition of Ender's Game and The Matrix, MindWar is a complex thriller about a seemingly ordinary teenager who discovers a hidden gift--a gift that could make him a hero . . . or cost him everything.

"Edgar Award-winning Klavan's well-orchestrated fantasy thriller features . . . an imaginative mix of gaming action with real-life stakes. With just the right cliff-hanger ending, this trilogy opener shows promise." --Booklist

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781401688929
9781401688936
Reading Level:
MG+
Level 5.4, 11 Points
Lexile measure:
720L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 7db49e03-4ee7-b0c3-747a-57742b7cc93c
Full title mindwar
Author klavan andrew
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-23 23:09:43PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-23 23:56:56PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG+
accelerated_reader_point_value 11
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.4
author Andrew Klavan
author_display Klavan, Andrew
available_at_catalog Goodlettsville, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction, Hermitage - Teen Fiction
display_description "Rick's high school football team couldn't be stopped when he was leading them as their quarterback. He was going to Syracuse on a scholarship. But then his dad abandoned them and a terrible accident left him crippled. Certain his old life is completely lost, Rick spends months hiding away in his room playing video games. He achieves the highest scores on so many games that he's approached by a government agency who claims to be trying to thwart a cyber attack on America that would destroy the technological infrastructure of the entire country. The agents say that the quick-thinking of a quarterback coupled with Nick's gaming experience make him perfect for this assignment. Entering The Realm gives Rick the one thing he thought he'd never have again: a body that's as fast and as strong as he ever was before the accident. But the more time he spends in The Realm, the more questions he has. What secrets are these agents keeping from him? What really happened to his father? How many others have gone into The Realm already and failed? And perhaps most important, is he the hero they think he is?"--
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 7db49e03-4ee7-b0c3-747a-57742b7cc93c
isbn 9781401688929, 9781401688936
item_details ils:CARL0000440807|35192046222794|Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Klavan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000440807|35192046222802|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Klavan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000440807|QQ00186410|Hillsboro High - Teen Fiction|F KLA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||66435||, overdrive:adec6a91-787e-4514-9f17-95200700614d|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-24T04:56:56.417Z
lexile_score 720
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Klavan
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Goodlettsville, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids
primary_isbn 9781401688929
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000440807|Book|Books||English|Thomas Nelson,|[2014]|328 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:adec6a91-787e-4514-9f17-95200700614d|eBook|eBook||English|Thomas Nelson|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000440807|35192046222794|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000440807|35192046222802|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:adec6a91-787e-4514-9f17-95200700614d|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
series MindWar trilogy
series_with_volume MindWar trilogy|1
subject_facet Cyberterrorism -- Prevention -- Fiction, Suspense fiction, American, Undercover operations -- Fiction, Video gamers -- Fiction
title_display MindWar
title_full MindWar / Andrew Klavan, MindWar MindWar Trilogy, Book 1
title_short MindWar
title_sub MindWar Trilogy, Book 1
topic_facet Cyberterrorism, Prevention, Science Fiction, Suspense fiction, American, Thriller, Undercover operations, Video gamers, Young Adult Fiction