In darkling wood

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For fans of Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Jack Cheng's See You in the Cosmos, here is "a haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption" ( Booklist, Starred Review). When Alice is suddenly bundled off to her estranged grandmother Nell's house, there's nothing good about it, except the beautiful Darkling Wood at the end of the garden--but Nell wants to have it cut down. Alice feels at home there, at peace. She even finds a friend, a girl named Flo. But Flo doesn't go to the local school, and no one in town has heard of her. When Flo shows Alice the surprising secrets of Darkling Wood, Alice starts to wonder: What is real? And can she find out in time to save the wood from destruction? Don't miss Emma Carroll's new novel, Strange Star ! ★ " A haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption. "-- Booklist, Starred Review ★ " A tale brimming with emotion and atmosphere....[ In Darkling Wood ] is absorbing and well written. Hand this to readers who enjoy fantasy, fairy tales, and magical realism."-- School Library Journal, Starred Review " Magic and mystery adds appeal to this already compelling family drama ...and Carroll manages to wrap all of the threads into a wholly satisfying ending. "--Bulletin " Beautifully drawn , and the pragmatic prose and completely modern language (except for the letters) ground the story. The fairies aren't covered in pixie dust here. Carroll is becoming well-known in her native Engl∧ this book should win her American fans."- Kirkus Reviews
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780399556029
9780399556012
9780399556036
039955601
Reading Level:
MG
Level 3.9, 8 Points
Lexile measure:
560L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 8094a4f8-30e7-df36-e27b-9b0b1c00b380
Grouping Title in darkling wood
Grouping Author carroll emma
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-21 22:44:42PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-22 00:24:24AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 8
accelerated_reader_reading_level 3.9
author Carroll, Emma, 1970-
author_display Carroll, Emma
available_at_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Goodlettsville
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Kids Fiction
Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction
Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction
Green Hills - Kids Fiction
Hermitage - Kids Fiction
Main Library - Kids Fiction
Southeast - Kids Fiction
display_description When Alice goes to stay with her grandmother she discovers the magical Darkling Wood, where she meets a strange friend and discovers letters written between a brother and sister during WWI.
format_catalog Book
eBook
format_category_catalog Books
eBook
id 8094a4f8-30e7-df36-e27b-9b0b1c00b380
isbn 039955601
9780399556012
9780399556029
9780399556036
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:feda278c-042d-4b65-9c84-cabffe0f0548 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00259724 Antioch Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 41111
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260086 Gra-Mar Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4C365
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260661 Stratford High - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 6H705
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260134 Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 65397
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260603 Rose Park Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4T675
ils:CARL0000503892 35192049478682 Bellevue - Kids Fiction JUV Fiction Carroll 1 false false On Shelf BL
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00259930 Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 47270
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00259958 John Early Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 49285
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260348 Litton Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4I510
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260410 McMurray Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4K540
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260737 West End Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4V770
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260790 Wright Middle - Teen Fiction FANT F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4X805
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260330 J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4H498
ils:CARL0000503892 35192049478708 Green Hills - Kids Fiction JUV Fiction Carroll 1 false false On Shelf GH
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260173 Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4E410
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260155 Haynes Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4D400
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260457 Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4N555
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260199 Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4F434
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00259912 Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 46260
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260535 Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4S612
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260420 Madison Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4L545
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260439 Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4M551
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260400 McKissack Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4J535
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260703 Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4U730
ils:CARL0000503892 35192049478732 Main Library - Kids Fiction JUV Fiction Carroll 1 false false On Shelf MN
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260475 J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction FAN F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4O563
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00259752 Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 44130
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00259697 Margaret Allen Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 40100
ils:CARL0000503892 35192049478690 Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction JUV Fiction Carroll 1 false false On Shelf EP
ils:CARL0000503892 35192049478716 Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction JUV Fiction Carroll 1 false false On Shelf GO
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260068 Goodlettsville Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4B355
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260501 Apollo Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4P577
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00259877 Croft Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 45238
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00260755 Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4W783
ils:CARL0000503892 35192049478724 Hermitage - Kids Fiction JUV Fiction Carroll 1 false false On Shelf HM
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00259940 Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 48275
ils:CARL0000503892 35192049478740 Southeast - Kids Fiction JUV Fiction Carroll 1 false false Checked Out SE
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00259977 East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 4A296
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00259734 Jere Baxter Middle - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 43120
ils:CARL0000503892 QQ00259794 Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction F CAR 1 false false On Shelf 71181
itype_catalog
Book
last_indexed 2019-10-22T05:24:24.033Z
lexile_score 560
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction Carroll
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Goodlettsville
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
Southeast
primary_isbn 9780399556029
publishDate 2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:feda278c-042d-4b65-9c84-cabffe0f0548 eBook eBook English Random House Children's Books 2017
ils:CARL0000503892 Book Books First American edition. English Delacorte Press, [2017] 231 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:feda278c-042d-4b65-9c84-cabffe0f0548 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000503892 35192049478682 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000503892 35192049478708 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000503892 35192049478732 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000503892 35192049478690 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000503892 35192049478716 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000503892 35192049478724 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000503892 35192049478740 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
subject_facet Brothers and sisters -- Fiction
Brothers and sisters -- Juvenile fiction
Fairies -- Fiction
Fairies -- Juvenile fiction
Fantasy
Fantasy fiction
Letters -- Fiction
Letters -- Juvenile fiction
Magic -- Fiction
Magic -- Juvenile fiction
World War, 1914-1918 -- Fiction
World War, 1914-1918 -- Juvenile fiction
title_display In darkling wood
title_full In Darkling Wood
In darkling wood / Emma Carroll
title_short In darkling wood
title_sub
topic_facet Brothers and sisters
Fairies
Fantasy
Fantasy fiction
Juvenile Fiction
Juvenile Literature
Letters
Magic
World War, 1914-1918