All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

In darkling wood

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For fans of Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Jack Cheng's See You in the Cosmos, here is "a haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption" ( Booklist, Starred Review).      When Alice is suddenly bundled off to her estranged grandmother Nell's house, there's nothing good about it, except the beautiful Darkling Wood at the end of the garden--but Nell wants to have it cut down. Alice feels at home there, at peace. She even finds a friend, a girl named Flo. But Flo doesn't go to the local school, and no one in town has heard of her. When Flo shows Alice the surprising secrets of Darkling Wood, Alice starts to wonder: What is real? And can she find out in time to save the wood from destruction? Don't miss Emma Carroll's new novel, Strange Star ! ★ " A haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption. "-- Booklist, Starred Review ★ " A tale brimming with emotion and atmosphere....[ In Darkling Wood ] is absorbing and well written. Hand this to readers who enjoy fantasy, fairy tales, and magical realism."-- School Library Journal, Starred Review " Magic and mystery adds appeal to this already compelling family drama ...and Carroll manages to wrap all of the threads into a wholly satisfying ending. "--Bulletin " Beautifully drawn , and the pragmatic prose and completely modern language (except for the letters) ground the story. The fairies aren't covered in pixie dust here. Carroll is becoming well-known in her native Engl∧ this book should win her American fans."- Kirkus Reviews 
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780399556029
9780399556012
039955601
9780399556036
Reading Level:
MG
Level 3.9, 8 Points
Lexile measure:
560L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 8094a4f8-30e7-df36-e27b-9b0b1c00b380
Full title in darkling wood
Author carroll emma
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-25 13:49:11PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-25 13:50:08PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 8
accelerated_reader_reading_level 3.9
author Emma Carroll
author_display Carroll, Emma
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Kids Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction, Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction, Green Hills - Kids Fiction, Hermitage - Kids Fiction, Main Library - Kids Fiction, Southeast - Kids Fiction
display_description When Alice goes to stay with her grandmother she discovers the magical Darkling Wood, where she meets a strange friend and discovers letters written between a brother and sister during WWI.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 8094a4f8-30e7-df36-e27b-9b0b1c00b380
isbn 039955601, 9780399556012, 9780399556029, 9780399556036
item_details ils:CARL0000503892|35192049478682|Bellevue - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Carroll|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000503892|35192049478690|Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Carroll|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000503892|35192049478708|Green Hills - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Carroll|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000503892|35192049478716|Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Carroll|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000503892|35192049478724|Hermitage - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Carroll|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000503892|35192049478732|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Carroll|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000503892|35192049478740|Southeast - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Carroll|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00259697|Margaret Allen Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||40100||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00259724|Antioch Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||41111||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00259734|Jere Baxter Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||43120||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00259752|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00259794|Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||71181||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00259877|Croft Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||45238||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00259912|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||46260||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00259930|Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||47270||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00259940|Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||48275||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00259958|John Early Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||49285||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00259977|East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4A296||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260068|Goodlettsville Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4B355||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260086|Gra-Mar Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4C365||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260134|Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||65397||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260155|Haynes Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4D400||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260173|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260199|Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4F434||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260287|Joelton Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4G470||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260330|J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4H498||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260348|Litton Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4I510||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260400|McKissack Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4J535||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260410|McMurray Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4K540||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260439|Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4M551||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260457|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4N555||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260475|J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction|FAN F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4O563||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260501|Apollo Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4P577||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260535|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4S612||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260603|Rose Park Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4T675||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260661|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260703|Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4U730||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260737|West End Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4V770||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260755|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000503892|QQ00260790|Wright Middle - Teen Fiction|FANT F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4X805||, overdrive:feda278c-042d-4b65-9c84-cabffe0f0548|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-25T18:50:08.438Z
lexile_score 560
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction Carroll
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780399556029
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:CARL0000503892|Book|Books|First American edition.|English|Delacorte Press,|[2017]|231 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:feda278c-042d-4b65-9c84-cabffe0f0548|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000503892|35192049478682|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000503892|35192049478690|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000503892|35192049478708|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000503892|35192049478716|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000503892|35192049478724|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000503892|35192049478732|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000503892|35192049478740|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:feda278c-042d-4b65-9c84-cabffe0f0548|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Brothers and sisters -- Fiction, Brothers and sisters -- Juvenile fiction, Fairies -- Fiction, Fairies -- Juvenile fiction, Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, Letters -- Fiction, Letters -- Juvenile fiction, Magic -- Fiction, Magic -- Juvenile fiction, World War, 1914-1918 -- Fiction, World War, 1914-1918 -- Juvenile fiction
title_display In darkling wood
title_full In Darkling Wood, In darkling wood / Emma Carroll
title_short In darkling wood
title_sub
topic_facet Brothers and sisters, Fairies, Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, Juvenile Fiction, Juvenile Literature, Letters, Magic, World War, 1914-1918