Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

All library locations are closed Thursday, Nov 22 and Friday, Nov 23 for the Thanksgiving holiday.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

Glass house: the 1% economy and the shattering of the all-American town

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
In 1947, Forbes magazine declared Lancaster, Ohio the epitome of the all-American town. Today it is damaged, discouraged, and fighting for its future. In Glass House, journalist Brian Alexander uses the story of one town to show how seeds sown 35 years ago have sprouted to give us Trumpism, inequality, and an eroding national cohesion.The Anchor Hocking Glass Company, once the world's largest maker of glass tableware, was the base on which Lancaster's society was built. As Glass House unfolds, bankruptcy looms. With access to the company and its leaders, and Lancaster's citizens, Alexander shows how financial engineering took hold in the 1980s, accelerated in the 21st Century, and wrecked the company. We follow CEO Sam Solomon, an African-American leading the nearly all-white town's biggest private employer, as he tries to rescue the company from the New York private equity firm that hired him. Meanwhile, Alexander goes behind the scenes, entwined with the lives of residents as they wrestle with heroin, politics, high-interest lenders, low wage jobs, technology, and the new demands of American life: people like Brian Gossett, the fourth generation to work at Anchor Hocking; Joe Piccolo, first-time director of the annual music festival who discovers the town relies on him, and it, for salvation; Jason Roach, who police believed may have been Lancaster's biggest drug dealer; and Eric Brown, a local football hero-turned-cop who comes to realize that he can never arrest Lancaster's real problems.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781250085801
9781250085818
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 8ad7e0bc-7631-2bc1-3bf7-b79702c9f84d
Grouping Title glass house the 1 economy and the shattering of the all american town
Grouping Author alexander brian
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-15 22:45:21PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-16 02:16:31AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Alexander, Brian, 1959-
author_display Alexander, Brian
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Southeast
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction, Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction, Southeast - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

WINNER OF THE OHIOANA BOOK AWARDS AND FINALIST FOR THE 87TH CALIFORNIA BOOK AWARDS | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: New York PostNewsweek • The Week BustleBooks by the Banks Book Festival Bookauthority.com

The Wall Street Journal: "A devastating portrait...For anyone wondering why swing-state America voted against the establishment in 2016, Mr. Alexander supplies plenty of answers."

Laura Miller, Slate: "This book hunts bigger game. Reads like an odd?and oddly satisfying?fusion of George Packer’s The Unwinding and one of Michael Lewis’ real-life financial thrillers."

The New Yorker : "Does a remarkable job."

Beth Macy, author of Factory Man: "This book should be required reading for people trying to understand Trumpism, inequality, and the sad state of a needlessly wrecked rural America. I wish I had written it."

In 1947, Forbes magazine declared Lancaster, Ohio the epitome of the all-American town. Today it is damaged, discouraged, and fighting for its future. In Glass House, journalist Brian Alexander uses the story of one town to show how seeds sown 35 years ago have sprouted to give us Trumpism, inequality, and an eroding national cohesion.

The Anchor Hocking Glass Company, once the world’s largest maker of glass tableware, was the base on which Lancaster’s society was built. As Glass House unfolds, bankruptcy looms. With access to the company and its leaders, and Lancaster’s citizens, Alexander shows how financial engineering took hold in the 1980s, accelerated in the 21st Century, and wrecked the company. We follow CEO Sam Solomon, an African-American leading the nearly all-white town’s biggest private employer, as he tries to rescue the company from the New York private equity firm that hired him. Meanwhile, Alexander goes behind the scenes, entwined with the lives of residents as they wrestle with heroin, politics, high-interest lenders, low wage jobs, technology, and the new demands of American life: people like Brian Gossett, the fourth generation to work at Anchor Hocking; Joe Piccolo, first-time director of the annual music festival who discovers the town relies on him, and it, for salvation; Jason Roach, who police believed may have been Lancaster’s biggest drug dealer; and Eric Brown, a local football hero-turned-cop who comes to realize that he can never arrest Lancaster’s real problems.

format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 8ad7e0bc-7631-2bc1-3bf7-b79702c9f84d
isbn 9781250085801, 9781250085818
item_details ils:CARL0000503669|35192049309408|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|330.973 A374g|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000503669|35192049309416|Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction|330.973 A374g|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000503669|35192049309424|Southeast - Adult Non-Fiction|330.973 A374g|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000503669|QQ00264597|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Non-Fiction|330.97 ALE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, overdrive:ded29047-0e18-4eeb-b07f-62d617a4297a|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-16T08:16:31.433Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 330.973 A374g
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Southeast
primary_isbn 9781250085801
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:CARL0000503669|Book|Books|First edition.|English|St. Martin's Press,|2017.|xiv, 320 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm., overdrive:ded29047-0e18-4eeb-b07f-62d617a4297a|eBook|eBook||English|St. Martin's Press|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000503669 35192049309416 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000503669 35192049309408 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000503669 35192049309424 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:ded29047-0e18-4eeb-b07f-62d617a4297a -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Anchor Hocking Glass Corporation -- History, City dwellers -- Economic aspects -- Ohio -- Lancaster, Deindustrialization -- Ohio -- Lancaster, Distribution (Economic theory), Glass manufacture -- Ohio -- Lancaster -- History, Glass trade -- Ohio -- Lancaster -- History, Lancaster (Ohio) -- Economic conditions -- 20th century, Lancaster (Ohio) -- History, Local, Lancaster (Ohio) -- Social life and customs -- History, Middle class -- United States -- Economic conditions, Small cities -- Economic aspects -- Ohio -- Lancaster, Tableware industry -- Ohio -- Lancaster -- History
title_display Glass house : the 1% economy and the shattering of the all-American town
title_full Glass House The 1% Economy and the Shattering of the All-American Town, Glass house : the 1% economy and the shattering of the all-American town / Brian Alexander
title_short Glass house :
title_sub the 1% economy and the shattering of the all-American town
topic_facet City dwellers, Deindustrialization, Distribution (Economic theory), Economic aspects, Economic conditions, Glass manufacture, Glass trade, History, History, Local, Middle class, Nonfiction, Politics, Small cities, Social life and customs, Sociology, Tableware industry