Glass house: the 1% economy and the shattering of the all-American town

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land WINNER OF THE OHIOANA BOOK AWARDS AND FINALIST FOR THE 87TH CALIFORNIA BOOK AWARDS | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: New York Post * Newsweek * The Week * Bustle * Books by the Banks Book Festival

The Wall Street Journal: "A devastating portrait...For anyone wondering why swing-state America voted against the establishment in 2016, Mr. Alexander supplies plenty of answers."

Laura Miller, Slate : " This book hunts bigger game. Reads like an odd?and oddly satisfying?fusion of George Packer's The Unwinding and one of Michael Lewis' real-life financial thrillers."

The New Yorker : "Does a remarkable job." Beth Macy, author of Factory Man: " This book should be required reading for people trying to understand Trumpism, inequality, and the sad state of a needlessly wrecked rural America. I wish I had written it."

In 1947, Forbes magazine declared Lancaster, Ohio the epitome of the all-American town. Today it is damaged, discouraged, and fighting for its future. In Glass House , journalist Brian Alexander uses the story of one town to show how seeds sown 35 years ago have sprouted to give us Trumpism, inequality, and an eroding national cohesion.

The Anchor Hocking Glass Company, once the world's largest maker of glass tableware, was the base on which Lancaster's society was built. As Glass House unfolds, bankruptcy looms. With access to the company and its leaders, and Lancaster's citizens, Alexander shows how financial engineering took hold in the 1980s, accelerated in the 21st Century, and wrecked the company. We follow CEO Sam Solomon, an African-American leading the nearly all-white town's biggest private employer, as he tries to rescue the company from the New York private equity firm that hired him. Meanwhile, Alexander goes behind the scenes, entwined with the lives of residents as they wrestle with heroin, politics, high-interest lenders, low wage jobs, technology, and the new demands of American life: people like Brian Gossett, the fourth generation to work at Anchor Hocking; Joe Piccolo, first-time director of the annual music festival who discovers the town relies on him, and it, for salvation; Jason Roach, who police believed may have been Lancaster's biggest drug dealer; and Eric Brown, a local football hero-turned-cop who comes to realize that he can never arrest Lancaster's real problems.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781250085801
9781250085818
168168697
9781681686974
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 8ad7e0bc-7631-2bc1-3bf7-b79702c9f84d
Grouping Title glass house the 1 economy and the shattering of the all american town
Grouping Author alexander brian
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-16 04:51:47AM
Last Indexed 2018-07-16 04:52:44AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Souer, Bob.
author Alexander, Brian, 1959-
author2-role Souer, Bob., hoopla digital.
author_display Alexander, Brian
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction, Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction, Southeast - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

FINALIST FOR THE OHIOANA BOOK AWARDS AND THE 87TH CALIFORNIA BOOK AWARDS | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: New York Post

  • Newsweek
  • The Week
  • Bustle
  • Books by the Banks Book Festival

    The Wall Street Journal: "A devastating portrait...For anyone wondering why swing-state America voted against the establishment in 2016, Mr. Alexander supplies plenty of answers."

    Laura Miller, Slate: "This book hunts bigger game. Reads like an odd?and oddly satisfying?fusion of George Packer's The Unwinding and one of Michael Lewis' real-life financial thrillers."

    The New Yorker : "Does a remarkable job."

    Beth Macy, author of Factory Man: "This book should be required reading for people trying to understand Trumpism, inequality, and the sad state of a needlessly wrecked rural America. I wish I had written it."

    In 1947, Forbes magazine declared Lancaster, Ohio the epitome of the all-American town. Today it is damaged, discouraged, and fighting for its future. In Glass House, journalist Brian Alexander uses the story of one town to show how seeds sown 35 years ago have sprouted to give us Trumpism, inequality, and an eroding national cohesion.

    The Anchor Hocking Glass Company, once the world's largest maker of glass tableware, was the base on which Lancaster's society was built. As Glass House unfolds, bankruptcy looms. With access to the company and its leaders, and Lancaster's citizens, Alexander shows how financial engineering took hold in the 1980s, accelerated in the 21st Century, and wrecked the company. We follow CEO Sam Solomon, an African-American leading the nearly all-white town's biggest private employer, as he tries to rescue the company from the New York private equity firm that hired him. Meanwhile, Alexander goes behind the scenes, entwined with the lives of residents as they wrestle with heroin, politics, high-interest lenders, low wage jobs, technology, and the new demands of American life: people like Brian Gossett, the fourth generation to work at Anchor Hocking; Joe Piccolo, first-time director of the annual music festival who discovers the town relies on him, and it, for salvation; Jason Roach, who police believed may have been Lancaster's biggest drug dealer; and Eric Brown, a local football hero-turned-cop who comes to realize that he can never arrest Lancaster's real problems.

  • format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
    format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
    id 8ad7e0bc-7631-2bc1-3bf7-b79702c9f84d
    isbn 168168697, 9781250085801, 9781250085818, 9781681686974
    item_details hoopla:MWT11872725||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11872725||Available Online||||, ils:CARL0000503669|35192049309408|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|330.973 A374g|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000503669|35192049309416|Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction|330.973 A374g|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000503669|35192049309424|Southeast - Adult Non-Fiction|330.973 A374g|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||SE||, ils:CARL0000503669|QQ00264597|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Non-Fiction|330.97 ALE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, overdrive:ded29047-0e18-4eeb-b07f-62d617a4297a|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
    itype_catalog , Book
    last_indexed 2018-07-16T09:52:44.881Z
    lexile_score -1
    literary_form Non Fiction
    literary_form_full Non Fiction
    local_callnumber_catalog 330.973 A374g
    owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
    owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Southeast
    primary_isbn 9781250085801
    publishDate 2017
    record_details hoopla:MWT11872725|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|HighBridge,|2017.|1 online resource (1 audio file (11hr., 09 min.)) : digital., ils:CARL0000503669|Book|Books|First edition.|English|St. Martin's Press,|2017.|xiv, 320 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm., overdrive:ded29047-0e18-4eeb-b07f-62d617a4297a|eBook|eBook||English|St. Martin's Press|2017|
    recordtype grouped_work
    scoping_details_catalog
    Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
    ils:CARL0000503669 35192049309408 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
    ils:CARL0000503669 35192049309416 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
    ils:CARL0000503669 35192049309424 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
    overdrive:ded29047-0e18-4eeb-b07f-62d617a4297a -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
    hoopla:MWT11872725 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
    subject_facet American Dream, Anchor Hocking Glass Corporation -- History, City dwellers -- Economic aspects -- Ohio -- Lancaster, Deindustrialization -- Ohio -- Lancaster, Distribution (Economic theory), Equality -- United States, Glass manufacture -- Ohio -- Lancaster -- History, Glass trade -- Ohio -- Lancaster -- History, Income distribution -- United States, Lancaster (Ohio) -- Economic conditions -- 20th century, Lancaster (Ohio) -- History, Local, Lancaster (Ohio) -- Social life and customs -- History, Middle class -- United States -- Economic conditions, Small cities -- Economic aspects -- Ohio -- Lancaster, Tableware industry -- Ohio -- Lancaster -- History, United States -- Economic conditions -- 2001-2009 -- Regional disparities, United States -- Economic conditions -- 2009- -- Regional disparities
    title_display Glass house : the 1% economy and the shattering of the all-American town
    title_full Glass House The 1% Economy and the Shattering of the All-American Town, Glass house : the 1% economy and the shattering of the all-American town / Brian Alexander, Glass house : the 1% economy and the shattering of the all-American town [electronic resource] / Brian Alexander
    title_short Glass house :
    title_sub the 1% economy and the shattering of the all-American town
    topic_facet American Dream, City dwellers, Deindustrialization, Distribution (Economic theory), Economic aspects, Economic conditions, Equality, Glass manufacture, Glass trade, History, History, Local, Income distribution, Middle class, Nonfiction, Politics, Regional disparities, Small cities, Social life and customs, Sociology, Tableware industry