Looby Branch Library is closed September 17-27, 2019. Holds will be available for pick up at North Branch Library.

The book of Joe: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2004.
Language:
English
Description
Right after high school, Joe Goffman left sleepy Bush Falls, Connecticut and never looked back. Then he wrote a novel savaging everything in town, a novel that became a national bestseller and a huge hit movie. Fifteen years later, Joe is struggling to avoid the sophomore slump with his next novel when he gets a call: his father's had a stroke, so it's back to Bush Falls for the town's most famous pariah. His brother avoids him, his former classmates beat him up, and the members of the book club just hurl their copies of Bush Falls at his house. But with the help of some old friends, Joe discovers that coming home isn't all bad--and that maybe the best things in life are second chances. Fans of Nick Horny and Jennifer Weiner will love this book, by turns howling funny, fiercely intelligent, and achingly poignant. As evidenced byThe Book of Joe'ssuccess in both the foreign and movie markets, Jonathan Tropper has created a compelling, incredibly resonant story.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780385338103
9780385337410
9780440334767
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 8c202ad4-912f-578c-df87-4b4cacaeff0b
Grouping Title book of joe
Grouping Author tropper jonathan
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-09-20 22:44:47PM
Last Indexed 2019-09-20 23:44:59PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Jonathan Tropper
author_display Tropper, Jonathan
available_at_catalog Main Kids
Main Library
Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Southeast - Adult Fiction
display_description Right after high school, Joe Goffman left sleepy Bush Falls, Connecticut and never looked back. Then he wrote a novel savaging everything in town, a novel that became a national bestseller and a huge hit movie. Fifteen years later, Joe is struggling to avoid the sophomore slump with his next novel when he gets a call: his father's had a stroke, so it's back to Bush Falls for the town's most famous pariah. His brother avoids him, his former classmates beat him up, and the members of the book club just hurl their copies of Bush Falls at his house. But with the help of some old friends, Joe discovers that coming home isn't all bad—and that maybe the best things in life are second chances.
Fans of Nick Hornby and Jennifer Weiner will love this book, by turns howling funny, fiercely intelligent, and achingly poignant. As evidenced by The Book of Joe's success in both the foreign and movie markets, Jonathan Tropper has created a compelling, incredibly resonant story.
format_catalog Book
eBook
format_category_catalog Books
eBook
id 8c202ad4-912f-578c-df87-4b4cacaeff0b
isbn 9780385337410
9780385338103
9780440334767
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:90397a0c-262e-4801-a7c8-9a90ab026b0b -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000221516 35192030837185 Green Hills - Adult Fiction Fiction Tropper 1 false false Checked Out GH
ils:CARL0000221516 35192031008273 Main Library - Adult Fiction Fiction Tropper 1 false false On Shelf MN
ils:CARL0000221516 35192045424904 Southeast - Adult Fiction Fiction Tropper 1 false false On Shelf SE
itype_catalog
Book
last_indexed 2019-09-21T04:44:59.981Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Tropper
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
Southeast
primary_isbn 9780385338103
publishDate 2004
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:90397a0c-262e-4801-a7c8-9a90ab026b0b eBook eBook English Random House Publishing Group 2004
ils:CARL0000221516 Book Books English Delacorte Press, 2004. viii, 338 p. ; 23 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:90397a0c-262e-4801-a7c8-9a90ab026b0b -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000221516 35192030837185 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000221516 35192031008273 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000221516 35192045424904 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Authors -- Fiction
Cities and towns -- Fiction
Connecticut -- Fiction
title_display The book of Joe
title_full The Book of Joe A Novel
The book of Joe / Jonathan Tropper
title_short The book of Joe
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Authors
Cities and towns
Fiction
Literature