All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

The astonishing color of after

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
"Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book."--John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng. Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird. Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life. Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a stunning and heartbreaking novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780316463997
9781549197130
9780316464925
031646399
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 670L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 8e47a2e5-1842-e85c-a7a1-bc865382f8cc
Full title astonishing color of after
Author pan emily x r
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-22 23:05:13PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-23 03:00:36AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Emily X. R. Pan
author_display Emily X.R. Pan
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Teen Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction, Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction, Green Hills - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction
display_description After her mother's suicide, grief-stricken Leigh Sanders travels to Taiwan to stay with grandparents she never met, determined to find her mother who she believes turned into a bird.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 8e47a2e5-1842-e85c-a7a1-bc865382f8cc
isbn 031646399, 9780316463997, 9780316464925, 9781549197130
item_details ils:CARL0000709131|35192050464027|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Pan|||1|false|false|||||In Transit for Hold||BL||, ils:CARL0000709131|35192050464035|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Pan|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||EP||, ils:CARL0000709131|35192050464043|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Pan|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000709131|35192050464050|Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Pan|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GO||, ils:CARL0000709131|35192050464068|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Pan|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000709131|FF00160036|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00306072|Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||65397||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00306074|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00306076|Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||71181||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308165|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308182|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308191|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308212|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308221|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308257|Hillsboro High - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||66435||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308262|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|FAN F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308271|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308276|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308286|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308304|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308305|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308324|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||6E550||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308349|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308354|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|Fantasy F Pan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000709131|QQ00308382|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F Pan|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||6I787||, overdrive:56b7467d-dd3a-4e9f-b1ac-4f7ac0162257|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Checked Out||||, overdrive:8102e1d5-4179-486c-8a82-2f0df7cf80c8|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-23T08:00:36.386Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 670
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Pan
local_time_since_added_catalog Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780316463997
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:CARL0000709131|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Little, Brown and Company,|2018.|472 pages ; 22 cm, overdrive:56b7467d-dd3a-4e9f-b1ac-4f7ac0162257|eBook|eBook||English|Little, Brown Books for Young Readers|2018|, overdrive:8102e1d5-4179-486c-8a82-2f0df7cf80c8|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Blackstone Publishing|2018|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000709131|35192050464027|Currently Unavailable|In Transit for Hold|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000709131|35192050464035|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000709131|35192050464043|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000709131|35192050464050|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000709131|35192050464068|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:56b7467d-dd3a-4e9f-b1ac-4f7ac0162257|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:8102e1d5-4179-486c-8a82-2f0df7cf80c8|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Americans -- Taiwan -- Fiction, Artists -- Fiction, Grandparents -- Fiction, Grief -- Fiction, Paranormal fiction, Racially mixed people -- Fiction, Secrets -- Fiction, Suicide -- Fiction, Supernatural -- Fiction, Taiwan -- Fiction
title_display The astonishing color of after
title_full The Astonishing Color of After, The astonishing color of after / by Emily X.R. Pan
title_short The astonishing color of after
title_sub
topic_facet Americans, Artists, Fantasy, Grandparents, Grief, Paranormal fiction, Racially mixed people, Secrets, Suicide, Supernatural, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature