The girl who slept with God: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"Fine, carefully wrought . . . reading this novel [is] a heartening experience." --The New York Times Book Review "Brelinski's page-turning debut is full of humor, insight, and imaginative sympathy. Think of it as the annunciation of a new talent." --The Wall Street Journal "A revelation." --Vanity Fair "[Brelinski] had readers hooked from page 1." --Elle For Fans of Celeste Ng's Everything I Never Told You and Meg Wolitzer's The Interestings , an entrancing literary debut about religion, science, secrets, and the power and burden of family from recent Wallace Stegner Fellow Val Brelinski Set in Arco, Idaho, in 1970, Val Brelinski's powerfully affecting first novel tells the story of three sisters: young Frances, gregarious and strong-willed Jory, and moral-minded Grace. Their father, Oren, is a respected member of the community and science professor at the local college. Yet their mother's depression and Grace's religious fervor threaten the seemingly perfect family, whose world is upended when Grace returns from a missionary trip to Mexico and discovers she's pregnant with--she believes--the child of God. Distraught, Oren sends Jory and Grace to an isolated home at the edge of the town. There, they prepare for the much-awaited arrival of the baby while building a makeshift family that includes an elderly eccentric neighbor and a tattooed social outcast who drives an ice cream truck. The Girl Who Slept with God is a literary achievement about a family's desperate need for truth, love, purity, and redemption.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525427421
9780698171008
Reading Level:
UG
Level 5.4, 20 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 820L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 8ea161fb-a7de-d7ae-8e13-5e7d24c2d446
Grouping Title girl who slept with god
Grouping Author brelinski val
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-22 22:53:45PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-23 00:22:37AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 20
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.4
author Brelinski, Val,
author_display Brelinski, Val
available_at_catalog Goodlettsville
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
Madison
Madison Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction
Hermitage - Adult Fiction
Madison - Adult Fiction
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Richland Park - Adult Fiction
display_description "Set in Arco, Idaho, in 1970, Val Brelinski's powerfully affecting first novel tells the story of three sisters: young Frances, gregarious and strong-willed Jory, and moral-minded Grace. Their father, Oren, is a respected member of the community and science professor at the local college. Yet their mother's depression and Grace's religious fervor threaten the seemingly perfect family, whose world is upended when Grace returns from a missionary trip to Mexico and discovers she's pregnant with--she believes--the child of God. Distraught, Oren sends Jory and Grace to an isolated home at the edge of the town. There, they prepare for the much-awaited arrival of the baby while building a makeshift family that includes an elderly eccentric neighbor and a tattooed social outcast who drives an ice cream truck" --
format_catalog Book
eBook
format_category_catalog Books
eBook
id 8ea161fb-a7de-d7ae-8e13-5e7d24c2d446
isbn 9780525427421
9780698171008
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:315c265e-2da2-4ef5-a7b0-1703eca75ada -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000466684 35192047781202 Madison - Adult Fiction Fiction Brelins 1 false false On Shelf MA
ils:CARL0000466684 35192047781228 Richland Park - Adult Fiction Fiction Brelins 1 false false Checked Out RP
ils:CARL0000466684 35192047781194 Hermitage - Adult Fiction Fiction Brelins 1 false false On Shelf HM
ils:CARL0000466684 35192047781186 Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction Fiction Brelins 1 false false On Shelf GO
ils:CARL0000466684 35192047781210 Main Library - Adult Fiction Fiction Brelins 1 false false On Shelf MN
ils:CARL0000466684 A02025733 McGavock High - Teen Fiction F BRE 1 false false On Shelf 6D532
itype_catalog
Book
last_indexed 2019-10-23T05:22:37.02Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 820
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
Novels
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Brelins
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Goodlettsville
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
Madison
Madison Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
Richland Park
primary_isbn 9780525427421
publishDate 2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:315c265e-2da2-4ef5-a7b0-1703eca75ada eBook eBook English Penguin Publishing Group 2015
ils:CARL0000466684 Book Books English Viking, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC, [2015] 368 pages ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:315c265e-2da2-4ef5-a7b0-1703eca75ada -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000466684 35192047781202 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000466684 35192047781228 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000466684 35192047781194 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000466684 35192047781186 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000466684 35192047781210 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Evangelicalism -- Fiction
Idaho -- Fiction
Pregnant teenagers -- Fiction
Sisters -- Fiction
title_display The girl who slept with God
title_full The Girl Who Slept with God A Novel
The girl who slept with God / Val Brelinski
title_short The girl who slept with God
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Evangelicalism
Fiction
Literature
Pregnant teenagers
Sisters