The gift of failure: how the best parents learn to let go so their children can succeed

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Paul Tough's How Children Succeed and Wendy Mogel's The Blessings of a Skinned Knee comes a manifesto and action plan that further explores Jessica Lahey's article in the Atlantic, "Why Parents Need to Let Their Children Fail," about why parents must learn to refrain from stepping in anytime children experience disappointments and frustrations so they can learn from life's inevitable mistakes and setbacks and grow up to be successful, resilient, and self-reliant adults.Although teachers and coaches have long been aware of the detrimental effects overprotective and over-involved parents have on children, the stories teachers exchange these days reveal a whole new level of overprotectiveness: parents who rush to school at the whim of a phone call from their child to deliver items such as forgotten lunches, forgotten assignments, forgotten uniforms, and who demand better grades on the final semester reports. As teacher and writer Jessica Lahey explains, even though these parents see themselves as being highly responsive to the needs and issues of their children, they aren't giving them the chance to experience failure and learn to solve their own problems.Indeed, this level of overparenting has the potential to ruin a child's confidence and undermine their education. As Lahey points out, teachers don't just teach reading, writing, and arithmetic. They teach responsibility, organization, manners, restraint, and foresight. These skills may not get assessed on standardized testing, but as children plot their journey into adulthood, they are by far the most important life skills they learn in the classroom. Children make mistakes and the educational benefit of suffering consequences is a gift.The Gift of Failure is a manifesto, an outlet, and a resource for the hundreds of thousands of parents, educators, and psychologists who work to help children succeed. Providing a path toward solutions, Lahey lays out a blueprint with targeted advice for handling homework, report cards, social dynamics, and sports--but more importantly, she sets forth a plan for what doesn't come naturally to most of us: stepping back and embracing our children's failures. Lahey argues that year after year her "best" students--the ones who are happiest and successful in their lives--are the students who were held responsible for missteps and challenged to be the best people they could be in the face of their failures. Students need the room to roll with the punches, find their way through the gauntlet of adolescence, and stand firm in the face of the challenges--challenges that have the power to transform today's children into resourceful, competent, and confident adults.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062299239
9780062299246
9781467604505
146760450
9780062332356
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 94112c4d-7323-2cdb-bb13-9b30166d0c12
Full title gift of failure how the best parents learn to let go so their children can succeed
Author lahey jessica
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-19 23:33:41PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-20 00:26:10AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Lahey, Jessica,
author2-role Findaway World, LLC., Playaway Digital Audio.
author_display Lahey, Jessica
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, North, Thompson Lane
collection_catalog Audiobook, Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Non-Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction, Inglewood - Adult Audiobook, Main Library - Adult Audiobook, North - Adult Non-Fiction, Thompson Lane - Adult Audiobook
display_description Counsels parents of school-aged children on how to overcome tendencies toward overprotectiveness to allow children to develop independence. --Publisher's description.
format_catalog Book, Playaway, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 94112c4d-7323-2cdb-bb13-9b30166d0c12
isbn 146760450, 9780062299239, 9780062299246, 9780062332356, 9781467604505
item_details ils:CARL0000467917|35192047794213|Bellevue - Adult Non-Fiction|649.7 L183g|||1|false|false|||||In Transit for Hold||BL||, ils:CARL0000467917|35192047794239|Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction|649.7 L183g|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000467917|35192047794247|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|649.7 L183g|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000467917|35192047794262|North - Adult Non-Fiction|649.7 L183g|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NO||, ils:CARL0000469026|35192048114411|Inglewood - Adult Audiobook|PLAYAWAY 649.7 L183g|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||IN||, ils:CARL0000469026|35192048114429|Main Library - Adult Audiobook|PLAYAWAY 649.7 L183g|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000469026|35192048114437|Thompson Lane - Adult Audiobook|PLAYAWAY 649.7 L183g|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, overdrive:ac258147-2941-4dbd-9d06-096db5ebf689|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Checked Out||||, overdrive:f0f27149-04bb-45b5-8d0d-473e58818846|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, Playaway
last_indexed 2018-05-20T05:26:10.625Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 649.7 L183g, PLAYAWAY 649.7 L183g
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library, North, Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9780062299239
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000467917|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|[2015]|xxvii, 272 pages ; 24 cm., ils:CARL0000469026|Playaway|Audio Books||English|Findaway World, LLC,|[2015]|1 audio media player (7.75 hr.) : digital, HD audio ; 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in., overdrive:ac258147-2941-4dbd-9d06-096db5ebf689|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2015|, overdrive:f0f27149-04bb-45b5-8d0d-473e58818846|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HarperCollins|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000467917|35192047794213|Currently Unavailable|In Transit for Hold|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000467917|35192047794239|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000467917|35192047794247|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000467917|35192047794262|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000469026|35192048114411|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000469026|35192048114429|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000469026|35192048114437|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:ac258147-2941-4dbd-9d06-096db5ebf689|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:f0f27149-04bb-45b5-8d0d-473e58818846|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Audiobooks, Child rearing -- United States, Early childhood education -- United States, Parental overprotection, Parenting -- United States, Self-reliance in children
title_display The gift of failure : how the best parents learn to let go so their children can succeed
title_full The Gift of Failure How the Best Parents Learn to Let Go So Their Children Can Succeed, The gift of failure : how the best parents learn to let go so their children can succeed / Jessica Lahey, The gift of failure [sound recording] : how the best parents learn to let go so their children can succeed / Jessica Lahey
title_short The gift of failure :
title_sub how the best parents learn to let go so their children can succeed
topic_facet Audiobooks, Child rearing, Early childhood education, Family & Relationships, Nonfiction, Parental overprotection, Parenting, Self-reliance in children