All library locations are closed Monday, Jan 20 in observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day.

The Mercury 13: The Untold Story of Thirteen American Women and the Dream of Space Flight

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In 1961, just as NASA launched its first man into space, a group of women underwent secret testing in the hopes of becoming America's first female astronauts. They passed the same battery of tests at the legendary Lovelace Foundation as did the Mercury 7 astronauts, but they were summarily dismissed by the boys' club at NASA and on Capitol Hill. The USSR sent its first woman into space in 1963; the United States did not follow suit for another twenty years. For the first time, Martha Ackmann tells the story of the dramatic events surrounding these thirteen remarkable women, all crackerjack pilots and patriots who sometimes sacrificed jobs and marriages for a chance to participate in America's space race against the Soviet Union. In addition to talking extensively to these women, Ackmann interviewed Chuck Yeager, John Glenn, Scott Carpenter, and others at NASA and in the White House with firsthand knowledge of the program, and includes here never-before-seen photographs of the Mercury 13 passing their Lovelace tests. Despite the crushing disappointment of watching their dreams being derailed, the Mercury 13 went on to extraordinary achievement in their lives: Jerrie Cobb, who began flying when she was so small she had to sit on pillows to see out of the cockpit, dedicated her life to flying solo missions to the Amazon rain forest; Wally Funk, who talked her way into the Lovelace trials, went on to become one of the first female FAA investigators; Janey Hart, mother of eight and, at age forty, the oldest astronaut candidate, had the political savvy to steer the women through congressional hearings and later helped found the National Organization for Women. A provocative tribute to these extraordinary women, The Mercury 13 is an unforgettable story of determination, resilience, and inextinguishable hope. From the Hardcover edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780375507441
9781588360373
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 9b36b8ce-1425-6164-4f52-c27d19c76c64
Grouping Title mercury 13 the untold story of thirteen american women and the dream of space flight
Grouping Author ackmann martha
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2020-01-17 23:27:06PM
Last Indexed 2020-01-18 02:08:47AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Martha Ackmann
author_display Martha Ackmann
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description

For readers of The Astronaut Wives Club, The Mercury 13 reveals the little-known true story of the remarkable women who trained for NASA space flight.

In 1961, just as NASA launched its first man into space, a group of women underwent secret testing in the hopes of becoming America's first female astronauts. They passed the same battery of tests at the legendary Lovelace Foundation as did the Mercury 7 astronauts, but they were summarily dismissed by the boys' club at NASA and on Capitol Hill. The USSR sent its first woman into space in 1963; the United States did not follow suit for another twenty years.

For the first time, Martha Ackmann tells the story of the dramatic events surrounding these thirteen remarkable women, all crackerjack pilots and patriots who sometimes sacrificed jobs and marriages for a chance to participate in America's space race against the Soviet Union. In addition to talking extensively to these women, Ackmann interviewed Chuck Yeager, John Glenn, Scott Carpenter, and others at NASA and in the White House with firsthand knowledge of the program, and includes here never-before-seen photographs of the Mercury 13 passing their Lovelace tests.

Despite the crushing disappointment of watching their dreams being derailed, the Mercury 13 went on to extraordinary achievement in their lives: Jerrie Cobb, who began flying when she was so small she had to sit on pillows to see out of the cockpit, dedicated her life to flying solo missions to the Amazon rain forest; Wally Funk, who talked her way into the Lovelace trials, went on to become one of the first female FAA investigators; Janey Hart, mother of eight and, at age forty, the oldest astronaut candidate, had the political savvy to steer the women through congressional hearings and later helped found the National Organization for Women.

A provocative tribute to these extraordinary women, The Mercury 13 is an unforgettable story of determination, resilience, and inextinguishable hope.

From the Hardcover edition.

format_catalog Book
eBook
format_category_catalog Books
eBook
id 9b36b8ce-1425-6164-4f52-c27d19c76c64
isbn 9780375507441
9781588360373
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000206642 35192030103372 Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction 629.450082 A1829m 1 false false On Hold Shelf MN
overdrive:b938ab75-e916-4219-8380-174acef95790 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
itype_catalog
Book
last_indexed 2020-01-18T08:08:47.852Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 629.450082 A1829m
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids
Main Library
primary_isbn 9780375507441
publishDate 2003
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000206642 Book Books 1st ed. English Random House, c2003. ix, 239 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
overdrive:b938ab75-e916-4219-8380-174acef95790 eBook eBook English Random House Publishing Group 2003
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000206642 35192030103372 Checked Out On Hold Shelf false false true false false true
overdrive:b938ab75-e916-4219-8380-174acef95790 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Project Mercury (U.S.) -- History
Women astronauts -- United States -- History
title_display The Mercury 13 : the untold story of thirteen American women and the dream of space flight
title_full The Mercury 13 : the untold story of thirteen American women and the dream of space flight / Martha Ackmann
The Mercury 13 The Untold Story of Thirteen American Women and the Dream of Space Flight
title_short The Mercury 13 :
title_sub The Untold Story of Thirteen American Women and the Dream of Space Flight
topic_facet History
Nonfiction
Sociology
Women astronauts
Women's Studies