Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

All library locations are closed Thursday, Nov 22 and Friday, Nov 23 for the Thanksgiving holiday.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

Why Beulah shot her pistol inside the Baptist Church

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Raised in the Primitive Baptist Church, Beulah Buchanan at age 16 marries the much older deacon Ralph Rainey to escape from her oppressive parents, thus jumping from the frying pan into the fire. Over the next six years, Beulah works in her domineering husband's cafe all day and cooks him dinner at home every night, dutifully attends church, and falls into an affair with the preacher. When she embarasses her husband by not cooking enough food for the ravenous visiting revival preacher, Ralph "chastises" Beulah with his belt. When he tries to beat her again on another occasion, she fights back and locks him in the cooler at his cafe, where he freezes to death. This sounds like and is a Southern Gothic tragedy, but it is told in Beulah's voice, which is innocently hilarious. Beulah is an original, but readers who liked Clyde Eagerton's Raney and Mark Childress's Crazy in Alabama will hear familiar echoes of those Southern women protagonists.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781588381675
9781603060745
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 9b685c15-30d6-fe07-89db-195e63d89d9a
Grouping Title why beulah shot her pistol inside the baptist church
Grouping Author sullivan clayton
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-16 23:10:10PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-17 00:00:57AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Clayton Sullivan
author_display Sullivan, Clayton
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description

Raised in the Primitive Baptist Church, Beulah Buchanan at age 16 marries the much older deacon Ralph Rainey to escape from her oppressive parents, thus jumping from the frying pan into the fire. Over the next six years, Beulah works in her domineering husband's cafe all day and cooks him dinner at home every night, dutifully attends church, and falls into an affair with the preacher. When she embarrasses her husband by not cooking enough food for the ravenous visiting revival preacher, Ralph "chastises" Beulah with his belt. When he tries to beat her again on another occasion, she fights back and locks him in the cooler at his cafe, where he freezes to death. This sounds like and is a Southern Gothic tragedy, but it is told in Beulah's voice, which is innocently hilarious. Beulah is an original, but readers who liked Clyde Eagerton's Raney and Mark Childress's Crazy in Alabama will hear familiar echoes of those Southern women protagonists.

format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 9b685c15-30d6-fe07-89db-195e63d89d9a
isbn 9781588381675, 9781603060745
item_details ils:CARL0000251140|35192032990024|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Sulliva|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:e929b9d1-5e6c-42bb-9bb6-ba04ba4782e1|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-17T06:00:57.371Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Sulliva
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9781588381675
publishDate 2004, 2011
record_details ils:CARL0000251140|Book|Books||English|NewSouth Books,|c2004.|238 p. ; 23 cm., overdrive:e929b9d1-5e6c-42bb-9bb6-ba04ba4782e1|eBook|eBook||English|NewSouth Books|2011|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:e929b9d1-5e6c-42bb-9bb6-ba04ba4782e1 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000251140 35192032990024 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Baptist women -- Fiction, Mississippi -- Fiction
title_display Why Beulah shot her pistol inside the Baptist Church
title_full Why Beulah Shot Her Pistol Inside the Baptist Church, Why Beulah shot her pistol inside the Baptist Church / Clayton Sullivan
title_short Why Beulah shot her pistol inside the Baptist Church
title_sub
topic_facet Baptist women, Fiction, Literature