The deepest night: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2013.
Language:
English
Description
A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Night seamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure--perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate. It's 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England's southern coast. While she's always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a drákon, a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities.   As war hits Britain's shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort--and to keep Lora near--Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her--bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood.   Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another drákon, a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him.   With Armand at her side, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission--one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart.   Beautifully written, deeply romantic, and filled with daring adventure and magic, The Deepest Night is a mesmerizing novel of the enduring pull of destiny, and the eternal strength of love. Praise for The Deepest Night   "Fast, fun and full of surprises . . . a solid story with great writing and humor in unexpected places." -- RT Book Reviews   "Awe inspiring . . . The writing is beautiful, lyrical, evoking image and all the senses. . . . I highly recommend this series." -- Badass Book Reviews   "An exhilarating, heroic adventure . . . exceptionally romantic, entrancing, thrilling and vastly fast moving . . . The Deepest Night is like a fine wine. It is smoothly written, rich in taste and definitely needs to be savored! Actually, I think I will read it again; it is so exceptionally written!" -- Romance Junkies Review
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345531735
9780345531742
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 9d43fe87-e796-520b-9803-91d1499f940b
Full title deepest night
Author abé shana
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-19 23:33:41PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-20 01:44:17AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Abé, Shana.
author_display Abé, Shana
available_at_catalog Bordeaux, Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bordeaux - Teen Fiction, Southeast - Teen Fiction
display_description While working for the summer at Tranquility, a heartbroken Lora is persuaded by Armand, son of the mad Duke of Idylling, to use her newfound magical abilities to rescue his brother Aubrey from a German prison.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 9d43fe87-e796-520b-9803-91d1499f940b
isbn 9780345531735, 9780345531742
item_details ils:CARL0000415734|35192042898928|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Abe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000415734|35192044384679|Bordeaux - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Abe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BX||, ils:CARL0000415734|B00530849|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F ABE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000415734|B00725076|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F ABE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000415734|B00730081|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Abe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, overdrive:637d8f8e-d5f3-465b-9647-0201717b36cd|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-20T06:44:17.376Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Abe
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bordeaux, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780345531735
publishDate 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000415734|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Bantam Books,|2013.|pages cm., overdrive:637d8f8e-d5f3-465b-9647-0201717b36cd|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000415734|35192042898928|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000415734|35192044384679|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:637d8f8e-d5f3-465b-9647-0201717b36cd|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
series Sweetest dark
series_with_volume Sweetest dark|2
subject_facet Great Britain -- History -- George V, 1910-1936 -- Fiction, Magic -- Fiction, Medical fiction, Paranormal fiction, American, Prisoners of war -- Fiction, Rescues -- Fiction
title_display The deepest night : a novel
title_full The Deepest Night, The deepest night : a novel / Shana Abé
title_short The deepest night :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Fantasy, Historical Fiction, History, Magic, Medical fiction, Paranormal fiction, American, Prisoners of war, Rescues, Romance, Young Adult Fiction