All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

Speak no evil

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

"A lovely slender volume that packs in entire worlds with complete mastery. Speak No Evil explains so much about our times and yet is never anything less than a scintillating, page-turning read."--Gary Shteyngart

"A wrenching, tightly woven story about many kinds of love and many kinds of violence. Speak No Evil probes deeply but also with compassion the cruelties of a loving home. Iweala's characters confront you in close-up, as viscerally, bodily alive as any in contemporary fiction."--Larissa MacFarquhar

In the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences.

On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer--an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders--and the one person who seems not to judge him.

When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed.

In the tradition of Junot Diaz's The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala's second novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake.

A 2018 Indie Next Pick | One of The Millions' Most Anticipated Books of 2018 | One of Bustle's 35 Most Anticipated Fiction Books Of 2018 | One of Paste's 25 Most Anticipated Books of 2018 | One of The Boston Globe's 25 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780061284922
9780062798961
9780062199096
Lexile measure:
960L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 9f3a6128-c4a8-a625-0c97-35757c4f72e6
Full title speak no evil
Author iweala uzodinma
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-23 23:09:43PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-23 03:00:23AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Iweala, Uzodinma,
author_display Uzodinma Iweala
available_at_catalog Bordeaux, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids
collection_catalog New
detailed_location_catalog Bordeaux - Adult New, Edmondson Pike - Adult New, Green Hills - Adult New, Main Library - Adult New, Richland Park - Adult New, Southeast - Adult New
display_description On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer--an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders--and the one person who seems not to judge him. When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed.--from dust jacket.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 9f3a6128-c4a8-a625-0c97-35757c4f72e6
isbn 9780061284922, 9780062199096, 9780062798961
item_details ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457278|Bordeaux - Adult New|Fiction Iweala|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BX||, ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457286|Edmondson Pike - Adult New|Fiction Iweala|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457294|Green Hills - Adult New|Fiction Iweala|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457302|Main Library - Adult New|Fiction Iweala|||1|false|false|||||On Hold Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457310|Richland Park - Adult New|Fiction Iweala|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||RP||, ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457328|Southeast - Adult New|Fiction Iweala|||1|false|false|||||On Hold Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000708557|TT00013744|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F Iwe|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||6F615||, ils:CARL0000708557|TT00014462|Hillsboro High - Teen Fiction|F Iwe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||66435||, overdrive:018c005c-ca18-4b95-a62c-f886f6bef183|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Checked Out||||, overdrive:d5a74e75-b6f2-46a4-8828-d478829287d1|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-23T08:00:23.304Z
lexile_score 960
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Iweala
local_time_since_added_catalog Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bordeaux, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780061284922
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:CARL0000708557|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|[2018]|214 pages ; 24 cm, overdrive:018c005c-ca18-4b95-a62c-f886f6bef183|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2018|, overdrive:d5a74e75-b6f2-46a4-8828-d478829287d1|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HarperCollins|2018|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457278|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457286|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457294|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457302|Currently Unavailable|On Hold Shelf|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457310|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457328|Currently Unavailable|On Hold Shelf|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:018c005c-ca18-4b95-a62c-f886f6bef183|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:d5a74e75-b6f2-46a4-8828-d478829287d1|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Gay teenagers -- Fiction, Nigerian Americans -- Fiction, Sexual orientation -- Fiction, Washington (D.C.) -- Fiction
title_display Speak no evil : a novel
title_full Speak No Evil, Speak No Evil A Novel, Speak no evil : a novel / Uzodinma Iweala
title_short Speak no evil :
title_sub
topic_facet African American Fiction, Fiction, Gay teenagers, Literature, Nigerian Americans, Sexual orientation