The dead shall not rest: Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery Series, Book 2

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
The brilliant anatomist Dr. Thomas Silkstone returns in Tessa Harris's vivid and compelling mystery series set in 1780s London. . . It is not just the living who are prey to London's criminals and cutpurses. Corpses, too, are fair game--dug up from fresh graves and sold to unscrupulous men of science. Dr. Thomas Silkstone abhors such methods, but his leading rival, Dr. John Hunter, has learned of the imminent death of eight-foot-tall Charles Byrne, known as the "Irish Giant," and will go to any lengths to obtain the body for his research. Thomas intends to see that Byrne is allowed to rest in peace. Yet his efforts are complicated by concern for his betrothed, Lady Lydia Farrell, who breaks off their engagement without explanation. When Dr. Hunter is implicated in the horrific murder of a young castrato, Thomas must determine how far the increasingly erratic surgeon will go in the name of knowledge. For as Thomas knows too well, the blackest hearts sometimes go undetected--and even an unblemished façade can hide terrifying secrets. . . Praise for The Anatomist's Apprentice "Densely plotted. . . We await--indeed, demand--the sequel." -- The New York Times Book Review "An absorbing debut. . . Harris has more than a few tricks up her sleeve and even veteran armchair puzzle solvers are likely to be surprised." -- Publishers Weekly "Smart misdirection and time-period appropriate medical details make for a promising start to a new series. A strong choice for readers of Ariana Franklin and Caleb Carr." -- Library Journal "CSI meets the Age of Reason with a well-drawn, intriguing cast of characters, headed by the brilliant Dr. Thomas Silkstone. Full of twists and turns, Tessa Harris's debut mystery can confound the most adept reader. Vivid details pulled me right into the world of early forensic sleuthing. A page turner!" --Karen Harper "Intricate forensic details and a host of intriguing characters drive the story. The author will have you flipping the pages at each unexpected turn in the plot. . .an absorbing read with a shocking twist at the end." -- Historical Novel Reviews "Tessa Harris has delivered a deftly plotted debut. Just when you think the puzzle is solved, she reveals yet another surprising twist which leaves you marveling at her ingenuity." --Carol Carr, author of India Black and The Widow of Windsor A READING GROUP GUIDE Discussion Questions 1. What are the parallels between the powerful physicians in the novel and the multinational drug companies of today? 2. How does Thomas develop as a character in this, the second book in the series? 3. Does the course of the War of Independence affect any attitudes toward Thomas in this book? 4. Anatomists in the eighteenth century found corpses so hard to come by that they were forced to turn to grave robbers for a regular supply. Nowadays, more people donate their bodies to science. Would you? 5. Should organ donation be made compulsory? 6. Freak shows have long been considered an affront to human dignity, but in an age with little social welfare, what was the alternative for the severely disabled? 7. Charles Byrne and Count Boruwlaski both have major disabilities but are treated in very different ways. Why is this so, and how would they be treated today? 8. How far do revelations about Lydia's past go to explain her submissive character? 9. Was John Hunter a medical visionary or an evil obsessive? 10. Charles Byrne's skeleton remains on display in the Hunterian Museum in London to this day. Should he be given a proper burial?
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780758266996
9780758286222
9781481592512
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID a0448301-f736-bad1-fc07-7f6bee74d447
Grouping Title dead shall not rest
Grouping Author harris tessa
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-22 23:11:40PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-22 00:15:32AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Harris, Tessa.
author_display Harris, Tessa
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description It is not just the living who are prey to 1780s London's criminals and cutpurses. Corpses, too, are fair game - dug up from fresh graves and sold to men of science for dissection. Dr. Thomas Silkstone's unscrupulous rival, Dr. John Hunter, has learned of the imminent death of eight-foot-tall Charles Byrne, known as the "Irish Giant," and is obsessed with obtaining the body for his research. When Dr. Hunter is implicated in the horrific murder of a young castrato, Thomas must determine how far the increasingly erratic surgeon will go in the name of knowledge. For as Thomas knows, the blackest hearts sometimes go undetected until it's too late.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id a0448301-f736-bad1-fc07-7f6bee74d447
isbn 9780758266996, 9780758286222, 9781481592512
item_details ils:CARL0000401869|35192043483142|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Harris|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:cd917693-9842-484d-9f04-09f3919c0415|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:f0205d08-55d1-4257-91c8-2f74e9f80c63|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-22T05:15:32.751Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Novels
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Harris
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780758266996
publishDate 2012, 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000401869|Book|Books||English|Kensington Publishing,|c2013.|viii, 338 p. ; 21 cm., overdrive:cd917693-9842-484d-9f04-09f3919c0415|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Blackstone Publishing|2012|, overdrive:f0205d08-55d1-4257-91c8-2f74e9f80c63|eBook|eBook||English|Kensington|2012|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000401869 35192043483142 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:f0205d08-55d1-4257-91c8-2f74e9f80c63 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:cd917693-9842-484d-9f04-09f3919c0415 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Dr. Thomas Silkstone mysteries
series_with_volume Dr. Thomas Silkstone mysteries|2
subject_facet Detective and mystery stories, English, Historical fiction, English, London (England) -- History -- 18th century -- Fiction, London (England) -- Social life and customs -- 18th century -- Fiction, Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction, Physicians -- Fiction, Private investigators -- Fiction, Surgeons -- Fiction
title_display The dead shall not rest
title_full The Dead Shall Not Rest Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery Series, Book 2, The dead shall not rest / Tessa Harris
title_short The dead shall not rest
title_sub Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery Series, Book 2
topic_facet Detective and mystery stories, English, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Historical fiction, English, History, Investigation, Murder, Mystery, Physicians, Private investigators, Social life and customs, Surgeons