All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

Augustus

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves' I, Claudius," "Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs. A mere eighteen years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power-Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony-young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor. Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, "Augustus" tells the story of one man's dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781590178218
9781590178225
9781400076734
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID a46a0e2b-0c84-dc1b-48c8-603156faef27
Full title augustus
Author williams john
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-22 22:53:33PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-22 23:49:44PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Williams, John (John Edward), 1922-1994.
author_display Williams, John
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description WINNER OF THE 1973 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD
By the Author of Stoner

In Augustus, his third great novel, John Williams took on an entirely new challenge, a historical narrative set in classical Rome, exploring the life of the founder of the Roman Empire. To tell the story, Williams turned to the epistolary novel, a genre that was new to him, transforming and transcending it just as he did the western in Butcher's Crossing and the campus novel in Stoner. Augustus is the final triumph of a writer who has come to be recognized around the world as an American master.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id a46a0e2b-0c84-dc1b-48c8-603156faef27
isbn 9781400076734, 9781590178218, 9781590178225
item_details ils:CARL0000277309|35192035214828|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction William|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:1ca348fd-2d23-4446-b0ae-4c61639533b5|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-23T04:49:44.136Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction William
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9781590178218
publishDate 2004, 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000277309|Book|Books|1st Vintage International ed.|English|Vintage International,|2004.|xiii, 317 p. ; 21 cm., overdrive:1ca348fd-2d23-4446-b0ae-4c61639533b5|eBook|eBook||English|New York Review Books|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000277309|35192035214828|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:1ca348fd-2d23-4446-b0ae-4c61639533b5|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Augustus, -- Emperor of Rome, -- 63 B.C.-14 A.D. -- Fiction, Emperors -- Fiction, Rome -- History -- Augustus, 30 B.C.-14 A.D. -- Fiction
title_display Augustus
title_full Augustus, Augustus / John Williams
title_short Augustus
title_sub
topic_facet Augustus, Emperors, Fiction, Historical Fiction, History, Literature