All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

Nightfall

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light in this gripping and eerie survival story, perfect for fans of James Dashner and Neil Gaiman. On Marin's island, sunrise doesn't come every twenty-four hours--it comes every twenty-eight years . Now the sun is just a sliver of light on the horizon. The weather is turning cold and the shadows are growing long. Because sunset triggers the tide to roll out hundreds of miles, the islanders are frantically preparing to sail south, where they will wait out the long Night. Marin and her twin brother, Kana, help their anxious parents ready the house for departure. Locks must be taken off doors. Furniture must be arranged. Tables must be set. The rituals are puzzling--bizarre, even--but none of the adults in town will discuss why it has to be done this way. Just as the ships are about to sail, a teenage boy goes missing--the twins' friend Line. Marin and  Kana are the only ones who know the truth about where Line's gone, and the only way to rescue him is by doing it themselves. But Night is falling. Their island is changing. And it may already be too late.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780399175800
9781101925966
9780698405561
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.1, 12 Points
Lexile measure:
690L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID accbaa14-819f-3201-6894-cdb0f82fdf73
Full title nightfall
Author halpern jake
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-22 22:53:33PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-21 23:55:05PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 12
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.1
auth_author2 Kujawinski, Peter.
author Jake Halpern
author2-role Kujawinski, Peter.
author_display Halpern, Jake
available_at_catalog Goodlettsville, Hadley Park, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction, Hadley Park - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction, Southeast - Teen Fiction
display_description "On a distant island where day and night exist on fourteen-year cycles, and the islanders migrate south each sunset, three children get left behind and must find a way off the island before the Night finds them"-- On the island, sunrise doesn't come every twenty-four hours-- it comes every twenty-eight years. The weather is turning cold and the shadows are growing long; the islanders are frantically preparing to sail south, where they will wait out the long Night. Marin and her twin brother, Kana, help ready the house for departure. Locks must be taken off doors. Furniture must be arranged. Tables must be set. The rituals are bizarre but none of the adults in town will discuss why it has to be done this way. When one of their friends goes missing just as the ships are about to sail, the twins know the only way to rescue him is by doing it themselves. But Night is falling...
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id accbaa14-819f-3201-6894-cdb0f82fdf73
isbn 9780399175800, 9780698405561, 9781101925966
item_details ils:CARL0000469189|35192047935121|Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Halpern|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000469189|35192047935139|Hadley Park - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Halpern|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HP||, ils:CARL0000469189|35192047935147|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Halpern|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000469189|35192047935154|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Halpern|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000469189|A02059500|West End Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4V770||, ils:CARL0000469189|A02138125|West End Middle - Teen Fiction|Y HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4V770||, ils:CARL0000469189|B00758740|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000469189|B00758741|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000469189|FF00106151|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|HOR F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000469189|MK10134568|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000469189|MK10134569|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000469189|MK10134571|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|F F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000469189|MK10134572|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000469189|MK10134573|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000469189|MK10134575|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000469189|MK10134576|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000469189|MK10134577|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000469189|MK10134578|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, ils:CARL0000469189|MK10134579|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000469189|MK10134583|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000469189|MK10134584|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F HAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000469189|MK10181167|Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction|F Hal|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||4M551||, overdrive:9f86b0d5-0347-4d01-8743-6dbe8b475dea|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:bc5fd90d-72c7-4767-accf-e12d432a7428|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-22T04:55:05.224Z
lexile_score 690
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Halpern
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Goodlettsville, Hadley Park, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780399175800
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000469189|Book|Books||English|G.P. Putnam's Sons,|[2015]|346 pages : illustrations, maps, music ; 22 cm., overdrive:9f86b0d5-0347-4d01-8743-6dbe8b475dea|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2015|, overdrive:bc5fd90d-72c7-4767-accf-e12d432a7428|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Young Readers Group|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000469189|35192047935121|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000469189|35192047935139|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000469189|35192047935147|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000469189|35192047935154|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:9f86b0d5-0347-4d01-8743-6dbe8b475dea|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:bc5fd90d-72c7-4767-accf-e12d432a7428|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Fantasy fiction, American, Survival -- Fiction
title_display Nightfall
title_full Nightfall, Nightfall / Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski
title_short Nightfall
title_sub
topic_facet Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, American, Horror, Juvenile Fiction, Juvenile Literature, Science Fiction, Survival, Young Adult Fiction