Hadley Park Branch Library is closed Saturday, October 19.

Small Walt

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers,
Pub. Date:
2017.
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Description
"It's a perfect book for revving up small helpers to pitch in with the shoveling."-- The Wall Street Journal "Charming and endearing." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "The grit of The Little Engine that Could , the nostalgic illustrations of Katy and the Big Snow , and a touch of modernity from an accomplished author and illustrator, combine to become Small Walt ." -- School Library Journal A tiny snowplow determined to prove his worth battles a blizzard in this supremely charming story in the tradition of Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel and The Little Engine that Could . My name is Walt, I plow and I salt. They say I'm small, but I'll show them all. Small Walt and his driver, Gus, take on a blizzard! All the bigger snowplows doubt that Walt has what it takes to plow the roads in the storm, but Walt is determined to prove them wrong. Brimming with onomatopoeia and Walt's affirming chants, this sweet picture book shows that when it comes to strength, size doesn't matter. Bestselling illustrator Marc Rosenthal's wintry scenes make this book the perfect cozy read-aloud.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781481448451
Reading Level:
LG
Level 2.4, 0.5 Points
Lexile measure:
490L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ae5b1ef7-864c-72bc-64fe-a5e1a4e842ac
Grouping Title small walt
Grouping Author verdick elizabeth
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-15 23:15:01PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-15 11:12:47AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level LG
accelerated_reader_point_value 0.5
accelerated_reader_reading_level 2.4
auth_author2 Rosenthal, Marc, 1949-
author Verdick, Elizabeth,
author2-role Rosenthal, Marc,1949-illustrator.
author_display Verdick, Elizabeth
available_at_catalog Bordeaux
Richland Park
collection_catalog Easy
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Kids Easy
Bordeaux - Kids Easy
Main Library - Kids Easy
Richland Park - Kids Easy
display_description Small Walt is the smallest snow plow in the fleet and he always gets picked last, but when there is a big snowstorm in the city, he will have the chance to prove his worth.
format_catalog Book
format_category_catalog Books
id ae5b1ef7-864c-72bc-64fe-a5e1a4e842ac
isbn 9781481448451
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290872 A. Z. Kelley Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 25496
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290294 Bellshire Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 12135
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290876 Robert E Lillard Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 26500
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290912 Stanford Montessori Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2Q690
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290882 Maxwell Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2B552
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290308 Robert Churchwell Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2Z784
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290300 Ida B. Wells Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 15175
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290924 Warner Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2W755
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290312 Cole Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1B225
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290906 Rosebank Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2M670
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290922 Una Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2V735
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290330 Glencliff Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1L320
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290326 Thomas A. Edison Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2D575
ils:CARL0000690541 35192050150360 Main Library - Kids Easy E Verdick 1 false false Checked Out MN
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290874 Lakeview Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 11122
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290880 Ruby Major Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 29522
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290892 Napier Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2F590
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290296 Norman Binkley Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false Checked Out 13145
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290918 Tulip Grove Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2T717
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290886 Dan Mills Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2C560
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290324 Eakin Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1H280
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290888 Moss Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1J310
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290862 Inglewood Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 20455
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290870 Tom Joy Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 24495
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290858 Hickman Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1Y420
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290316 Crieve Hall Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1D235
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290878 Lockeland Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 28520
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290304 Chadwell Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 18200
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290914 Stratton Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2R710
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290894 Neely's Bend Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2G595
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290898 Paragon Mills Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2I618
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290332 Glendale Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1M330
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290890 Mt. View Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2E576
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290314 Hattie Cotton Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1C230
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290322 Dupont Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1G265
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290866 Joelton Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 22465
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290868 Jones Paideia Magnet Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false Checked Out 23485
ils:CARL0000690541 35192050150329 Bellevue - Kids Easy E Verdick 1 false false Checked Out BL
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290345 Harpeth Valley Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1V395
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290346 Haywood Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1W405
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290904 Percy Priest Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2L650
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290931 Cane Ridge Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 16184
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290302 Lawrence Carter Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 17185
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290928 Whitsitt Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 30790
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290306 Charlotte Park Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 19205
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290937 Waverly-Belmont Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2X765
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290340 Goodlettsville Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1Q350
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290910 Shwab Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2O685
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290292 Amqui Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 10105
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290926 Westmeade Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2Y775
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290341 Gower Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1R360
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290857 Hermitage Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1X415
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290334 Glengarry Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1N335
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290310 Cockrill Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1A215
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290902 Pennington Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2K640
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290934 Smith Springs Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2P686
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290916 Sylvan Park Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2S715
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290342 Granbery Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1S370
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290344 Julia Green Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1U380
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290900 Park Avenue Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2J620
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290864 Andrew Jackson Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 21460
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290884 McGavock Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2A530
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290920 Tusculum Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2U725
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290896 Old Center Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2H610
ils:CARL0000690541 35192050150337 Bordeaux - Kids Easy E Verdick 1 false false On Shelf BX
ils:CARL0000690541 MK10202415 Eagle View Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 31278
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290298 Buena Vista Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 14165
ils:CARL0000690541 FF00154569 Glengarry Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1N335
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290336 Murrell @ Glenn - Teen Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 75585
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290908 Shayne Elementary - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 2N682
ils:CARL0000690541 35192050150352 Richland Park - Kids Easy E Verdick 1 false false On Shelf RP
ils:CARL0000690541 QQ00290860 Hull-Jackson Montessori - Everyone E Ver 1 false false On Shelf 1Z451
itype_catalog Book
last_indexed 2019-10-15T16:12:47.483Z
lexile_score 490
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog E Verdick
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Bordeaux
Main Kids
Main Library
Richland Park
primary_isbn 9781481448451
publishDate 2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000690541 Book Books First edition. English Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2017. 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 24 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000690541 35192050150360 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000690541 35192050150329 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000690541 35192050150337 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000690541 35192050150352 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Picture books
Size -- Fiction
Snowplows -- Fiction
Snowplows -- Juvenile fiction
Stories in rhyme
Stories in rhyme -- Juvenile fiction
title_display Small Walt
title_full Small Walt / story by Elizabeth Verdick ; illustrated by Marc Rosenthal
title_short Small Walt
topic_facet Size
Snowplows
Stories in rhyme