The gracekeepers: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For readers of The Night Circus and Station Eleven , a lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance. In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland ("landlockers") and those who float on the sea ("damplings"), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives--offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.  Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780553446616
9781101890592
9780553446630
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID b043e9c6-1846-4156-0fca-a6bc76375ba6
Grouping Title gracekeepers
Grouping Author logan kirsty
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-19 23:26:08PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-20 00:18:38AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Logan, Kirsty,
author_display Logan, Kirsty
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Adult Fiction, Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description "As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance. In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland ('landlockers') and those who float on the sea ('damplings'), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives"--Amazon.com.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id b043e9c6-1846-4156-0fca-a6bc76375ba6
isbn 9780553446616, 9780553446630, 9781101890592
item_details ils:CARL0000460454|35192047481407|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Logan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000460454|35192047481423|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Logan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:56dc65d2-a188-44e6-92f1-757f6ff81040|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:ed57af51-9b3c-48f0-a643-ef3680a98e28|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-20T05:18:38.039Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Logan
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780553446616
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000460454|Book|Books|First American edition.|English|Crown Publishers,|[2015]|308 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:56dc65d2-a188-44e6-92f1-757f6ff81040|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2015|, overdrive:ed57af51-9b3c-48f0-a643-ef3680a98e28|eBook|eBook||English|Crown/Archetype|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:ed57af51-9b3c-48f0-a643-ef3680a98e28 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000460454 35192047481407 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000460454 35192047481423 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:56dc65d2-a188-44e6-92f1-757f6ff81040 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Circus performers -- Fiction, Fantasy fiction, Scottish, Funeral rites and ceremonies -- Fiction, Undertakers and undertaking -- Fiction
title_display The gracekeepers : a novel
title_full The Gracekeepers A Novel, The gracekeepers : a novel / Kirsty Logan
title_short The gracekeepers :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Circus performers, Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, Scottish, Fiction, Funeral rites and ceremonies, Literature, Mythology, Undertakers and undertaking