The heart and mind of Frances Pauley

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Holm's The Fourteenth Goldfish and Holly Goldberg Sloan's Counting by 7s , this heartfelt, deeply moving middle-grade debut features an offbeat girl who learns that she can remain true to herself while also letting others in. Eleven-year-old Frances is an observer of both nature and people, just like her idol, the anthropologist Margaret Mead. She spends most of her time up on the rocks behind her house in her "rock world," as Alvin, her kindhearted and well-read school bus driver, calls it. It's the one place where Frances can truly be herself, and where she doesn't have to think about her older sister, Christinia, who is growing up and changing in ways that Frances can't understand. But when the unimaginable happens, Frances slowly discovers that perhaps the world outside her rugged, hidden paradise isn't so bad after all, and that maybe--just maybe--she can find connection and camaraderie with the people who have surrounded her all along. Original, accessible, and deeply affecting, April Stevens's middle-grade debut about an unforgettable girl and an unlikely friendship will steal your heart.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781524720629
9780525525509
9781524720612
9781524720636
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.4, 6 Points
Lexile measure:
830L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID b0cec415-4da8-1d95-4d06-ef861b1b3364
Grouping Title heart and mind of frances pauley
Grouping Author stevens april
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-20 23:34:33PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-21 03:44:10AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 6
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.4
author April Stevens
author_display Stevens, April
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Kids Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction, Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction, Green Hills - Kids Fiction, Main Library - Kids Fiction, Southeast - Kids Fiction
display_description This heartfelt, deeply moving middle-grade debut features an offbeat girl who learns that she can remain true to herself while also letting others in.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id b0cec415-4da8-1d95-4d06-ef861b1b3364
isbn 9780525525509, 9781524720612, 9781524720629, 9781524720636
item_details ils:CARL0000714511|TT00013310|Bellshire Elementary - Kids Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||12135||, ils:CARL0000714511|TT00014926|Granbery Elementary - Kids Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||1S370||, ils:CARL0000714511|TT00015043|Paragon Mills Elementary - Kids Fiction|F STE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||2I618||, ils:CARL0000714511|TT00015257|Glenview Elementary - Kids Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||1P345||, ils:CARL0000714983|35192050162811|Bellevue - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Stevens|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000714983|35192050162829|Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Stevens|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000714983|35192050162837|Green Hills - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Stevens|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000714983|35192050162845|Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Stevens|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000714983|35192050162852|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Stevens|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000714983|35192050162860|Southeast - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Stevens|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00780573|J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||4H498||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00780714|Apollo Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||4P577||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00780795|Antioch Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||41111||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00780885|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00780911|Haynes Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4D400||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00781100|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||4S612||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00781595|Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4U730||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00781740|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||4N555||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00781977|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||46260||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00782046|J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||4O563||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00782072|Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||47270||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00782217|Rose Park Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4T675||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00782495|Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||48275||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00782645|McKissack Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4J535||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00782703|Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4M551||, ils:CARL0000714983|B00783319|East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4A296||, ils:CARL0000714983|MK10208771|Eagle View Elementary - Kids Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||31278||, ils:CARL0000714983|QQ00313485|West End Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ste|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||4V770||, overdrive:7ebff837-899f-4d7c-a2de-bd1b29c3bcf5|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:ef659d0d-e702-4fc8-a6c3-fc2335ae7be2|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-21T08:44:10.758Z
lexile_score 830
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction Stevens
local_time_since_added_catalog Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
primary_isbn 9781524720629
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:CARL0000714511|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Schwartz & Wade Books,|[2018]|197 pages ; 22 cm, ils:CARL0000714983|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Schwartz & Wade Books,|[2018]|197 pages ; 22 cm, overdrive:7ebff837-899f-4d7c-a2de-bd1b29c3bcf5|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2018|, overdrive:ef659d0d-e702-4fc8-a6c3-fc2335ae7be2|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2018|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:7ebff837-899f-4d7c-a2de-bd1b29c3bcf5 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000714983 35192050162860 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000714983 35192050162852 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000714983 35192050162829 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000714983 35192050162845 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000714983 35192050162837 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000714983 35192050162811 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
overdrive:ef659d0d-e702-4fc8-a6c3-fc2335ae7be2 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
subject_facet Death -- Fiction, Death -- Juvenile fiction, Friendship -- Fiction, Friendship -- Juvenile fiction, Individuality -- Fiction, Individuality -- Juvenile fiction, Sisters -- Fiction, Sisters -- Juvenile fiction
title_display The heart and mind of Frances Pauley
title_full The Heart and Mind of Frances Pauley, The heart and mind of Frances Pauley / by April Stevens
title_short The heart and mind of Frances Pauley
title_sub
topic_facet Death, Friendship, Individuality, Juvenile Fiction, Juvenile Literature, Sisters