The Defiant

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
An absorbing, breakneck debut YA novel set on the high seas. On a field trip to see famed privateer Francisco Ventana's once-sunken ship, the Defiant, six kids from San Francisco's Greenly School--a last-chance refuge for orphans, troublemakers, and misfits--find themselves stranded at the center of a storm unlike any other. By the time the clouds have cleared, and the strange pink flashes have faded from the sky, the Defiant is out on the open sea, San Francisco ablaze behind it. What follows is an adventure that will change the classmates' lives forever--a journey across a dangerous ocean in search of a new home, with only their instincts and each other to rely on. Can they master the ship? Can they work together, and defend themselves against the unexpected adversaries they encounter on the way? Will they ever find land? You'll have to join their voyage to find out. A remarkable debut in the tradition of Gulliver's Travels and Lord of the Flies, The Defiant creates a world that's all its own--thrilling and wholly original, filled with strange energies and superstitious survivors, and dozens of moments you won't soon forget.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781936365548
9781940450872
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID b1296b4d-1dc5-4287-5efe-e28c80d59d62
Grouping Title defiant
Grouping Author quint m
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-18 14:05:14PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-18 14:06:10PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Padula, Lily,
author M. Quint
author2-role Padula, Lily,illustrator.
author_display Quint, M
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Teen Fiction, Green Hills - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction
display_description "On a field trip to see famed privateer Francisco Ventana's once-sunken ship, the Defiant, six kids from San Francisco's Greenly School--a last-chance refuge for orphans, troublemakers, and misfits--find themselves stranded at the center of a storm unlike any other. By the time the clouds have cleared, and the strange pink flashes have faded from the sky, the Defiant is out on the open sea, San Francisco ablaze behind it. What follows is an adventure that will change the classmates' lives forever--a journey across a dangerous ocean in search of a new home, with only their instincts and each other to rely on. Can they master the ship? Can they work together, and defend themselves against the unexpected adversaries they encounter on the way? Will they ever find land? You'll have to join their voyage to find out."--Book jacket.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id b1296b4d-1dc5-4287-5efe-e28c80d59d62
isbn 9781936365548, 9781940450872
item_details ils:CARL0000471941|35192047940923|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Quint|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000471941|35192047940931|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Quint|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000471941|35192047940949|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Quint|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:9ba9a5db-f8c9-45f6-a8cb-ea1df0b72fa1|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-18T19:06:10.285Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Quint
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9781936365548
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000471941|Book|Books||English|McSweeneys,|[2015]|334 pages ; 21 cm., overdrive:9ba9a5db-f8c9-45f6-a8cb-ea1df0b72fa1|eBook|eBook||English|McSweeney's|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:9ba9a5db-f8c9-45f6-a8cb-ea1df0b72fa1 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000471941 35192047940949 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000471941 35192047940923 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000471941 35192047940931 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Adventure stories, American, Pirates -- Fiction, School field trips -- Fiction, Ships -- Fiction
title_display The Defiant
title_full The Defiant, The Defiant / by M. Quint ; illustrated by Lily Padula
title_short The Defiant
title_sub
topic_facet Adventure stories, American, Juvenile Fiction, Juvenile Literature, Pirates, School field trips, Ships