Lydia's party: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"It is this kind of book: the kind one buys extra copies of to pass out to friends." --Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review) For fans of Anne Tyler and Anna Quindlen, a mesmerizing portrait of friendship that explores seven women's lives with a generous embrace and wondrous wisdom Lydia is having a party--it's a party she hosts every year for six women friends who treasure the midwinter bash. Over a table laden with a feast of food and wine, the women revel in sharing newsy updates, simmering secrets, and laughter. As this particular evening unfolds, Lydia prepares to make a shattering announcement. As we follow these friends through their party preparations, we meet flawed but lovable characters who are navigating the hassles of daily chores while also meditating in stolen moments on their lives, their regrets, their complicated relationships, and their deepest desires. When Lydia's announcement shocks them all, they rediscover the enduring bonds of friendship and find their lives changing in unexpected ways. Tender, wryly funny, and exquisitely written, Lydia's Party poignantly considers both the challenges of everyday life and of facing our fears while creating characters whose foibles and feistiness will capture readers' hearts.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780670015764
9781494522360
9781101635445
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID b42c92e4-9c1f-070d-0056-cac0efdc192f
Grouping Title lydia s party
Grouping Author hawkins margaret
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-18 23:20:17PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-19 00:19:38AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Gavin, Marguerite,
author Hawkins, Margaret, 1954-
author2-role Gavin, Marguerite,narrator., hoopla digital.
author_display Hawkins, Margaret
available_at_catalog Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Southeast - Adult Fiction
display_description "Lydia is having a party, one she hosts every year for a group of six women friends who look forward to the annual midwinter bash that has become a cherished ritual in their lives. Over a table laden with dishes, Lydia prepares to make a shattering announcement. When Lydia's announcement shocks them all they rediscover the enduring bonds of friendship and find their lives changing yet again in new and unexpected ways" --
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id b42c92e4-9c1f-070d-0056-cac0efdc192f
isbn 9780670015764, 9781101635445, 9781494522360
item_details hoopla:MWT11095391||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11095391||Available Online||||, ils:CARL0000425377|35192045094368|Southeast - Adult Fiction|Fiction Hawkins|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, overdrive:2b301515-f710-4993-8751-a214e0a9b625|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:bcc5a00f-b83c-4d5f-8aac-08024ee42330|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-19T05:19:38.701Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Hawkins
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Southeast
primary_isbn 9780670015764
publishDate 2014
record_details hoopla:MWT11095391|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Tantor Audio ,|2014.|1 online resource (1 audio file (7hr., 21 min.)) : digital., ils:CARL0000425377|Book|Books||English|Viking,|[2014]|294 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:2b301515-f710-4993-8751-a214e0a9b625|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Publishing Group|2014|, overdrive:bcc5a00f-b83c-4d5f-8aac-08024ee42330|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Tantor Media|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:bcc5a00f-b83c-4d5f-8aac-08024ee42330 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:2b301515-f710-4993-8751-a214e0a9b625 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000425377 35192045094368 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
hoopla:MWT11095391 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
subject_facet Chicago (Ill.) -- Fiction, Female friendship -- Fiction, Life change events -- Fiction, Middle-aged women -- Fiction, Parties -- Fiction, Psychological fiction, American
title_display Lydia's party : a novel
title_full Lydia's Party, Lydia's Party A Novel, Lydia's party : a novel / Margaret Hawkins, Lydia's party : a novel [electronic resource] / Margaret Hawkins
title_short Lydia's party :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Fantasy, Female friendship, Fiction, Life change events, Literature, Middle-aged women, Parties, Psychological fiction, American