Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

All library locations are closed Thursday, Nov 22 and Friday, Nov 23 for the Thanksgiving holiday.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

A window opens: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"From the beloved books editor at Glamour magazine comes a heartfelt and painfully funny debut about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny--only to learn every opportunity comes at a price. In A Window Opens, Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which she never refers to as "wearing many hats" and wishes you wouldn't, either). She is a mostly-happily married mother of three, an attentive daughter, an ambivalent dog-owner, a part-time editor, a loyal neighbor, and a Zen commuter. She is not: a cook, a craftswoman, a decorator, an active PTA member, a natural caretaker, or the breadwinner. But when her husband makes a radical career change, Alice is ready to lean in--and she knows exactly how lucky she is to land a job at Scroll, a hip young start-up which promises to be the future of reading, with its chain of chic literary lounges and dedication to beloved classics. The Holy Grail of working mothers--an intellectually satisfying job and a happy personal life--seems suddenly within reach. Despite the disapproval of her best friend, who owns the local bookstore, Alice is proud of her new "balancing act" (which is more like a three-ring circus) until her dad gets sick, her marriage flounders, her babysitter gets fed up, her kids start to grow up, and her work takes an unexpected turn. Fans of I Don't Know How She Does It, Where'd You Go Bernadette, and The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry will cheer as Alice realizes the question is not whether it's possible to have it all, but what does she--Alice Pearse--really want?"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781501105456
9781501105432
9781442387980
144238798
9781501105463
9781442387997
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID b6af907a-ee05-7916-382d-9dd825bd2636
Grouping Title window opens
Grouping Author egan elisabeth
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-18 02:27:40AM
Last Indexed 2018-11-18 03:26:18AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Whelan, Julia, 1984-
author Elisabeth Egan
author2-role Whelan, Julia,1984-
author_display Egan, Elisabeth
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Adult Audiobook, Green Hills - Adult Fiction, Inglewood - Adult Audiobook, Inglewood - Adult Fiction, Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description "From the beloved books editor at Glamour magazine comes a heartfelt and painfully funny debut about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny--only to learn every opportunity comes at a price. In A Window Opens, Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which she never refers to as "wearing many hats" and wishes you wouldn't, either). She is a mostly-happily married mother of three, an attentive daughter, an ambivalent dog-owner, a part-time editor, a loyal neighbor, and a Zen commuter. She is not: a cook, a craftswoman, a decorator, an active PTA member, a natural caretaker, or the breadwinner. But when her husband makes a radical career change, Alice is ready to lean in--and she knows exactly how lucky she is to land a job at Scroll, a hip young start-up which promises to be the future of reading, with its chain of chic literary lounges and dedication to beloved classics. The Holy Grail of working mothers--an intellectually satisfying job and a happy personal life--seems suddenly within reach. Despite the disapproval of her best friend, who owns the local bookstore, Alice is proud of her new "balancing act" (which is more like a three-ring circus) until her dad gets sick, her marriage flounders, her babysitter gets fed up, her kids start to grow up, and her work takes an unexpected turn. Fans of I Don't Know How She Does It, Where'd You Go Bernadette, and The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry will cheer as Alice realizes the question is not whether it's possible to have it all, but what does she--Alice Pearse--really want?"--
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id b6af907a-ee05-7916-382d-9dd825bd2636
isbn 144238798, 9781442387980, 9781442387997, 9781501105432, 9781501105456, 9781501105463
item_details ils:CARL0000466778|35192047786987|Bellevue - Adult Fiction|Fiction Egan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000466778|35192047787001|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Egan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000466778|35192047787043|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Egan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000466778|35192048171098|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Egan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000466778|35192048171106|Inglewood - Adult Fiction|Fiction Egan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, ils:CARL0000470277|35192092160773|Inglewood - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Egan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, ils:CARL0000470277|35192092160799|Edmondson Pike - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Egan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, overdrive:b99e5712-a86d-4c02-955c-4322334b6c06|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||, overdrive:f9f7df9b-8bb1-48c4-9391-c9ca5ab7ddc5|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book
last_indexed 2018-11-18T09:26:18.499Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Egan, Fiction Egan
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9781501105456
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000466778|Book|Books||English|Simon & Schuster,|2015.|370 pages ; 24 cm., ils:CARL0000470277|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Simon & Schuster Audio,|[2015]|10 sound discs (11 hr., 41 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:b99e5712-a86d-4c02-955c-4322334b6c06|eBook|eBook||English|Simon & Schuster|2015|, overdrive:f9f7df9b-8bb1-48c4-9391-c9ca5ab7ddc5|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Simon & Schuster Audio|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000466778 35192048171098 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000466778 35192047787043 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000466778 35192047787001 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000466778 35192047786987 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000466778 35192048171106 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:f9f7df9b-8bb1-48c4-9391-c9ca5ab7ddc5 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000470277 35192092160799 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000470277 35192092160773 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:b99e5712-a86d-4c02-955c-4322334b6c06 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
subject_facet Audiobooks, Career development -- Fiction, Humorous stories, American, Working mothers -- Fiction
title_display A window opens : a novel
title_full A Window Opens A Novel, A window opens : a novel / Elisabeth Egan, A window opens [sound recording] / Elisabeth Egan
title_short A window opens :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Audiobooks, Career development, Fiction, Humorous stories, American, Literature, Working mothers