Code girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(3)
3 star
 
(3)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Hidden Figures and The Girls of Atomic City , Code Girls is the amazing true story of the young American women who cracked German and Japanese military codes during World War II. More than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II, recruited by the U.S. Army and Navy. While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to the nation's capital to learn the top secret art of code breaking. Through their work, the "code girls" helped save countless lives and were vital in ending the war. But due to the top secret nature of their accomplishments, these women have never been able to talk about their story--until now. Through dazzling research and countless interviews with the surviving code girls, Liza Mundy brings their story to life with zeal, grace, and passion. Abridged and adapted for a middle grade audience, Code Girls brings this important story to young readers for the first time, showcasing this vital story of American courage, service, and scientific accomplishment.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780316352536
9781478996569
9781478996552
9781478922704
9780316439893
9780316352499
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ba96991f-0579-7a0a-6d00-9577aa74edb5
Grouping Title code girls the untold story of the american women code breakers of world war ii
Grouping Author mundy liza
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-06-16 22:53:13PM
Last Indexed 2019-06-17 02:50:50AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Bennett, Erin,
author Liza Mundy
author2-role Bennett, Erin,narrator.
author_display Liza Mundy
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Inglewood, Richland Park
collection_catalog Audiobook, Large Print, Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Large Print, Bellevue - Adult Non-Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Large Print, Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction, Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction, Inglewood - Adult Audiobook, Main Library - Adult Large Print, Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction, Richland Park - Adult Audiobook
display_description Recruited by the U.S. Army and Navy from small towns and elite colleges, more than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II. While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to Washington and learned the meticulous work of code-breaking. Their efforts shortened the war, saved countless lives, and gave them access to careers previously denied to them.
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, Large Print, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id ba96991f-0579-7a0a-6d00-9577aa74edb5
isbn 9780316352499, 9780316352536, 9780316439893, 9781478922704, 9781478996552, 9781478996569
item_details ils:CARL0000689926|35192050122864|Bellevue - Adult Large Print|940.548673 M9658c Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000689926|35192050122872|Green Hills - Adult Large Print|940 .548673 M9658c Large Type|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000689926|35192050122880|Main Library - Adult Large Print|940 .548673 M9658c Large Type|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000689927|35192050118573|Bellevue - Adult Non-Fiction|940.548673 M9658c|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000689927|35192050118581|Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction|940.548673 M9658c|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||EP||, ils:CARL0000689927|35192050118599|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|940.548673 M9658c|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000689927|35192050118607|Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction|940 .548673 M9658c|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||HM||, ils:CARL0000689927|35192050118615|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|940.548673 M9658c|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000689927|QQ00302819|Hillwood High - Teen Non-Fiction|940.54 Mun|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000689927|QQ00302830|Cane Ridge High - Teen Non-Fiction|940.54 Mun|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000689927|QQ00302841|Glencliff High - Teen Non-Fiction|940.54 Mun|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000689927|QQ00303343|Antioch High - Teen Non-Fiction|940.54 Mun|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000689927|QQ00303371|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Non-Fiction|940.54 Mun|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000689927|QQ00303388|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Non-Fiction|940.54 Mun|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000689927|QQ00303408|McGavock High - Teen Non-Fiction|940.54 Mun|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000689927|QQ00303418|Overton High - Teen Non-Fiction|940.54 Mun|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000689927|QQ00303431|Cameron College Prep - Teen Non-Fiction|940.54 Mun|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||71181||, ils:CARL0000689927|QQ00308601|Whites Creek High - Teen Non-Fiction|940.54 Mun|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000689927|QQ00312052|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Non-Fiction|940.54 Mun|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000689928|35192050123086|Inglewood - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO 940 .548673 M9658c|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, ils:CARL0000689928|35192050123102|Richland Park - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO 940 .548673 M9658c|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, overdrive:0920dec8-118f-45ec-899b-73e52c653178|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|4|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:1f6562fb-198b-4c2b-a38d-c66f2514204e|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|4|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book, Large Print Book
last_indexed 2019-06-17T07:50:50.365Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 940 .548673 M9658c, 940 .548673 M9658c Large Type, 940.548673 M9658c, 940.548673 M9658c Large Type, CD AUDIO 940 .548673 M9658c
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park
primary_isbn 9780316352536
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:CARL0000689926|Large Print|Books|Large print edition, First edition.|English|Hachette Books,|2017.|xiv, 620 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm, ils:CARL0000689927|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Hachette Books,|2017.|416 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm, ils:CARL0000689928|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Hachette Book Group,|[2017]|12 audio discs (14 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 computer disc (PDF ; 4 3/4 in.), overdrive:0920dec8-118f-45ec-899b-73e52c653178|eBook|eBook||English|Hachette Books|2017|, overdrive:1f6562fb-198b-4c2b-a38d-c66f2514204e|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Blackstone Publishing|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:0920dec8-118f-45ec-899b-73e52c653178 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000689928 35192050123102 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000689928 35192050123086 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000689927 35192050118599 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000689927 35192050118581 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000689927 35192050118615 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000689927 35192050118573 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000689927 35192050118607 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000689926 35192050122880 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000689926 35192050122864 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000689926 35192050122872 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
overdrive:1f6562fb-198b-4c2b-a38d-c66f2514204e -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
subject_facet Audiobooks, Cryptographers -- United States -- History -- 20th century, Cryptography -- United States -- History -- 20th century, Large type books, World War, 1939-1945 -- Cryptography, World War, 1939-1945 -- Participation, Female
title_display Code girls : the untold story of the American women code breakers of World War II
title_full Code Girls The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II, Code girls : the untold story of the American women code breakers of World War II / Liza Mundy
title_short Code girls :
title_sub The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II
topic_facet Cryptographers, Cryptography, History, Large type books, Military, Nonfiction, Participation, Female, Women's Studies, World War, 1939-1945