Code girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(4)
3 star
 
(3)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Hidden Figures and The Girls of Atomic City , Code Girls is the amazing true story of the young American women who cracked German and Japanese military codes during World War II. More than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II, recruited by the U.S. Army and Navy. While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to the nation's capital to learn the top secret art of code breaking. Through their work, the "code girls" helped save countless lives and were vital in ending the war. But due to the top secret nature of their accomplishments, these women have never been able to talk about their story--until now. Through dazzling research and countless interviews with the surviving code girls, Liza Mundy brings their story to life with zeal, grace, and passion. Abridged and adapted for a middle grade audience, Code Girls brings this important story to young readers for the first time, showcasing this vital story of American courage, service, and scientific accomplishment.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780316352536
9781478996569
9781478996552
9781478922704
9780316439893
9780316352499
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ba96991f-0579-7a0a-6d00-9577aa74edb5
Grouping Title code girls the untold story of the american women code breakers of world war ii
Grouping Author mundy liza
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-12-06 12:13:45PM
Last Indexed 2019-12-06 12:14:55PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Bennett, Erin,
author Liza Mundy
author2-role Bennett, Erin,narrator.
author_display Liza Mundy
available_at_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Inglewood
Main Kids
Main Library
collection_catalog Audiobook
Large Print
Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Large Print
Bellevue - Adult Non-Fiction
Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction
Green Hills - Adult Large Print
Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction
Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction
Inglewood - Adult Audiobook
Main Library - Adult Large Print
Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description Recruited by the U.S. Army and Navy from small towns and elite colleges, more than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II. While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to Washington and learned the meticulous work of code-breaking. Their efforts shortened the war, saved countless lives, and gave them access to careers previously denied to them.
format_catalog Book
CD audio book
Large Print
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books
Books
eBook
id ba96991f-0579-7a0a-6d00-9577aa74edb5
isbn 9780316352499
9780316352536
9780316439893
9781478922704
9781478996552
9781478996569
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:0920dec8-118f-45ec-899b-73e52c653178 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 4 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000689928 35192050123086 Inglewood - Adult Audiobook CD AUDIO 940 .548673 M9658c 1 false false On Shelf IN
ils:CARL0000689927 QQ00302830 Cane Ridge High - Teen Non-Fiction 940.54 Mun 1 false false On Shelf 61182
ils:CARL0000689927 QQ00303343 Antioch High - Teen Non-Fiction 940.54 Mun 1 false false On Shelf 60110
ils:CARL0000689927 QQ00308601 Whites Creek High - Teen Non-Fiction 940.54 Mun 1 false false On Shelf 6I787
ils:CARL0000689927 35192050118607 Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction 940 .548673 M9658c 1 false false Checked Out HM
ils:CARL0000689927 35192050118581 Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction 940.548673 M9658c 1 false false On Shelf EP
ils:CARL0000689927 QQ00303408 McGavock High - Teen Non-Fiction 940.54 Mun 1 false false On Shelf 6D532
ils:CARL0000689927 QQ00303388 Hunter's Lane High - Teen Non-Fiction 940.54 Mun 1 false false On Shelf 6A452
ils:CARL0000689927 QQ00302819 Hillwood High - Teen Non-Fiction 940.54 Mun 1 false false On Shelf 67440
ils:CARL0000689927 QQ00303418 Overton High - Teen Non-Fiction 940.54 Mun 1 false false On Shelf 6F615
ils:CARL0000689927 35192050118599 Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction 940.548673 M9658c 1 false false Checked Out GH
ils:CARL0000689927 QQ00303431 Cameron College Prep - Teen Non-Fiction 940.54 Mun 1 false false On Shelf 71181
ils:CARL0000689927 35192050118615 Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction 940.548673 M9658c 1 false false Checked Out MN
ils:CARL0000689927 QQ00312052 MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Non-Fiction 940.54 Mun 1 false false On Shelf 6C497
ils:CARL0000689927 QQ00303371 Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Non-Fiction 940.54 Mun 1 false false On Shelf 6G632
ils:CARL0000689927 QQ00302841 Glencliff High - Teen Non-Fiction 940.54 Mun 1 false false On Shelf 64325
ils:CARL0000689927 35192050118573 Bellevue - Adult Non-Fiction 940.548673 M9658c 1 false false Checked Out BL
ils:CARL0000689926 35192050122872 Green Hills - Adult Large Print 940 .548673 M9658c Large Type 1 false false On Shelf GH
ils:CARL0000689926 35192050122880 Main Library - Adult Large Print 940 .548673 M9658c Large Type 1 false false On Shelf MN
ils:CARL0000689926 35192050122864 Bellevue - Adult Large Print 940.548673 M9658c Large Type 1 false false On Shelf BL
overdrive:1f6562fb-198b-4c2b-a38d-c66f2514204e -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 4 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Checked Out
itype_catalog
Book
CD audio book
Large Print Book
last_indexed 2019-12-06T18:14:55.139Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 940 .548673 M9658c
940 .548673 M9658c Large Type
940.548673 M9658c
940.548673 M9658c Large Type
CD AUDIO 940 .548673 M9658c
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
Inglewood
Main Kids
Main Library
primary_isbn 9780316352536
publishDate 2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:0920dec8-118f-45ec-899b-73e52c653178 eBook eBook English Hachette Books 2017
ils:CARL0000689928 CD audio book Audio Books Unabridged. English Hachette Book Group, [2017] 12 audio discs (14 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 computer disc (PDF ; 4 3/4 in.)
ils:CARL0000689927 Book Books First edition. English Hachette Books, 2017. 416 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm
ils:CARL0000689926 Large Print Books Large print edition, First edition. English Hachette Books, 2017. xiv, 620 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm
overdrive:1f6562fb-198b-4c2b-a38d-c66f2514204e eAudiobook Audio Books English Hachette Book Group 2017
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:0920dec8-118f-45ec-899b-73e52c653178 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000689928 35192050123086 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000689927 35192050118607 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000689927 35192050118581 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000689927 35192050118599 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000689927 35192050118615 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000689927 35192050118573 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000689926 35192050122872 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000689926 35192050122880 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000689926 35192050122864 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:1f6562fb-198b-4c2b-a38d-c66f2514204e -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
subject_facet Audiobooks
Cryptographers -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Cryptography -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Large type books
World War, 1939-1945 -- Cryptography
World War, 1939-1945 -- Participation, Female
title_display Code girls : the untold story of the American women code breakers of World War II
title_full Code Girls The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II
Code girls : the untold story of the American women code breakers of World War II / Liza Mundy
title_short Code girls :
title_sub The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II
topic_facet Cryptographers
Cryptography
History
Large type books
Military
Nonfiction
Participation, Female
Women's Studies
World War, 1939-1945