We set the dark on fire

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

"We Set the Dark on Fire burns bright. It will light the way for a new generation of rebels and lovers." --NPR.org

"Mejia pens a compelling, gripping story that mirrors real world issues of immigration and equality." --Buzzfeed

Five starred reviews!!

In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband's household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school's top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn't prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she's strived for in pursuit of a free Medio--and a chance at a forbidden love?

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062691316
9780062691330
9780062907943
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID bd8142b8-3a4b-891f-a606-9f3421e3b9c3
Grouping Title we set the dark on fire
Grouping Author mejia tehlor kay
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-04-24 13:48:10PM
Last Indexed 2019-04-24 13:49:26PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Tehlor Kay Mejia
author_display Tehlor Kay Mejia
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction, Hermitage - Teen Fiction, Madison - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction, Southeast - Teen Fiction
display_description "Dani must question everything she's worked for as she learns about the corruption of the Median government"-- At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband's household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class. Daniela Vargas is the school's top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society. And school couldn't prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio. Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she's strived for in pursuit of a free Medio - and a chance at a forbidden love?
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id bd8142b8-3a4b-891f-a606-9f3421e3b9c3
isbn 9780062691316, 9780062691330, 9780062907943
item_details ils:CARL0000758809|35192051341075|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Mejia|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||EP||, ils:CARL0000758809|35192051341083|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Mejia|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||HM||, ils:CARL0000758809|35192051341091|Madison - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Mejia|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MA||, ils:CARL0000758809|35192051341109|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Mejia|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000758809|35192051341117|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Mejia|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||SE||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354783|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354792|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||61182||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354797|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||62242||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354808|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||63290||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354813|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354826|Hillsboro High - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||66435||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354829|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|FAN F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354834|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354837|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354842|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354849|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354850|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354861|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354874|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||6F615||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354877|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|Fantasy F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354882|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354893|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354898|Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||71181||, ils:CARL0000758809|QQ00354903|Independence Academy - Teen Fiction|F MEJ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||7G457||, overdrive:17c38243-0c18-4f5f-8781-c615a30632b6|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||, overdrive:44e260b1-6cd1-4cad-ba17-379f1c70ec4c|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|3|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2019-04-24T18:49:26.951Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Novels
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Mejia
local_time_since_added_catalog 2 Months, Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Madison, Madison Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780062691316
publishDate 2019
record_details ils:CARL0000758809|Book|Books|First Edition.|English|Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,|[2019]|364 pages ; 22 cm, overdrive:17c38243-0c18-4f5f-8781-c615a30632b6|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2019|, overdrive:44e260b1-6cd1-4cad-ba17-379f1c70ec4c|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Katherine Tegen Books|2019|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000758809 35192051341083 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000758809 35192051341109 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000758809 35192051341117 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000758809 35192051341075 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000758809 35192051341091 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
overdrive:17c38243-0c18-4f5f-8781-c615a30632b6 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:44e260b1-6cd1-4cad-ba17-379f1c70ec4c -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
series We set the dark on fire
series_with_volume We set the dark on fire|1
subject_facet Dystopian fiction, Dystopias -- Fiction, Fantasy fiction, Marriage -- Fiction, Secrets -- Fiction, Social classes -- Fiction
title_display We set the dark on fire
title_full We Set the Dark on Fire, We set the dark on fire / Tehlor Kay Mejia
title_short We set the dark on fire
title_sub
topic_facet Dystopias, Fantasy, Marriage, Romance, Secrets, Social classes, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature