All library locations are closed beginning at 6 PM Wednesday, Nov 27, and reopen for normal hours on Saturday, Nov 30. Happy Thanksgiving!

We set the dark on fire

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

"We Set the Dark on Fire burns bright. It will light the way for a new generation of rebels and lovers." --NPR.org

"Mejia pens a compelling, gripping story that mirrors real world issues of immigration and equality." --Buzzfeed

Five starred reviews!!

In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband's household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school's top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn't prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she's strived for in pursuit of a free Medio--and a chance at a forbidden love?

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062691316
9780062691330
9780062907943
Reading Level:
UG
Level 6.1, 14 Points
Lexile measure:
840L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID bd8142b8-3a4b-891f-a606-9f3421e3b9c3
Grouping Title we set the dark on fire
Grouping Author mejia tehlor kay
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-11-20 22:54:26PM
Last Indexed 2019-11-21 03:53:36AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 14
accelerated_reader_reading_level 6.1
author Tehlor Kay Mejia
author_display Tehlor Kay Mejia
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
Madison
Madison Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction
Hermitage - Teen Fiction
Madison - Teen Fiction
Main Library - Teen Fiction
Southeast - Teen Fiction
display_description "Dani must question everything she's worked for as she learns about the corruption of the Median government"-- At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband's household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class. Daniela Vargas is the school's top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society. And school couldn't prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio. Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she's strived for in pursuit of a free Medio - and a chance at a forbidden love?
format_catalog Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books
Books
eBook
id bd8142b8-3a4b-891f-a606-9f3421e3b9c3
isbn 9780062691316
9780062691330
9780062907943
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354783 Antioch High - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 60110
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354861 Maplewood High - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 6E550
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354813 Glencliff High - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 64325
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354850 McGavock High - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 6D532
ils:CARL0000758809 35192051341075 Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction YA Fiction Mejia 1 false false On Shelf EP
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354898 Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 71181
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354797 Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 62242
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354849 McGavock High - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 6D532
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354893 Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 6I787
ils:CARL0000758809 35192051341117 Southeast - Teen Fiction YA Fiction Mejia 1 false false On Shelf SE
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354808 East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 63290
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354903 Independence Academy - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 7G457
ils:CARL0000758809 35192051341109 Main Library - Teen Fiction YA Fiction Mejia 1 false false On Shelf MN
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354874 Overton High - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 6F615
ils:CARL0000758809 35192051341083 Hermitage - Teen Fiction YA Fiction Mejia 1 false false On Shelf HM
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354842 MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 6C497
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354829 Hillwood High - Teen Fiction FAN F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 67440
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354826 Hillsboro High - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 66435
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354834 Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 69450
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354882 Stratford High - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 6H705
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354792 Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false In Processing 61182
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354877 Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction Fantasy F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 6G632
ils:CARL0000758809 QQ00354837 Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction F MEJ 1 false false On Shelf 6A452
ils:CARL0000758809 35192051341091 Madison - Teen Fiction YA Fiction Mejia 1 false false On Shelf MA
overdrive:17c38243-0c18-4f5f-8781-c615a30632b6 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 2 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
overdrive:44e260b1-6cd1-4cad-ba17-379f1c70ec4c -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 3 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
itype_catalog
Book
last_indexed 2019-11-21T09:53:36.343Z
lexile_score 840
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
Novels
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Mejia
local_time_since_added_catalog Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
Madison
Madison Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
Southeast
primary_isbn 9780062691316
publishDate 2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000758809 Book Books First Edition. English Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2019] 364 pages ; 22 cm
overdrive:17c38243-0c18-4f5f-8781-c615a30632b6 eBook eBook English HarperCollins 2019
overdrive:44e260b1-6cd1-4cad-ba17-379f1c70ec4c eAudiobook Audio Books English Katherine Tegen Books 2019
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000758809 35192051341075 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000758809 35192051341117 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000758809 35192051341109 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000758809 35192051341083 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000758809 35192051341091 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:17c38243-0c18-4f5f-8781-c615a30632b6 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:44e260b1-6cd1-4cad-ba17-379f1c70ec4c -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series We set the dark on fire
series_with_volume We set the dark on fire|1
subject_facet Dystopian fiction
Dystopias -- Fiction
Fantasy fiction
Marriage -- Fiction
Secrets -- Fiction
Social classes -- Fiction
title_display We set the dark on fire
title_full We Set the Dark on Fire
We set the dark on fire / Tehlor Kay Mejia
title_short We set the dark on fire
title_sub
topic_facet Dystopias
Fantasy
Marriage
Romance
Secrets
Social classes
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature