All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

The burning shadow: Gods and Warriors Series, Book 2

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014.
Language:
English
Description
For fans of Nancy Farmer and Lloyd Alexander comes international bestselling author Michelle Paver's second novel in the Bronze Age adventure series.   While searching for his kidnapped sister, Outsider Hylas takes a dangerous detour when he's captured as a slave and sent to the copper mines of Thalakrea. Hylas faces brutal overseers and lethal cave-ins while evading his enemies, the Crows. With the aid of an orphaned lion cub and his friend Pirra, Hylas must escape the mines and shatter the power of the Crows for good. But the prophecy is still at work and Hylas cannot escape its grasp, especially when the anger of the oldest god is awakened.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780142422854
9781101593882
9780803738805
Reading Level:
MG
Level 4.8, 9 Points
Lexile measure:
680L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID be6f231d-7f63-33d0-8d49-0d1f852b8873
Full title burning shadow
Author paver michelle
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-22 12:00:35PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-22 12:02:22PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 9
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.8
author Paver, Michelle,
author_display Paver, Michelle
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Kids Fiction, Main Library - Kids Fiction, Southeast - Kids Fiction
display_description Young Outsider Hylas' search for his missing sister is derailed when he is captured and sold into slavery, placing him in great danger from his mortal enemies, the Crows. Planning his escape, Hylas befriends an orphaned lion cub along with the runaway and cunning Pirra. Together, the three must cast the Crows' sacred dagger into a volcano and destroy their power.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id be6f231d-7f63-33d0-8d49-0d1f852b8873
isbn 9780142422854, 9780803738805, 9781101593882
item_details ils:CARL0000428329|35192042890198|Southeast - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Paver|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000428329|35192045019647|Bellevue - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Paver|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000428329|35192045019670|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Paver|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000428329|B00730558|West End Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAV|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4V770||, ils:CARL0000428329|B00746110|Joelton Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAV|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4G470||, ils:CARL0000428329|B00746228|John Early Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAV|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||49285||, ils:CARL0000428329|QQ00164653|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAV|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000428329|QQ00165071|Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAV|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4U730||, ils:CARL0000428329|QQ00223177|J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction|FAN F PAV|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4O563||, ils:CARL0000660834|FF00130602|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAV|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||46260||, ils:CARL0000660834|FF00156762|Margaret Allen Middle - Teen Fiction|FS Pav|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||40100||, ils:CARL0000660834|MK10141283|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F PAV|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4S612||, overdrive:eb0b469a-1a24-459d-8555-d88c56c29370|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-22T17:02:22.355Z
lexile_score 680
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction Paver
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780142422854
publishDate 2014, 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000428329|Book|Books||English|Dial Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) LLC.,|2014.|291 pages : map ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000660834|Book|Books||English|Puffin Books,|2015.|291, 19 pages : maps ; 20 cm., overdrive:eb0b469a-1a24-459d-8555-d88c56c29370|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Young Readers Group|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000428329|35192042890198|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000428329|35192045019647|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000428329|35192045019670|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:eb0b469a-1a24-459d-8555-d88c56c29370|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
series Gods and warriors
series_with_volume Gods and warriors|2
subject_facet Adventure fiction, Bronze age -- Fiction, Bronze age -- Juvenile fiction, Brothers and sisters -- Fiction, Brothers and sisters -- Juvenile fiction, Gods -- Juvenile fiction, Gods. -- Fiction, Human-animal communication -- Fiction, Human-animal communication -- Juvenile fiction, Kidnapping -- Fiction, Kidnapping -- Juvenile fiction, Mediterranean Region -- History -- To 476 -- Juvenile fiction, Mediterranean Region -- History -- To 476. -- Fiction, Prehistoric peoples -- Juvenile fiction, Prehistoric peoples. -- Fiction, Voyages and travels -- Fiction, Voyages and travels -- Juvenile fiction
title_display The burning shadow
title_full The Burning Shadow Gods and Warriors Series, Book 2, The burning shadow / Michelle Paver
title_short The burning shadow
title_sub Gods and Warriors Series, Book 2
topic_facet Bronze age, Brothers and sisters, Gods, Historical Fiction, History, Human-animal communication, Juvenile Fiction, Juvenile Literature, Kidnapping, Prehistoric peoples, Voyages and travels