Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

All library locations are closed Thursday, Nov 22 and Friday, Nov 23 for the Thanksgiving holiday.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

The house at Sugar Beach: in search of a lost African childhood

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster,
Pub. Date:
2008.
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of A Long Way Gone and Dont Lets Go to the Dogs Tonight, a world-renowned journalist presents a haunting memoir of a war-torn Liberian childhood and her return to her native country, 20 years after her familys flight, to reunite with the foster sister they left behind.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780743266246
9780743266253
Lexile measure:
940L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID bf45af53-2a39-b95a-e5a2-b9c20490aa0d
Grouping Title house at sugar beach in search of a lost african childhood
Grouping Author cooper helene
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-18 02:27:40AM
Last Indexed 2018-11-17 01:32:39AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Cooper, Helene.
author_display Cooper, Helene
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction, Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction, Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction, Richland Park - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description The author traces her childhood in war-torn Liberia and her reunion with a foster sister who had been left behind when her family fled the region.
format_catalog Book
format_category_catalog Books
id bf45af53-2a39-b95a-e5a2-b9c20490aa0d
isbn 9780743266246, 9780743266253
item_details ils:CARL0000303743|35192037633108|Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction|966.6203 C7761h|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000303743|35192037633124|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|966.6203 C7761h|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000303743|35192037718016|Richland Park - Adult Non-Fiction|966.6203 C7761h|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000303743|35192039295401|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|966.6203 C7761h|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000303743|A01875783|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Biography|B COO COO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000303743|B00412599|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Biography|B COO COO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000631295|QQ00145023|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Biography|B COO COO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||
itype_catalog Book
last_indexed 2018-11-17T07:32:39.913Z
lexile_score 940
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 966.6203 C7761h
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park
primary_isbn 9780743266246
publishDate 2008, 2009
record_details ils:CARL0000303743|Book|Books||English|Simon & Schuster,|2008.|354 p. ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000631295|Book|Books|1st Simon & Schuster trade pbk. ed.|English|Simon & Schuster Paperbacks,|2009, c2008.|354 p. : ill., map ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000303743 35192037633124 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000303743 35192037718016 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000303743 35192037633108 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000303743 35192039295401 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Cooper, Helene, Cooper, Helene -- Childhood and youth, Elite (Social sciences) -- Liberia -- Biography, Journalists -- United States -- Biography, Liberia -- Biography, Liberia -- History -- 1971-1980, Liberia -- History -- 1980-, Liberia -- History -- Coup d'état, 1980, Liberia -- History -- Coup d'état, 1980, Liberian Americans -- Biography
title_display The house at Sugar Beach : in search of a lost African childhood
title_full The house at Sugar Beach : in search of a lost African childhood / Helene Cooper
title_short The house at Sugar Beach :
title_sub in search of a lost African childhood
topic_facet Childhood and youth, Cooper, Helene, Elite (Social sciences), History, Journalists, Liberian Americans