Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

All library locations are closed beginning at 6 PM Wednesday, Nov 21, and reopen for normal hours on Saturday, Nov 24. Happy Thanksgiving!

On Sal Mal Lane: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Graywolf Press,
Pub. Date:
c2013.
Language:
English
Description

In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner , a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war

* A Library Journal Best Indie Fiction of 2013 * A Largehearted Boy Best Book of the Year *

On the day the Herath family moves in, Sal Mal Lane is still a quiet street, disturbed only by the cries of the children whose triumphs and tragedies sustain the families that live there. As the neighbors adapt to the newcomers in different ways, the children fill their days with cricket matches, romantic crushes, and small rivalries. But the tremors of civil war are mounting, and the conflict threatens to engulf them all. In a heartrending novel poised between the past and the future, the innocence of the children--a beloved sister and her overprotective siblings, a rejected son and his twin sisters, two very different brothers--contrasts sharply with the petty prejudices of the adults charged with their care. In Ru Freeman's masterful hands, On Sal Mal Lane , a story of what was lost to a country and her people, becomes a resounding cry for reconciliation.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781555976422
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c1a73e4f-c0f5-bd7e-b0bc-7be8540a714a
Grouping Title on sal mal lane
Grouping Author freeman ru
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-04-20 22:52:32PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-20 01:27:13AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Freeman, Ru.
author_display Freeman, Ru
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description Sri Lanka erupted into violence in the 1980s, with people identifying themselves as Tamil or Sinhalese, Hindu or Buddhist, Burgher or Muslim--the conflicts brewed over language policies, territories and curfews. Against this backdrop of sociopolitical unrest, Freeman sets her second novel. The inhabitants of Sal Mal Lane, like a constellation of stars, orbit around the Herath family, whose house is in the middle of the street and whose matriarch embraces the songs and customs of many religions. A devout Buddhist, she nonetheless teaches her children to sing Christian hymns in four-part harmony. Gravity draws first the attention of Mr. Niles, who discerns a troubled soul through Nihil's uncertain voice; then Sonna Bolling, a bully and political thug-in-waiting; then the Silvas, whose own matriarch embraces every bias and prejudice; and later Raju, whose ugly face belies his lovely heart. Utterly devoted to his younger sister, Devi, Nihil negotiates the world of Sal Mal Lane and beyond, learning about Mr. Niles' previous war experience, which has left him chastened, aware that racial distinctions blur, and frightened to witness the rising turmoil.
format_catalog Book
format_category_catalog Books
id c1a73e4f-c0f5-bd7e-b0bc-7be8540a714a
isbn 9781555976422
item_details ils:CARL0000416519|35192044282717|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Freeman|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||
itype_catalog Book
last_indexed 2018-11-20T07:27:13.594Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Freeman
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9781555976422
publishDate 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000416519|Book|Books||English|Graywolf Press,|c2013.|386 p. : ill., map ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000416519 35192044282717 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Children -- Fiction, Conflict of generations -- Fiction, Historical fiction, Sri Lankan, Neighborhoods -- Fiction, Prejudices -- Fiction, Sri Lanka -- History -- Civil War, 1983-2009 -- Fiction
title_display On Sal Mal Lane : a novel
title_full On Sal Mal Lane : a novel / Ru Freeman
title_short On Sal Mal Lane :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Children, Conflict of generations, Historical fiction, Sri Lankan, History, Neighborhoods, Prejudices