The Jaguar: Charlie Hood Series, Book 5

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2012
Language:
English
Description
New York Times bestseller T. Jefferson Parker, crime fiction's most critically acclaimed and award-winning writer continues "the most ground-breaking crime series in decades." ( St. Louis Post- Dispatch ) with another gripping tale of the Mexican border.

Erin McKenna, a beautiful songwriter married to a crooked Los Angeles County sheriff 's deputy, is kidnapped by Benjamin Armenta, the ruthless leader of the powerful Gulf Cartel. But his demands turn out to be as unusual as the crumbling castle in which Erin is kept. She is ordered to compose a unique narcocoriddo, a modern-day folk ballad of the kind that have recorded the exploits of the drug dealers, gunrunners, and outlaws who have highlighted Mexican history for generations. Under threat of death, Armenta orders Erin to tell his life story-in music-and write "the greatest narcocorrido of all time." Allowed to wander the dark hallways of the castle retreat with only a guitar and a mysterious old priest to keep her company, Erin must produce the most beautiful song that these men have ever heard.

As the mesmerizing music and lyrics of Erin's song cascade from the jungle hideout, they serve as a siren song to the two men who love Erin: her outlaw husband, Bradley Smith, and the lawman Charlie Hood- two men who together have the power to rescue her. Here, amid the ancient beauty and haunted landscape of the Yucatecan lowlands, the long-simmering rivalry between these men will be brought closer to its explosive finale.

T. Jefferson Parker, who is widely hailed as his generation's most accomplished and talented crime novelist, delivers a crime thriller that dramatically redefines the landscape of the cartel wars as an epic clash of good and evil.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781611733181
9781101559710
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c2ff7200-d614-d650-0486-4fbcf5edb926
Grouping Title jaguar
Grouping Author parker t jefferson
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-21 23:35:05PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-20 23:29:28PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Parker, T. Jefferson.
author_display Parker, T. Jefferson
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids
collection_catalog Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Large Print
display_description For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, the fifth audacious and white-hot novel in the Charlie Hood series from New York Times bestseller and Edgar-award winner T. Jefferson Parker, author of The Room of White Fire, that redefines the landscape of the thriller and shatters every expectation you ever had about the good guys and the bad...
When Benjamin Armenta, leader of the powerful Gulf Cartel, kidnaps songwriter Erin McKenna, his demands are as unique as the jungle fortress in which Erin is imprisoned. She's ordered to compose a narcocorrido, a folk ballad that will romanticize Armenta as one of the greatest desperadoes in Mexican history. Allowed to wander the hallways of the castle with only a guitar and a mysterious old priest to keep her company, Erin must produce the loveliest song these men have ever heard. Or she'll be skinned alive.
As Erin's music wafts through the jungle, it serves as a siren call to the two men who love her: lawman Charlie Hood and Erin's outlaw husband, Bradley Jones. They have the power to rescue her, but their long-simmering rivalry could very well compromise Erin's deliverance and cause the ending of a life-and-death ballad to be rewritten in blood.
From the Trade Paperback edition.
format_catalog Large Print, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id c2ff7200-d614-d650-0486-4fbcf5edb926
isbn 9781101559710, 9781611733181
item_details ils:CARL0000390275|35192046982629|Bellevue - Adult Large Print|Fiction Parker Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, overdrive:e9196bcb-1a65-40b2-b88e-c6c6ed159ddc|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Large Print Book
last_indexed 2018-07-21T04:29:28.08Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Parker Large Type
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids
primary_isbn 9781611733181
publishDate 2012
record_details ils:CARL0000390275|Large Print|Books|Large print ed.|English|Center Point Large Print,|2012.|464 p. (large print) ; 23 cm., overdrive:e9196bcb-1a65-40b2-b88e-c6c6ed159ddc|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Publishing Group|2012|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:e9196bcb-1a65-40b2-b88e-c6c6ed159ddc -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000390275 35192046982629 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
series Charlie Hood thrillers
series_with_volume Charlie Hood thrillers|5
subject_facet California -- Fiction, Detective and mystery stories, American, Hood, Charlie (Fictitious character) -- Fiction, Large type books, Police -- California, Southern -- Fiction, Suspense fiction, American
title_display The Jaguar
title_full The Jaguar Charlie Hood Series, Book 5, The jaguar [text (large print)] / T. Jefferson Parker
title_short The Jaguar
title_sub Charlie Hood Series, Book 5
topic_facet Detective and mystery stories, American, Fiction, Hood, Charlie (Fictitious character), Large type books, Mystery, Police, Suspense fiction, American