Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

All library locations are closed Thursday, Nov 22 and Friday, Nov 23 for the Thanksgiving holiday.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

The accident season

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For fans of We Were Liars and The Ocean at the End of the Lane comes a haunting magically realistic debut about a family caught between a violent history, a taboo romance, and the mysteries lurking in their own backyard. Every October Cara and her family become inexplicably and unavoidably accident-prone. Some years it's bad, and some years it's just a lot of cuts and scrapes. This accident season--when Cara, her ex-stepbrother, Sam, and her best friend, Bea, are 17--is going to be a bad one. Cara is about to learn that not all the scars left by the accident season are physical: There's a long-hidden family secret underneath the bumps and bruises. This is the year Cara will finally fall desperately in love, when she'll start discovering the painful truth about the adults in her life, and when she'll uncover the dark origins of the accident season--whether she's ready or not. * "Fowley-Doyle's stunning debut novel weaves the temporal and the spiritual into a seamless reality, rich in emotional impact . . . This thought-provoking narrative will cast its spell over older teens and adults alike."-- School Library Journal, starred review * "Ghosts, secrets, and magic collide in this Irish author's astonishing debut . . . a moving portrait of a fractured family, knitting itself back together with courage and love. A powerful novel from an exciting new talent."-- Kirkus, starred review
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525429487
9780698405035
9780147517326
9781101926246
Reading Level:
MG+
Level 5.2, 11 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 810L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c78fa5ab-4d2b-c7e8-c2f1-84468346f48d
Grouping Title accident season
Grouping Author fowley doyle moïra
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-18 02:27:40AM
Last Indexed 2018-11-17 00:23:03AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG+
accelerated_reader_point_value 11
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.2
author Fowley-Doyle, Moïra.
author_display Fowley-Doyle, Moïra
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Old Hickory, Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction, Old Hickory - Teen Fiction, Southeast - Teen Fiction
display_description "Every October Cara and her family become mysteriously and dangerously accident-prone, but this year, the year Cara, her ex-stepbrother, and her best friend are 17, is when Cara will begin to unravel the accident season's dark origins"--Provided by publisher.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id c78fa5ab-4d2b-c7e8-c2f1-84468346f48d
isbn 9780147517326, 9780525429487, 9780698405035, 9781101926246
item_details ils:CARL0000466207|35192047762806|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Fowley|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000466207|35192047762822|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Fowley|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000466207|35192047762855|Old Hickory - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Fowley|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||OH||, ils:CARL0000466207|35192047762871|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Fowley|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000466207|A02101718|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F FOW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000466207|FF00097034|Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction|F FOW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||65397||, ils:CARL0000466207|FF00105428|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F FOW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000466207|FF00105979|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|MYS F FOW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000466207|FF00108195|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F FOW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000466207|FF00109190|Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction|F FOW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||71181||, ils:CARL0000466207|QQ00226768|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F FOW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000466207|TT00009307|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|F G FOW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000681305|FF00135543|Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction|F FOW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4M551||, overdrive:2fcd83b9-53b9-45db-9c93-8e5bbd9324f6|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:84297efb-f4e0-42a7-9c37-63bf0f893454|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-17T06:23:03.584Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 810
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Fowley
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Old Hickory, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780525429487
publishDate 2015, 2016
record_details ils:CARL0000466207|Book|Books||English|Kathy Dawson Books,|[2015]|291 pages ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000681305|Book|Books||English|Speak,|2016.|291, 10 p. ; 21 cm., overdrive:2fcd83b9-53b9-45db-9c93-8e5bbd9324f6|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2015|, overdrive:84297efb-f4e0-42a7-9c37-63bf0f893454|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Young Readers Group|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000466207 35192047762871 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000466207 35192047762822 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000466207 35192047762806 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000466207 35192047762855 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:84297efb-f4e0-42a7-9c37-63bf0f893454 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:2fcd83b9-53b9-45db-9c93-8e5bbd9324f6 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Accidents, Accidents -- Fiction, Families, Families -- Fiction, Family life -- Fiction, Paranormal fiction, Paranormal fiction, Irish
title_display The accident season
title_full The Accident Season, The accident season / Moïra Fowley-Doyle, The accident season / by Moïra Fowley-Doyle
title_short The accident season
title_sub
topic_facet Accidents, Families, Family life, Horror, Paranormal fiction, Irish, Romance, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature