We now automatically renew eligible items for you! Read more in the Renewals section on this page.

The Midnights

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

This voice-driven coming-of-age YA novel is perfect for fans of Katie Cotugno and Playlist for the Dead.

Susannah Hayes has never been in the spotlight, but she dreams of following her father, a former rock star, onto the stage. As senior year begins, she's more interested in composing impressive chord patterns than college essays, certain that if she writes the perfect song, her father might finally look up from the past long enough to see her. But when he dies unexpectedly, her dreams--and her reality--shatter.

While Susannah struggles with grief, her mother uproots them to a new city. There, Susannah realizes she can reinvent herself however she wants: a confident singer-songwriter, member of a hip band, embraced by an effortlessly cool best friend. But Susannah is not the only one keeping secrets, and soon, harsh revelations threaten to unravel her life once again.

Set against the scintillating landscape of Southern California, The Midnights is an evocative coming-of-age debut about loss, creativity, and finding your voice while you're still finding yourself.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062644626
9780062644640
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c8be63e6-62aa-2228-489b-6efe40b651bc
Grouping Title midnights
Grouping Author smetana sarah nicole
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-16 22:54:34PM
Last Indexed 2018-08-17 03:03:02AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Smetana, Sarah Nicole,
author_display Sarah Nicole Smetana
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast, Thompson Lane
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Teen Fiction, Hermitage - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction, Southeast - Teen Fiction, Thompson Lane - Teen Fiction
display_description As her senior year of high school begins, Susannah, who wants to follow in her father's rock music footsteps, is intent on writing the perfect song, until her father's death and a move to a new city threatens her plans for the future.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id c8be63e6-62aa-2228-489b-6efe40b651bc
isbn 9780062644626, 9780062644640
item_details ils:CARL0000709321|35192050478803|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Smetana|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000709321|35192050478811|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Smetana|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000709321|35192050478829|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Smetana|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000709321|35192050478837|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Smetana|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000709321|35192050478845|Thompson Lane - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Smetana|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, ils:CARL0000709321|A02103735|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sme|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000709321|B00781063|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|Realistic F Sme|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000709321|B00781222|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F Sme|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000709321|B00781421|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F Sme|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||6A452||, ils:CARL0000709321|B00781621|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F Sme|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||6I787||, ils:CARL0000709321|B00781944|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F Sme|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||6F615||, ils:CARL0000709321|B00782930|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F Sme|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000709321|B00783351|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F Sme|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, overdrive:1fc522c5-f738-4b16-bffb-4072dd729c43|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-08-17T08:03:02.984Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Smetana
local_time_since_added_catalog Six Months, Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast, Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9780062644626
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:CARL0000709321|Book|Books|First edition.|English|HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|[2018]|407 pages ; 22 cm, overdrive:1fc522c5-f738-4b16-bffb-4072dd729c43|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2018|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:1fc522c5-f738-4b16-bffb-4072dd729c43 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000709321 35192050478845 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000709321 35192050478829 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000709321 35192050478803 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000709321 35192050478811 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000709321 35192050478837 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Fathers -- Death -- Fiction, Grief -- Fiction, Moving, Household -- Fiction, Rock musicians -- Fiction, Young adult fiction
title_display The Midnights
title_full The Midnights, The Midnights / Sarah Nicole Smetana
title_short The Midnights
title_sub
topic_facet Death, Fathers, Grief, Moving, Household, Rock musicians, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature, Young adult fiction