Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

The start of everything: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In this stunning psychological thriller for readers of Tana French, Kate Atkinson, and Donna Tartt, Emily Winslow has crafted a literary prism told through the eyes of her many intricately drawn characters. Masterly and mesmerizing, The Start of Everything will captivate until the very last page.   "If you don't want to see me again, say so. But it's not right to say nothing. It's not right to go silent. You know what to do."   Cambridge, England: Outside the city, the badly decomposed body of a teenage girl has washed up in the flooded fens. Detective Inspector Chloe Frohmann and her partner, Morris Keene, must work quickly to identify the victim before the press takes off with the salacious story.   Across the hallowed paths and storied squares of Cambridge University, the detectives follow scant clues toward the identity of the dead girl. Eventually, their search leads them to Deeping House, an imposing country manor where, over the course of one Christmas holiday, three families, two nannies, and one young writer were snowed in together. Chloe Frohmann begins to unravel a tangled web of passions and secrets, of long-buried crimes and freshly committed horrors. But in order to reveal the truth--about misaddressed letters, a devastating affair, and a murdered teenager--she may have to betray her partner. "Emily Winslow effortlessly weaves together separate lives with intertwined lies, creating a powerful web of small deceits and horrifying misdeeds. The Start of Everything is a must read!"--#1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780385342902
9780345534583
038534290
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c9487d6c-b5e9-9894-2c1d-edfe27c15608
Grouping Title start of everything
Grouping Author winslow emily
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-13 23:59:58PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-14 00:50:45AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Winslow, Emily (Emily Carroll).
author_display Winslow, Emily
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description When a Cambridge murder is tied to the inadvertent reading of a private letter, Detective Inspector Chloe Frohmann is forced to consider a life-changing betrayal while investigating a hallowed university, a troubled young woman and a modest country manor overshadowed by a deadly secret.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id c9487d6c-b5e9-9894-2c1d-edfe27c15608
isbn 038534290, 9780345534583, 9780385342902
item_details ils:CARL0000403184|35192043489347|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Winslow|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:27e6f050-db74-415b-9def-0b483eb2bad1|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-14T06:50:45.126Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Winslow
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780385342902
publishDate 2012, 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000403184|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Delacorte Press,|c2012.|254 p. ; 25 cm., overdrive:27e6f050-db74-415b-9def-0b483eb2bad1|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000403184 35192043489347 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:27e6f050-db74-415b-9def-0b483eb2bad1 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Keene and Frohmann novels
series_with_volume Keene and Frohmann novels|2
subject_facet Americans -- England -- Fiction, College students -- Fiction, Detective and mystery stories, American, Psychological fiction, American
title_display The start of everything : a novel
title_full The Start of Everything A Novel, The start of everything : a novel / Emily Winslow
title_short The start of everything :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Americans, College students, Detective and mystery stories, American, Fiction, Literature, Mystery, Psychological fiction, American, Suspense