The Main Library's Public Technology dept. (3rd floor) will be closed Monday, Dec 16 - Friday, Dec 20. Get details.

The Main Library's Popular Materials dept. (1st floor) will be closed Monday, Dec 16 - Wednesday, Dec 25. Get details.

The Start of Everything: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Pub. Date:
2013
Language:
English
Description
In this stunning psychological thriller for readers of Tana French, Kate Atkinson, and Donna Tartt, Emily Winslow has crafted a literary prism told through the eyes of her many intricately drawn characters. Masterly and mesmerizing, The Start of Everything will captivate until the very last page.   "If you don't want to see me again, say so. But it's not right to say nothing. It's not right to go silent. You know what to do."   Cambridge, England: Outside the city, the badly decomposed body of a teenage girl has washed up in the flooded fens. Detective Inspector Chloe Frohmann and her partner, Morris Keene, must work quickly to identify the victim before the press takes off with the salacious story.   Across the hallowed paths and storied squares of Cambridge University, the detectives follow scant clues toward the identity of the dead girl. Eventually, their search leads them to Deeping House, an imposing country manor where, over the course of one Christmas holiday, three families, two nannies, and one young writer were snowed in together. Chloe Frohmann begins to unravel a tangled web of passions and secrets, of long-buried crimes and freshly committed horrors. But in order to reveal the truth--about misaddressed letters, a devastating affair, and a murdered teenager--she may have to betray her partner. "Emily Winslow effortlessly weaves together separate lives with intertwined lies, creating a powerful web of small deceits and horrifying misdeeds. The Start of Everything is a must read!"--#1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345534583
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c9487d6c-b5e9-9894-2c1d-edfe27c15608
Grouping Title start of everything
Grouping Author winslow emily
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-12-14 23:00:10PM
Last Indexed 2019-12-15 00:03:19AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Emily Winslow
author_display Emily Winslow
display_description

In this stunning psychological thriller for readers of Tana French, Kate Atkinson, and Donna Tartt, Emily Winslow has crafted a literary prism told through the eyes of her many intricately drawn characters. Masterly and mesmerizing, The Start of Everything will captivate until the very last page.

"If you don't want to see me again, say so. But it's not right to say nothing. It's not right to go silent. You know what to do."

Cambridge, England: Outside the city, the badly decomposed body of a teenage girl has washed up in the flooded fens. Detective Inspector Chloe Frohmann and her partner, Morris Keene, must work quickly to identify the victim before the press takes off with the salacious story.

Across the hallowed paths and storied squares of Cambridge University, the detectives follow scant clues toward the identity of the dead girl. Eventually, their search leads them to Deeping House, an imposing country manor where, over the course of one Christmas holiday, three families, two nannies, and one young writer were snowed in together. Chloe Frohmann begins to unravel a tangled web of passions and secrets, of long-buried crimes and freshly committed horrors. But in order to reveal the truth--about misaddressed letters, a devastating affair, and a murdered teenager--she may have to betray her partner.

"Emily Winslow effortlessly weaves together separate lives with intertwined lies, creating a powerful web of small deceits and horrifying misdeeds. The Start of Everything is a must read!"--#1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner

format_catalog eBook
format_category_catalog eBook
id c9487d6c-b5e9-9894-2c1d-edfe27c15608
isbn 9780345534583
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:27e6f050-db74-415b-9def-0b483eb2bad1 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
itype_catalog
last_indexed 2019-12-15T06:03:19.589Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
primary_isbn 9780345534583
publishDate 2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:27e6f050-db74-415b-9def-0b483eb2bad1 eBook eBook English Random House Publishing Group 2013
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:27e6f050-db74-415b-9def-0b483eb2bad1 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Keene and Frohmann novels
series_with_volume Keene and Frohmann novels|2
title_display The Start of Everything
title_full The Start of Everything A Novel
title_short The Start of Everything
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Fiction
Literature
Mystery
Suspense