Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

Winter at the door: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Perfect for fans of Jenny Milchman, Linda Castillo, and Lisa Gardner--the first book in a suspenseful new crime thriller series featuring the tough but haunted police chief Lizzie Snow, a big-city cop with a mission, taking on a small town with a dark side.   Moving from Boston to remote Bearkill, Maine, isn't homicide cop Lizzie Snow's idea of a step up. But breaking away from tragedy and personal betrayal is at least a step in the right direction. Her dead sister's fate still torments her, as does her long-missing niece's disappearance. Lizzie hopes to find the mysteriously vanished child here, amid the coming ice and snow. But in the Great North Woods, something darker and more dangerous than punishing winter is also bound for Bearkill.   The town is a world apart in more than distance--full of people who see everything, say little, and know more than they'll share with an outsider. The only exceptions are the handsome state cop who once badly broke Lizzie's heart and desperately wants another chance--and Lizzie's new boss, sheriff Cody Chevrier, who's counting on her years of homicide experience to help him solve his most troubling case, before it's too late.   A rash of freak accidents and suicides has left a string of dead men--all former local cops. Now the same cruel eyes that watched them die are on Lizzie--and so is the pressure to find out what sort of monster has his hooks in this town, what his ruthless game is, and just how brutally he'll play to win. Whatever the truth is, its twisted roots lie in the desolate backwoods of Aroostook County: where the desperate disappear, the corrupt find shelter, and the innocent lose everything. It's there that a cunning and utterly cold-blooded killer plans the fate of the helpless lives at his mercy--one of whom may be the lost child Lizzie will do anything to save. As a blizzard bears down, and Bearkill's dark secrets claw their way to the surface, Lizzie gears up for a showdown that could leave the deep, driven snow stained blood red.   Praise for Winter at the Door   "Sarah Graves writes with grace and intelligence, and a love for her state shines through in this stylish debut of a new series set against Maine's dark and foreboding forests. I'm hooked!" --Margaret Maron, New York Times bestselling author of Designated Daughters   "Fast and dangerous, an extraordinarily entertaining read, Winter at the Door grabbed me from the thrilling first page." --Linda Castillo, New York Times bestselling author of The Dead Will Tell   "Readers who enjoy Linda Castillo and Lisa Gardner will welcome Lizzie, a strong, motivated woman making her way in the frozen north." -- Booklist   "Lizzie is edgy and independent. . . . Taking a page from Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum, two hunky guys pursue Lizzie, each stumbling over the other as they try to protect a woman who really can protect herself. Readers can relax in Graves's able hands as she spins a complex tale with twists and turns that feel earned, and a character who knows exactly who she is. "-- The Boston Globe   "An entertaining story that proceeds to an explosive conclusion." --Mystery Scene   "A superbly suspenseful mystery with likable tough cop Lizzie and a town full of character. It's bound to appeal to readers who enjoy Jenny Milchman's books." -- Library Journal (starred review)
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345535016
9781633794382
9780345539052
9781633794368
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ca66b584-54ee-906a-1df4-b1ab852d7f45
Grouping Title winter at the door
Grouping Author graves sarah
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-13 23:59:58PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-14 01:00:18AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Potter, Kirsten,
author Graves, Sarah, 1951-
author2-role Potter, Kirsten,narrator.
author_display Graves, Sarah
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Thompson Lane
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Audiobook, Green Hills - Adult Fiction, Hermitage - Adult Audiobook, Hermitage - Adult Fiction, Main Library - Adult Audiobook, Main Library - Adult Fiction, Richland Park - Adult Fiction, Thompson Lane - Adult Fiction
display_description Jake Tiptree's onetime helper, Lizzie Snow, takes over as Eastport's police chief only to find herself stalked by a deadly adversary from her past "Moving from Boston to remote Bearkill, Maine, isn't homicide cop Lizzie Snow's idea of a step up. But breaking away from tragedy and personal betrayal is at least a step in the right direction. Her dead sister's fate still torments her, as does her long-missing niece's disappearance. Lizzie hopes to find the mysteriously vanished child here, amid the coming ice and snow. But in the Great North Woods, something darker and more dangerous than punishing winter is also bound for Bearkill. The town is a world apart in more than distance--full of people who see everything, say little, and know more than they'll share with an outsider. The only exceptions are the handsome state cop who once badly broke Lizzie's heart and desperately wants another chance--and Lizzie's new boss, sheriff Cody Chevrier, who's counting on her years of homicide experience to help him solve his most troubling case, before it's too late. A rash of freak accidents and suicides has left a string of dead men--all former local cops. Now the same cruel eyes that watched them die are on Lizzie--and so is the pressure to find out what sort of monster has his hooks in this town, what his ruthless game is, and just how brutally he'll play to win. Whatever the truth is, its twisted roots lie in the desolate backwoods of Aroostook County: where the desperate disappear, the corrupt find shelter, and the innocent lose everything. It's there that a cunning and utterly cold-blooded killer plans the fate of the helpless lives at his mercy--one of whom may be the lost child Lizzie will do anything to save. As a blizzard bears down, and Bearkill's dark secrets claw their way to the surface, Lizzie gears up for a showdown that could leave the deep, driven snow stained blood red"--Provide by publisher.
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id ca66b584-54ee-906a-1df4-b1ab852d7f45
isbn 9780345535016, 9780345539052, 9781633794368, 9781633794382
item_details ils:CARL0000453535|35192046875344|Bellevue - Adult Fiction|Fiction Graves|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000453535|35192046875385|Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction|Fiction Graves|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000453535|35192046875393|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Graves|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000453535|35192046875401|Hermitage - Adult Fiction|Fiction Graves|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000453535|35192046875427|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Graves|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000453535|35192046875435|Richland Park - Adult Fiction|Fiction Graves|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000453535|35192046875450|Thompson Lane - Adult Fiction|Fiction Graves|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, ils:CARL0000453737|35192047136688|Green Hills - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Graves|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000453737|35192047136696|Hermitage - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Graves|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000453737|35192047136704|Main Library - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Graves|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, overdrive:00670b24-3331-4f07-9aae-1fc8f79381f0|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:f712c965-9d54-4ee3-9cad-187fc94c1fef|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book
last_indexed 2018-11-14T07:00:18.906Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Novels
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Graves, Fiction Graves
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9780345535016
publishDate 2014, 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000453535|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Bantam Books,|[2014]|261 pages ; 25 cm., ils:CARL0000453737|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Dreamscape Media,|[2015]|8 audio discs (9 hr., 29 min.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:00670b24-3331-4f07-9aae-1fc8f79381f0|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Dreamscape Media, LLC|2015|, overdrive:f712c965-9d54-4ee3-9cad-187fc94c1fef|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000453535 35192046875435 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000453535 35192046875385 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000453535 35192046875427 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000453535 35192046875401 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000453535 35192046875344 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000453535 35192046875393 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000453535 35192046875450 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:00670b24-3331-4f07-9aae-1fc8f79381f0 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:f712c965-9d54-4ee3-9cad-187fc94c1fef -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000453737 35192047136696 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000453737 35192047136704 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000453737 35192047136688 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
series Lizzie Snow thrillers
series_with_volume Lizzie Snow thrillers|1
subject_facet Audiobooks, Detective and mystery stories, American, Drug traffic -- Fiction, Eastport (Me.) -- Fiction, Missing persons -- Fiction, Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction, Women police chiefs -- Fiction
title_display Winter at the door : a novel
title_full Winter at the Door A Novel, Winter at the Door Lizzie Snow Mystery Series, Book 1, Winter at the door : a novel / Sarah Graves, Winter at the door [sound recording] / Sarah Graves
title_short Winter at the door :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Audiobooks, Detective and mystery stories, American, Drug traffic, Fiction, Investigation, Missing persons, Murder, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Women police chiefs