Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

The upper room: Mama Ruby Series, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From the best-selling author of God Don't Like Ugly and winner of the PEN Oakland National Literary Award, this spectacular novel, told in the tradition of Alice Walker and Toni Morrison, is set in a migrant worker camp in the Florida Everglades. Filled with richly drawn characters, most memorable of all is the indomitable Mama Ruby, the seventh daughter of a seventh daughter, a woman with healing hands, a voracious appetite and a switchblade and crucifix at her bosom. 'Supremely rich in language and blessed with genuine originality' - Financial Times
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780758267344
9781575669106
9780758208897
9780758200235
9780758267726
9781419303999
9781449884154
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID cb98ee44-2cd9-3528-5dc2-ea365cdcb1b1
Grouping Title upper room
Grouping Author monroe mary
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-13 23:59:58PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-14 00:43:52AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Free, Kevin R.
author Monroe, Mary.
author2-role Free, Kevin R., Free, Kevin R.|Narrator, Recorded Books, Inc.
author_display Monroe, Mary
available_at_catalog Bordeaux, Main Kids, Main Library, North, Pruitt
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bordeaux - Adult Audiobook, Bordeaux - Adult Fiction, Main Library - Adult Audiobook, Main Library - Adult Fiction, North - Adult Fiction, Pruitt - Adult Audiobook
display_description Warm, energetic, and charming. --The Houston Post

Mama Ruby's known for taking things that aren't rightfully hers, like her best friend's stillborn infant, who she brought back to life and christened Maureen. She's also rumored to have done away with her husband. Some fear her, others try their best to avoid her. But Mama Ruby doesn't pay them any mind. Not when she's got the one gift God gave her--her precious baby girl.

"Monroe's literary canvas is painted with verve and humor and passion." --Christian Science Monitor

But growing up with a mama like Ruby is enough to make any half-sane girl wish for something--anything--else. And when Maureen gets the chance to explore the "real" world, you can bet she's going to take it. . .and run like hell.

"There is an electricity and vitality to this novel that makes it unique. Mary monroe is a remarkable talent." --Chicago Sun-Times
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id cb98ee44-2cd9-3528-5dc2-ea365cdcb1b1
isbn 9780758200235, 9780758208897, 9780758267344, 9780758267726, 9781419303999, 9781449884154, 9781575669106
item_details OneClickdigital:rbz90001501|rbz90001501|OneClickdigital|Online OneClickdigital|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OneClickdigital||https://nashvilletn.rbdigital.com/#titles/9781449884154||Available Online||OneClickdigital||, ils:CARL0000169833|35192037994054|Bordeaux - Adult Fiction|Fiction Monroe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BX||, ils:CARL0000169833|35192044984056|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Monroe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000169833|35192044984064|North - Adult Fiction|Fiction Monroe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NO||, ils:CARL0000281226|35192035439375|Main Library - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Monroe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000281226|35192035439383|Pruitt - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Monroe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||PR||, ils:CARL0000281226|35192035439391|Bordeaux - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Monroe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BX||, overdrive:e4141003-2e48-44e9-ad7c-7c260a9d4286|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book
last_indexed 2018-11-14T06:43:52.998Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Novels
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Monroe, Fiction Monroe
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bordeaux, Main Kids, Main Library, North, Pruitt
primary_isbn 9780758267344
publishDate 2001, 2002, 2011
record_details OneClickdigital:rbz90001501|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Recorded Books ;|2011, p2006.|1 sound file (9 hr., 30 min.) : digital., ils:CARL0000169833|Book|Books||English|Kensington Pub. Corp.,|2001.|337 p. ; 24 cm., ils:CARL0000281226|CD audio book|Audio Books||English|Recorded Books,|p2002.|8 sound discs (9.50 hrs.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:e4141003-2e48-44e9-ad7c-7c260a9d4286|eBook|eBook||English|Kensington|2011|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000169833 35192037994054 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000169833 35192044984064 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000169833 35192044984056 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000281226 35192035439375 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000281226 35192035439383 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000281226 35192035439391 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
OneClickdigital:rbz90001501 rbz90001501 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
overdrive:e4141003-2e48-44e9-ad7c-7c260a9d4286 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Mama Ruby novels
series_with_volume Mama Ruby novels|1
subject_facet African American families -- Fiction, African American women healers -- Fiction, Audiobooks, Domestic fiction, Domestic fiction, American, Downloadable audio books, Everglades (Fla.) -- Fiction, Migrant labor -- Fiction, Mothers and daughters -- Fiction, Runaway teenagers -- Fiction, Spiritual healing -- Fiction
title_display The upper room
title_full The Upper Room Mama Ruby Series, Book 1, The upper room / Mary Monroe, The upper room [electronic resource] / Mary Monroe, The upper room [sound recording] / by Mary Monroe
title_short The upper room
title_sub Mama Ruby Series, Book 1
topic_facet African American Fiction, African American families, African American women healers, Audiobooks, Domestic fiction, American, Fiction, Migrant labor, Mothers and daughters, Romance, Runaway teenagers, Spiritual healing