North Branch Library is closed until further notice due to restroom plumbing issues.

The upper room: Mama Ruby Series, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
From the best-selling author of God Don't Like Ugly and winner of the PEN Oakland National Literary Award, this spectacular novel, told in the tradition of Alice Walker and Toni Morrison, is set in a migrant worker camp in the Florida Everglades. Filled with richly drawn characters, most memorable of all is the indomitable Mama Ruby, the seventh daughter of a seventh daughter, a woman with healing hands, a voracious appetite and a switchblade and crucifix at her bosom. 'Supremely rich in language and blessed with genuine originality' - Financial Times
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID cb98ee44-2cd9-3528-5dc2-ea365cdcb1b1
full_title upper room
author monroe mary
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-03-17 13:30:31PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Free, Kevin R.
author Monroe, Mary.
author2-role Free, Kevin R., Free, Kevin R.|Narrator, Recorded Books, Inc.
author_display Monroe, Mary
available_at_catalog Bordeaux, Main Kids, Main Library, North, Pruitt
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bordeaux - Adult Audiobook, Bordeaux - Adult Fiction, Main Library - Adult Audiobook, Main Library - Adult Fiction, North - Adult Fiction, Pruitt - Adult Audiobook
display_description Warm, energetic, and charming. --The Houston Post

Mama Ruby's known for taking things that aren't rightfully hers, like her best friend's stillborn infant, who she brought back to life and christened Maureen. She's also rumored to have done away with her husband. Some fear her, others try their best to avoid her. But Mama Ruby doesn't pay them any mind. Not when she's got the one gift God gave her--her precious baby girl.

"Monroe's literary canvas is painted with verve and humor and passion." --Christian Science Monitor

But growing up with a mama like Ruby is enough to make any half-sane girl wish for something--anything--else. And when Maureen gets the chance to explore the "real" world, you can bet she's going to take it. . .and run like hell.

"There is an electricity and vitality to this novel that makes it unique. Mary monroe is a remarkable talent." --Chicago Sun-Times
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id cb98ee44-2cd9-3528-5dc2-ea365cdcb1b1
isbn 9780758200235, 9780758208897, 9780758267344, 9780758267726, 9781419303999, 9781449884154, 9781575669106
item_details OneClickdigital:rbz90001501|rbz90001501|OneClickdigital|Online OneClickdigital|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OneClickdigital||||Available Online||OneClickdigital||, ils:CARL0000169833|35192037994054|Bordeaux - Adult Fiction|Fiction Monroe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BX||, ils:CARL0000169833|35192044984056|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Monroe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000169833|35192044984064|North - Adult Fiction|Fiction Monroe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NO||, ils:CARL0000281226|35192035439375|Main Library - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Monroe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000281226|35192035439383|Pruitt - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Monroe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||PR||, ils:CARL0000281226|35192035439391|Bordeaux - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Monroe|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BX||, overdrive:e4141003-2e48-44e9-ad7c-7c260a9d4286|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Novels
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Monroe, Fiction Monroe
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bordeaux, Main Kids, Main Library, North, Pruitt
primary_isbn 9780758267344
publishDate 2001, 2002, 2011
record_details OneClickdigital:rbz90001501|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Recorded Books ;|2011, p2006.|1 sound file (9 hr., 30 min.) : digital., ils:CARL0000169833|Book|Books||English|Kensington Pub. Corp.,|2001.|337 p. ; 24 cm., ils:CARL0000281226|CD audio book|Audio Books||English|Recorded Books,|p2002.|8 sound discs (9.50 hrs.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:e4141003-2e48-44e9-ad7c-7c260a9d4286|eBook|eBook||English|Kensington|2011|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog OneClickdigital:rbz90001501|rbz90001501|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000169833|35192037994054|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000169833|35192044984056|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000169833|35192044984064|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000281226|35192035439375|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000281226|35192035439383|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000281226|35192035439391|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:e4141003-2e48-44e9-ad7c-7c260a9d4286|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
series Griot audio, Mama Ruby
series_with_volume Griot audio, Mama Ruby
subject_facet African American families -- Fiction, African American women healers -- Fiction, Audiobooks, Domestic fiction, Domestic fiction, American, Downloadable audio books, Everglades (Fla.) -- Fiction, Migrant labor -- Fiction, Mothers and daughters -- Fiction, Runaway teenagers -- Fiction, Spiritual healing -- Fiction
title_display The upper room
title_full The Upper Room Mama Ruby Series, Book 1, The upper room / Mary Monroe, The upper room [electronic resource] / Mary Monroe, The upper room [sound recording] / by Mary Monroe
title_short The upper room
title_sub Mama Ruby Series, Book 1
topic_facet African American Fiction, African American families, African American women healers, Audiobooks, Domestic fiction, American, Fiction, Literature, Migrant labor, Mothers and daughters, Romance, Runaway teenagers, Spiritual healing