All library locations are closed beginning at 6 PM Wednesday, Nov 27, and reopen for normal hours on Saturday, Nov 30. Happy Thanksgiving!

The upper room

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From the best-selling author of God Don't Like Ugly and winner of the PEN Oakland National Literary Award, this spectacular novel, told in the tradition of Alice Walker and Toni Morrison, is set in a migrant worker camp in the Florida Everglades. Filled with richly drawn characters, most memorable of all is the indomitable Mama Ruby, the seventh daughter of a seventh daughter, a woman with healing hands, a voracious appetite and a switchblade and crucifix at her bosom. 'Supremely rich in language and blessed with genuine originality' - Financial Times
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780758267344
9781575669106
9780758208897
9780758200235
9780758267726
9781419303999
9781449884154
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID cb98ee44-2cd9-3528-5dc2-ea365cdcb1b1
Grouping Title upper room
Grouping Author monroe mary
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-11-21 23:15:54PM
Last Indexed 2019-11-21 23:46:26PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Free, Kevin R.
author Monroe, Mary.
author2-role Free, Kevin R.
Free, Kevin R.|Narrator
Recorded Books, Inc.
author_display Monroe, Mary
available_at_catalog Bordeaux
Madison
Madison Kids
North
Pruitt
collection_catalog Audiobook
Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bordeaux - Adult Audiobook
Madison - Adult Fiction
Main Library - Adult Fiction
North - Adult Fiction
Pruitt - Adult Audiobook
display_description Warm, energetic, and charming. --The Houston Post

Mama Ruby's known for taking things that aren't rightfully hers, like her best friend's stillborn infant, who she brought back to life and christened Maureen. She's also rumored to have done away with her husband. Some fear her, others try their best to avoid her. But Mama Ruby doesn't pay them any mind. Not when she's got the one gift God gave her--her precious baby girl.

"Monroe's literary canvas is painted with verve and humor and passion." --Christian Science Monitor

But growing up with a mama like Ruby is enough to make any half-sane girl wish for something--anything--else. And when Maureen gets the chance to explore the "real" world, you can bet she's going to take it. . .and run like hell.

"There is an electricity and vitality to this novel that makes it unique. Mary monroe is a remarkable talent." --Chicago Sun-Times
format_catalog Book
CD audio book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books
Books
eBook
id cb98ee44-2cd9-3528-5dc2-ea365cdcb1b1
isbn 9780758200235
9780758208897
9780758267344
9780758267726
9781419303999
9781449884154
9781575669106
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000169833 35192044984056 Main Library - Adult Fiction Fiction Monroe 1 false false Checked Out MN
ils:CARL0000169833 35192044984064 North - Adult Fiction Fiction Monroe 1 false false On Shelf NO
ils:CARL0000169833 35192047590280 Madison - Adult Fiction Fiction Monroe 1 false false On Shelf MA
ils:CARL0000281226 35192035439391 Bordeaux - Adult Audiobook CD AUDIO Fiction Monroe 1 false false On Shelf BX
ils:CARL0000281226 35192035439383 Pruitt - Adult Audiobook CD AUDIO Fiction Monroe 1 false false On Shelf PR
RBdigital eAudiobooks:rbz90001501 rbz90001501 RBdigital eAudiobooks Online RBdigital eAudiobooks eAudiobook Audio Books 1 false true RBdigital eAudiobooks https://nashvilletn.rbdigital.com/#titles/9781449884154 Available Online RBdigital eAudiobooks
overdrive:e4141003-2e48-44e9-ad7c-7c260a9d4286 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
itype_catalog
Book
CD audio book
last_indexed 2019-11-22T05:46:26.635Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
Novels
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Monroe
Fiction Monroe
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bordeaux
Madison
Madison Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
North
Pruitt
primary_isbn 9780758267344
publishDate 2001
2002
2011
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000169833 Book Books English Kensington Pub. Corp., 2001. 337 p. ; 24 cm.
ils:CARL0000281226 CD audio book Audio Books English Recorded Books, p2002. 8 sound discs (9.50 hrs.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
RBdigital eAudiobooks:rbz90001501 eAudiobook Audio Books Unabridged. English Recorded Books ; 2011, p2006. 1 sound file (9 hr., 30 min.) : digital.
overdrive:e4141003-2e48-44e9-ad7c-7c260a9d4286 eBook eBook English Kensington Books 2011
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000169833 35192044984056 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000169833 35192044984064 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000169833 35192047590280 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000281226 35192035439391 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000281226 35192035439383 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
RBdigital eAudiobooks:rbz90001501 rbz90001501 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
overdrive:e4141003-2e48-44e9-ad7c-7c260a9d4286 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Mama Ruby novels
series_with_volume Mama Ruby novels|1
subject_facet African American families -- Fiction
African American women healers -- Fiction
Audiobooks
Domestic fiction
Domestic fiction, American
Downloadable audio books
Everglades (Fla.) -- Fiction
Migrant labor -- Fiction
Mothers and daughters -- Fiction
Runaway teenagers -- Fiction
Spiritual healing -- Fiction
title_display The upper room
title_full The Upper Room
The upper room / Mary Monroe
The upper room [electronic resource] / Mary Monroe
The upper room [sound recording] / by Mary Monroe
title_short The upper room
title_sub
topic_facet African American Fiction
African American families
African American women healers
Audiobooks
Domestic fiction, American
Fiction
Migrant labor
Mothers and daughters
Romance
Runaway teenagers
Spiritual healing