Just like Jackie

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

Family is family, no matter what it looks like. Readers will cheer for this pitch-perfect story, just right for fans of such books as The Great Gilly Hopkins and Fish in a Tree.

For as long as Robinson Hart can remember, it's just been her and Grandpa. He taught her about cars, baseball, and everything else worth knowing. But Grandpa's memory has been getting bad--so bad that he sometimes can't even remember Robbie's name.

She's sure that she's making things worse by getting in trouble at school, but she can't resist using her fists when bullies like Alex Carter make fun of her for not having a mom.

Now she's stuck in group guidance--and to make things even worse, Alex Carter is there too. There's no way Robbie's going to open up about her life to some therapy group, especially not with Alex in the room. Besides, if she told anyone how forgetful Grandpa's been getting lately, they'd take her away from him. He's the only family she has--and it's up to her to keep them together, no matter what.

Praise for Just Like Jackie:

"I was truly moved by this refreshing story about a scrappy young heroine and her struggle to protect her family."--Sara Pennypacker, New York Times bestselling author of Pax

"Just Like Jackie is a lovely story of acceptance--about what makes a family and how we make our own families, and about embracing our differences."--Ann M. Martin, New York Times bestselling author of Rain Reign

"A fresh coming-of-age novel as feisty, funny, and forthright as its protagonist. Robinson overcomes obstacles with wit, grit, and a growing compassion for others, showing us that families are what we make them and happiness is found in the simple gifts we take for granted. A rich, rewarding read all around."--John David Anderson, author of Ms. Bixby's Last Day

"As close to perfect as a book for middle grade children can get!"--Cammie McGovern, author of Just My Luck

★ "Stoddard debuts with a quiet but powerful narrative that gently unpacks Alzheimer's, centers mental health, and moves through the intimate and intense emotional landscape of family--what seems to break one and what can remake it. Validating, heart-rending, and a deft blend of suffering and inspiration."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A home-run story that will resonate with all who feel they might not fit into the perfect definition of a family."--School Library Journal

"Debut author Stoddard crafts a winning narrator in Robinson. A beautiful story about the true meaning of family, perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt."--Booklist

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062652911
9780062652935
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.1, 8 Points
Lexile measure:
900L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID cc2c6747-e3b8-66d8-893d-207c350f649f
Grouping Title just like jackie
Grouping Author stoddard lindsey
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-16 23:21:48PM
Last Indexed 2018-08-15 14:37:19PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 8
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.1
author Stoddard, Lindsey,
author_display Lindsey Stoddard
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Kids Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction, Green Hills - Kids Fiction, Hermitage - Kids Fiction, Inglewood - Kids Fiction, Main Library - Kids Fiction
display_description Fifth grader Robbie is determined to stay out of trouble so that she does not worry her grandfather whose memory is failing and to make sure that she and her grandfather stay together as he is the only family she has left.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id cc2c6747-e3b8-66d8-893d-207c350f649f
isbn 9780062652911, 9780062652935
item_details ils:CARL0000700789|35192050338890|Bellevue - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Stoddar|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000700789|35192050338908|Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Stoddar|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000700789|35192050338916|Green Hills - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Stoddar|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000700789|35192050338924|Hermitage - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Stoddar|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000700789|35192050338932|Inglewood - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Stoddar|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||IN||, ils:CARL0000700789|35192050338940|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Stoddar|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00780579|J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||4H498||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00780720|Apollo Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||4P577||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00780800|Antioch Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||41111||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00780891|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00780917|Haynes Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4D400||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00781160|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4S612||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00781375|Joelton Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||4G470||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00781601|Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4U730||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00781789|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||4N555||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00781983|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||46260||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00782186|Rose Park Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4T675||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00782348|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00782416|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||4E410||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00782443|Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||48275||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00782586|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00782651|McKissack Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4J535||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00782709|Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||4M551||, ils:CARL0000700789|B00783323|East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4A296||, ils:CARL0000700789|TT00013041|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, ils:CARL0000700789|TT00013952|Wright Middle - Teen Fiction|F Sto|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4X805||, overdrive:33329d05-45e3-477a-81d8-2652e6aa41c8|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-08-15T19:37:19.654Z
lexile_score 900
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction Stoddar
local_time_since_added_catalog Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780062652911
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:CARL0000700789|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|[2018]|244 pages ; 22 cm, overdrive:33329d05-45e3-477a-81d8-2652e6aa41c8|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2018|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:33329d05-45e3-477a-81d8-2652e6aa41c8 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000700789 35192050338890 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000700789 35192050338916 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000700789 35192050338908 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000700789 35192050338932 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000700789 35192050338924 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000700789 35192050338940 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
subject_facet Alzheimer's disease -- Fiction, Alzheimer's disease -- Juvenile fiction, Bullies -- Fiction, Bullies -- Juvenile fiction, Grandfathers -- Fiction, Grandfathers -- Juvenile fiction, Grandparent and child -- Fiction, Grandparent and child -- Juvenile fiction, Schools -- Fiction, Schools -- Juvenile fiction
title_display Just like Jackie
title_full Just Like Jackie, Just like Jackie / Lindsey Stoddard
title_short Just like Jackie
title_sub
topic_facet Alzheimer's disease, Bullies, Grandfathers, Grandparent and child, Juvenile Fiction, Juvenile Literature, Schools