The winter horses

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014.
Language:
English
Description

From Philip Kerr, the  New York Times  bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous today. This inspiring tale captures the power of the human spirit and is perfect for fans of  The Book Thief,   Milkweed , and  The   Boy in the Striped Pajamas . It will soon be another cold winter in the Ukraine.  But it's 1941, and things are different this year.  Max, the devoted caretaker of an animal preserve, must learn to live with the Nazis who have overtaken this precious land. He must also learn to keep secrets--for there is a girl, Kalinka, who is hiding in the park. Kalinka has lost her home, her family, her belongings--everything but her life.  Still, she has gained one small, precious gift: a relationship with the rare wild and wily Przewalski's horses that wander the preserve. Aside from Max, these endangered animals are her only friends--until a Nazi campaign of extermination nearly wipes them out for good. Now Kalinka must set out on a treacherous journey across the frozen forest to save the only two surviving horses--and herself.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780385755443
9780385755450
9780385755436
Reading Level:
MG
Level 6.1, 10 Points
Lexile measure:
930L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ccc074c9-54e1-8d39-3102-c6fd6e1788ea
Full title winter horses
Author kerr philip
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-19 23:33:41PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-20 00:17:07AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 10
accelerated_reader_reading_level 6.1
author Philip Kerr
author_display Kerr, Philip
available_at_catalog Hermitage, Hermitage Kids
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Hermitage - Teen Fiction
display_description "Kalinka, a Ukrainian Jewish girl on the run from the Nazis, finds unlikely help from two rare Przewalski horses"--
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id ccc074c9-54e1-8d39-3102-c6fd6e1788ea
isbn 9780385755436, 9780385755443, 9780385755450
item_details ils:CARL0000429868|35192045749821|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Kerr|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000429868|FF00086231|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F KER|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000429868|FF00145880|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000429868|MK10107296|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F KER|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, overdrive:e6a3e7a2-7923-4030-959e-dbdd4e10355e|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-20T05:17:07.054Z
lexile_score 930
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Kerr
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Hermitage, Hermitage Kids
primary_isbn 9780385755443
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000429868|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Alfred A. Knopf,|2014.|278 pages : illustration ; 22 cm., overdrive:e6a3e7a2-7923-4030-959e-dbdd4e10355e|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000429868|35192045749821|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:e6a3e7a2-7923-4030-959e-dbdd4e10355e|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Holocaust, Jewish -- Ukraine -- Fiction, Horses -- Fiction, Jews -- Ukraine -- Fiction, Przewalski's horse -- Fiction, Survival -- Fiction, Ukraine -- History -- German occupation, 1941-1944 -- Fiction, World War, 1939-1945 -- Ukraine -- Fiction, Young adult fiction
title_display The winter horses
title_full The Winter Horses, The winter horses / Philip Kerr
title_short The winter horses
title_sub
topic_facet Historical Fiction, History, Holocaust, Jewish, Horses, Jews, Przewalski's horse, Survival, World War, 1939-1945, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature, Young adult fiction