The winter horses

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

From Philip Kerr, the  New York Times  bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous today. This inspiring tale captures the power of the human spirit and is perfect for fans of  The Book Thief,   Milkweed , and  The   Boy in the Striped Pajamas . It will soon be another cold winter in the Ukraine.  But it's 1941, and things are different this year.  Max, the devoted caretaker of an animal preserve, must learn to live with the Nazis who have overtaken this precious land. He must also learn to keep secrets--for there is a girl, Kalinka, who is hiding in the park. Kalinka has lost her home, her family, her belongings--everything but her life.  Still, she has gained one small, precious gift: a relationship with the rare wild and wily Przewalski's horses that wander the preserve. Aside from Max, these endangered animals are her only friends--until a Nazi campaign of extermination nearly wipes them out for good. Now Kalinka must set out on a treacherous journey across the frozen forest to save the only two surviving horses--and herself.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780385755443
9781494593506
9780385755436
9780385755450
Reading Level:
MG
Level 6.1, 10 Points
Lexile measure:
930L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ccc074c9-54e1-8d39-3102-c6fd6e1788ea
Grouping Title winter horses
Grouping Author kerr philip
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-17 22:59:17PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-18 00:07:05AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 10
accelerated_reader_reading_level 6.1
auth_author2 Langton, James.
author Kerr, Philip.
author2-role Langton, James., hoopla digital.
author_display Kerr, Philip
available_at_catalog Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Hermitage - Teen Fiction, Southeast - Teen Fiction
display_description "Kalinka, a Ukrainian Jewish girl on the run from the Nazis, finds unlikely help from two rare Przewalski horses"--
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id ccc074c9-54e1-8d39-3102-c6fd6e1788ea
isbn 9780385755436, 9780385755443, 9780385755450, 9781494593506
item_details hoopla:MWT11359333||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11359333||Available Online||||, ils:CARL0000429868|35192045749805|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Kerr|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000429868|35192045749821|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Kerr|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000429868|FF00086231|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F KER|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000429868|FF00145880|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F Ker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000429868|MK10086230|Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction|F KER|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||47270||, ils:CARL0000429868|MK10107296|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F KER|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, overdrive:e6a3e7a2-7923-4030-959e-dbdd4e10355e|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-18T05:07:05.22Z
lexile_score 930
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Kerr
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780385755443
publishDate 2014, 2015
record_details hoopla:MWT11359333|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Tantor Audio ,|2015.|1 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 12 min.)) : digital., ils:CARL0000429868|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Alfred A. Knopf,|2014.|278 pages : illustration ; 22 cm., overdrive:e6a3e7a2-7923-4030-959e-dbdd4e10355e|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11359333 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
overdrive:e6a3e7a2-7923-4030-959e-dbdd4e10355e -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000429868 35192045749821 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000429868 35192045749805 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Ukraine -- Juvenile fiction, Holocaust, Jewish -- Ukraine -- Fiction, Horses -- Fiction, Jews -- Ukraine -- Fiction, Przewalski's horse -- Fiction, Survival -- Fiction, Ukraine -- History -- German occupation, 1941-1944 -- Fiction, World War, 1939-1945 -- Ukraine -- Fiction, Young adult fiction
title_display The winter horses
title_full The Winter Horses, The winter horses / Philip Kerr, The winter horses [electronic resource] / Philip Kerr
title_short The winter horses
title_sub
topic_facet Historical Fiction, History, Holocaust, Jewish, Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945), Horses, Jews, Przewalski's horse, Survival, World War, 1939-1945, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature, Young adult fiction