Simon Thorn and the wolf's den

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Simon Thorn volume 1.
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

A thrilling debut in the tradition of Rick Riordan and Brandon Mull about a boy who discovers he's part of a secret race of animal shape shifters.

Twelve-year-old Simon Thorn's life has never been easy or normal, but things like being bullied at school and living in a cramped Manhattan apartment with his Uncle Darryl are nothing compared to his biggest secret: He can talk to animals.

But when his mom is suddenly kidnapped by a herd of rats, Simon finds out that he, his mom, and his uncle are all Animalgams--people born with the ability to change into an animal at will. In search of his mom, Simon discovers the Animalgam Academy based at the Central Park Zoo. There he learns about the fractured five kingdoms--Mammals, Birds, Insects, Reptiles, and Underwater--that make up this secret world . . . and realizes he may be the only one who can save it.

This action-packed page-turner is filled with themes of bravery, loyalty, and finding one-s true self, and is perfect for fans of the Spirit Animals and The School of Good and Evil series.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781619637047
9781619637054
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.2, 11 Points
Lexile measure:
750L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ce88b63a-afa2-9960-7e1f-78c72193aa8d
Grouping Title simon thorn and the wolf s den
Grouping Author carter aimée
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-16 23:26:17PM
Last Indexed 2018-10-17 00:33:39AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 11
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.2
author Aimée Carter
author_display Carter, Aimée
available_at_catalog Bordeaux, East, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Old Hickory
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bordeaux - Kids Fiction, East - Kids Fiction, Green Hills - Kids Fiction, Main Library - Kids Fiction, Old Hickory - Kids Fiction
display_description Simon Thorn, twelve, is able to talk with animals, but when his mother is kidnapped by a herd of New York City rats he learns he, his mother, and his uncle are all Animalgams--able to change into an animal at will--and that Simon may be able to save the beleaguered Five Animal Kingdoms.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id ce88b63a-afa2-9960-7e1f-78c72193aa8d
isbn 9781619637047, 9781619637054
item_details ils:CARL0000481676|35192048524601|Bordeaux - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Carter|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BX||, ils:CARL0000481676|35192048524619|East - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Carter|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EA||, ils:CARL0000481676|35192048524627|Green Hills - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Carter|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000481676|35192048524668|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Carter|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000481676|35192048524676|Old Hickory - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Carter|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||OH||, ils:CARL0000481676|MK10153664|West End Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4V770||, ils:CARL0000481676|QQ00218839|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000481676|QQ00218892|Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4F434||, ils:CARL0000481676|QQ00218958|J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction|ANI F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4O563||, ils:CARL0000481676|QQ00219083|Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4U730||, ils:CARL0000481676|QQ00219611|Croft Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||45238||, ils:CARL0000481676|QQ00219898|Litton Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4I510||, ils:CARL0000481676|QQ00219955|Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||47270||, ils:CARL0000481676|QQ00220021|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||4E410||, ils:CARL0000481676|QQ00220307|Gra-Mar Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4C365||, ils:CARL0000481676|QQ00220669|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||46260||, ils:CARL0000481676|QQ00221028|J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||4H498||, ils:CARL0000481676|QQ00221139|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4N555||, ils:CARL0000481676|QQ00221831|Joelton Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4G470||, overdrive:68dc367a-d443-4ff5-92d7-ea0052de64c0|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-10-17T05:33:39.634Z
lexile_score 750
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog JUV Fiction Carter
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bordeaux, East, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Old Hickory
primary_isbn 9781619637047
publishDate 2016
record_details ils:CARL0000481676|Book|Books||English|Bloomsbury,|2016.|307 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:68dc367a-d443-4ff5-92d7-ea0052de64c0|eBook|eBook||English|Bloomsbury Publishing||
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:68dc367a-d443-4ff5-92d7-ea0052de64c0 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000481676 35192048524676 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000481676 35192048524619 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000481676 35192048524668 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000481676 35192048524627 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000481676 35192048524601 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
series Simon Thorn
series_with_volume Simon Thorn|1
subject_facet Adventure stories, Juvenile, Animals -- Juvenile fiction, Human-animal communication -- Juvenile fiction, Kidnapping -- Juvenile fiction, New York (N.Y.) -- Juvenile fiction, Shapeshifting -- Juvenile fiction
title_display Simon Thorn and the wolf's den
title_full Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den, Simon Thorn and the wolf's den / by Aimée Carter
title_short Simon Thorn and the wolf's den
title_sub
topic_facet Adventure stories, Juvenile, Animals, Human-animal communication, Juvenile Fiction, Juvenile Literature, Kidnapping, Shapeshifting