The hour of peril: the secret plot to murder Lincoln before the Civil War

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of James Swanson's Manhunt and Erik Larson's Devil in the White City comes the riveting true story of a dark conspiracy "It's history that reads like a race-against-the-clock thriller." - Harlan Coben Daniel Stashower, the two-time Edgar award-winning author of The Beautiful Cigar Girl , uncovers the riveting true story of the "Baltimore Plot," an audacious conspiracy to assassinate Abraham Lincoln on the eve of the Civil War. In February of 1861, just days before he assumed the presidency, Abraham Lincoln faced a "clear and fully-matured" threat of assassination as he traveled by train from Springfield to Washington for his inauguration. Over a period of thirteen days the legendary detective Allan Pinkerton worked feverishly to detect and thwart the plot, assisted by a captivating young widow named Kate Warne, America's first female private eye. As Lincoln's train rolled inexorably toward "the seat of danger," Pinkerton struggled to unravel the ever-changing details of the murder plot, even as he contended with the intractability of Lincoln and his advisors, who refused to believe that the danger was real. With time running out Pinkerton took a desperate gamble, staking Lincoln's life-and the future of the nation-on a "perilous feint" that seemed to offer the only chance that Lincoln would survive to become president.  Shrouded in secrecy-and, later, mired in controversy-the story of the "Baltimore Plot" is one of the great untold tales of the Civil War era, and with The Hour of Peril Stashower has crafted a spellbinding historical narrative with the pace and urgency of a race-against-the-clock thriller.A Washington Post Notable Nonfiction Book of 2013
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780312600228
9781427237231
9781427229236
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID d044cb99-fd09-f95b-4109-9c9da597045e
Grouping Title hour of peril the secret plot to murder lincoln before the civil war
Grouping Author stashower daniel
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-16 23:07:43PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-15 23:41:39PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Ballerini, Edoardo, 1970-
author Stashower, Daniel.
author2-role Ballerini, Edoardo,1970-
author_display Stashower, Daniel
available_at_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Thompson Lane
collection_catalog Audiobook, Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction, Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction, Thompson Lane - Adult Audiobook
display_description Two-time Edgar award-winning author Daniel Stashower uncovers the riveting true story of the "Baltimore Plot," an audacious conspiracy to assassinate Abraham Lincoln on the eve of the Civil War.
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, eAudiobook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id d044cb99-fd09-f95b-4109-9c9da597045e
isbn 9780312600228, 9781427229236, 9781427237231
item_details ils:CARL0000401288|35192043462310|Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction|973.7092 S7968h|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000401288|35192043462369|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|973.7092 S7968h|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000408198|35192043880180|Thompson Lane - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO 973.7092 S7968h|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, overdrive:36201fd0-6119-4530-ae36-91692d175b5f|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book
last_indexed 2018-07-16T04:41:39.06Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 973.7092 S7968h, CD AUDIO 973.7092 S7968h
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9780312600228
publishDate 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000401288|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Minotaur Books,|2013.|ix, 354 p. : ill. ; 25 cm., ils:CARL0000408198|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|MacMillan Audio,|p2013.|11 sound discs (13.5 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:36201fd0-6119-4530-ae36-91692d175b5f|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Macmillan Audio||
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000401288 35192043462369 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000401288 35192043462310 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:36201fd0-6119-4530-ae36-91692d175b5f -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000408198 35192043880180 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Audiobooks, Baltimore (Md.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865, Lincoln, Abraham, -- 1809-1865 -- Assassination attempt, 1861, Presidents -- Assassination attempts -- United States
title_display The hour of peril : the secret plot to murder Lincoln before the Civil War
title_full The Hour of Peril The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War, The hour of peril : the secret plot to murder Lincoln before the Civil War / Daniel Stashower, The hour of peril [sound recording] : the secret plot to murder Lincoln before the Civil War / Daniel Stashower
title_short The hour of peril :
title_sub the secret plot to murder Lincoln before the Civil War
topic_facet Assassination attempt, 1861, Assassination attempts, Audiobooks, History, Lincoln, Abraham, Nonfiction, Presidents, True Crime