Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

All library locations are closed Thursday, Nov 22 and Friday, Nov 23 for the Thanksgiving holiday.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

As night falls: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From the acclaimed author of Ruin Falls and Cover of Snow comes a breathless new novel of psychological suspense about a dark, twisted turn of events that could shatter a family--a read perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Sandy Tremont has always tried to give her family everything. But, as the sky darkens over the Adirondacks and a heavy snowfall looms, an escaped murderer with the power to take it all away draws close. In her isolated home in the shadowy woods, Sandy prepares dinner after a fight with her daughter, Ivy. Upstairs, the fifteen-year-old--smart, brave, and with every reason to be angry tonight--keeps her distance from her mother. Sandy's husband, Ben, a wilderness guide, arrives late to find a home simmering with unease. Nearby, two desperate men on the run make their way through the fading light, bloodstained and determined to leave no loose ends or witnesses. After almost twenty years as prison cellmates, they have become a deadly team: Harlan the muscle, Nick the mind and will. As they approach a secluded house and look through its windows to see a cozy domestic scene, Nick knows that here he will find what he's looking for . . . before he disappears forever. Opening the door to the Tremont home, Nick brings not only a legacy of terror but a secret that threatens to drag Sandy with him into the darkness. Praise for As Night Falls "Electric . . . Jenny Milchman mixes psychological thrills with adventure . . . to shoot her readers with an extreme jolt of adrenaline. . . . Milchman's talent for building atmosphere will have readers wondering if they're shivering from the story's excitement or northern New York's winter cold." -- Shelf Awareness (starred review) "Great psychological thrillers work on two levels: as action-based mysteries and as emotionally resonant personal stories. Jenny Milchman balances both . . . with equal intensity. . . . You may not be able to finish [ As Night Falls ] in one sitting, but you'll want to." -- BookPage "Gripping . . . a fast-paced tale that should keep readers eagerly turning pages." -- Publishers Weekly Praise for Jenny Milchman Ruin Falls "Tight and suspenseful . . . Milchman has a gift that allows her to delve deep into the mind and psyche of her characters, and fans of dark plots like the works of Gillian Flynn will find another author to savor." -- RT Book Reviews "Extreme, heart-pounding action . . . essential for psychological thriller fanatics." --Library Journal "A complex and intriguing tale, adeptly pacing the narrative as danger escalates." -- Publishers Weekly Cover of Snow "Everything a great suspense novel should be--tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying . . . Let's hope this is the start of a long career." --Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Personal "An emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns . . . a richly woven story." -- Booklist (starred review) "Milchman tackles small-town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters." -- The Seattle Times
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780553394818
9781681411484
9781410483379
9781681411507
9780553394825
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID d11f44e7-5be6-82a3-4755-90b9b8ae6a98
Grouping Title as night falls
Grouping Author milchman jenny
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-16 23:10:10PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-15 23:40:00PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Berneis, Susie.
author Milchman, Jenny.
author2-role Berneis, Susie.
author_display Milchman, Jenny
available_at_catalog Donelson, Goodlettsville, Inglewood, Old Hickory, Thompson Lane
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction, Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Audiobook, Donelson - Adult Audiobook, Goodlettsville - Adult Large Print, Inglewood - Adult Audiobook, Main Library - Adult Fiction, Old Hickory - Adult Fiction, Thompson Lane - Adult Large Print
display_description "Sandy has no idea that tonight her life will be forever changed. As a late autumn sky darkens over the Adirondack mountains ... the mood in the Tremont house is already charged with tension ... But when her husband Ben, a wilderness guide, arrives home, the troubled atmosphere immediately lightens ... Nearby, two desperate men on the run make their way through the fading light ... After nearly two decades as prison cellmates, they have become a deadly team: Harlan the muscle, Nick the mind and will. As they approach a secluded house, its spacious windows revealing a cozy scene within, Nick instinctually knows that here he will find what he's looking for--before disappearing north"--
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, Large Print, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id d11f44e7-5be6-82a3-4755-90b9b8ae6a98
isbn 9780553394818, 9780553394825, 9781410483379, 9781681411484, 9781681411507
item_details ils:CARL0000462656|35192047591973|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Milchma|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000462656|35192047591981|Old Hickory - Adult Fiction|Fiction Milchma|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||OH||, ils:CARL0000465208|35192047827682|Bellevue - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Milchma|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000465208|35192047827690|Donelson - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Milchma|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DO||, ils:CARL0000465208|35192047827708|Inglewood - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Milchma|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, ils:CARL0000469392|35192048008092|Goodlettsville - Adult Large Print|Fiction Milchma Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000469392|35192048008118|Thompson Lane - Adult Large Print|Fiction Milchma Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, overdrive:37c3ac00-7dda-4b13-a583-1621894eacd7|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||, overdrive:f542cdee-85a1-4ff7-93df-c8d798733b92|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book, Large Print Book
last_indexed 2018-11-16T05:40:00.455Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Milchma, Fiction Milchma, Fiction Milchma Large Type
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Donelson, Goodlettsville, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library, Old Hickory, Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9780553394818
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000462656|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Ballantine Books,|[2015]|367 pages ; 25 cm., ils:CARL0000465208|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Dreamscape Media,|2015.|10 sound discs (739 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., ils:CARL0000469392|Large Print|Books|Large print edition.|English|Wheeler Publishing,|2015.|587 pages (large print) ; 23 cm., overdrive:37c3ac00-7dda-4b13-a583-1621894eacd7|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2015|, overdrive:f542cdee-85a1-4ff7-93df-c8d798733b92|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Dreamscape Media|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000469392 35192048008092 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000469392 35192048008118 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:37c3ac00-7dda-4b13-a583-1621894eacd7 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000465208 35192047827682 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000465208 35192047827708 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000465208 35192047827690 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:f542cdee-85a1-4ff7-93df-c8d798733b92 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000462656 35192047591973 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000462656 35192047591981 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Audiobooks, Brothers and sisters -- Fiction, Escaped prisoners -- Fiction, Family secrets -- Fiction, Hostages -- Fiction, Large type books, Psychological fiction, American, Suspense fiction, American
title_display As night falls : a novel
title_full As Night Falls, As Night Falls A Novel, As night falls : a novel / Jenny Milchman, As night falls [sound recording] : a novel / Jenny Milchman, As night falls [text (large print)] / by Jenny Milchman
title_short As night falls :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Audiobooks, Brothers and sisters, Escaped prisoners, Family secrets, Fiction, Hostages, Large type books, Mystery, Psychological fiction, American, Suspense, Suspense fiction, American, Thriller