The chain: farm, factory, and the fate of our food

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

A powerful and important work of investigative journalism that explores the runaway growth of the American meatpacking industry and its dangerous consequences.

On the production line in American packinghouses, there is one cardinal rule: the chain never slows. Every year, the chain conveyors that set the pace of slaughter have continually accelerated to keep up with America's growing appetite for processed meat. Acclaimed journalist Ted Genoways uses the story of Hormel Foods and soaring recession-era demand for its most famous product, Spam, to probe the state of the meatpacking industry, including the expansion of agribusiness and the effects of immigrant labor on Middle America.

Genoways interviewed scores of industry line workers, union leaders, hog farmers, and local politicians and activists. He reveals an industry pushed to its breaking point and exposes alarming new trends: sick or permanently disabled workers, abused animals, water and soil pollution, and mounting conflict between small towns and immigrant workers.

The narrative moves across the heartland, from Minnesota, to witness the cut-and-kill operation; to Iowa, to observe breeding and farrowing in massive hog barns; to Nebraska, to see the tense town hall meetings and broken windows caused by the arrival of Hispanic workers; and back to Minnesota, where political refugees from Burma give the workforce the power it needs to fight back.

A work of brilliant reporting, The Chain is a mesmerizing story and an urgent warning about the hidden cost of the food we eat.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062288752
9780062288776
9781494527082
006228875
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID d21a6e4b-1b36-1b8e-2107-f3e13c71fa6a
Grouping Title chain farm factory and the fate of our food
Grouping Author genoways ted
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-19 23:18:15PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-20 00:25:51AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Kramer, Michael (Narrator),
author Genoways, Ted,
author2-role Kramer, Michael(Narrator),narrator., hoopla digital.
author_display Genoways, Ted
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description

A harrowing investigation of the tortuous path our food products take—from slaughter to Spam

On the production line in American packing-houses, there is one cardinal rule: the chain never slows. Under pressure to increase supply, the supervisors of meat-processing plants have routinely accelerated the pace of conveyors, leading to inhumane conditions, increased accidents, and food of questionable, often dangerous quality. In The Chain, acclaimed journalist Ted Genoways uses the story of Hormel Foods and its most famous product, Spam—a recession-era staple—to probe the state of the meatpacking industry, including the expansion of agribusiness and the effects of immigrant labor on Middle America.

Interviewing scores of line workers, union leaders, hog farmers, and local politicians and activists, Genoways reveals an industry pushed to its breaking point. Along the way, he exposes alarming new trends: sick or permanently disabled workers, abused animals, water and soil pollution, and mounting conflict between small towns and immigrant labor.

The narrative moves across the heartland—from Minnesota, to witness the cut-and-kill operation; to Iowa, to observe breeding and farrowing in massive hog barns; to Nebraska, to see the tense town hall meetings and broken windows in reaction to the arrival of Hispanic workers; and back to Minnesota, where political refugees from Burma give the workforce the power it needs to fight back.

A searching exposé in the tradition of Upton Sinclair, Rachel Carson, and Eric Schlosser, The Chain is a mesmerizing story and an urgent warning about the hidden costs of the food we eat.

format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id d21a6e4b-1b36-1b8e-2107-f3e13c71fa6a
isbn 006228875, 9780062288752, 9780062288776, 9781494527082
item_details hoopla:MWT11225466||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11225466||Available Online||||, ils:CARL0000446483|35192046584144|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|338.176 G335c|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, overdrive:2d21f3ce-5b94-4035-894f-5718d3465583|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-20T05:25:51.05Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 338.176 G335c
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids
primary_isbn 9780062288752
publishDate 2014
record_details hoopla:MWT11225466|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Tantor Audio ,|2014.|1 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 29 min.)) : digital., ils:CARL0000446483|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Harper,|[2014]|xiv, 305 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm., overdrive:2d21f3ce-5b94-4035-894f-5718d3465583|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000446483 35192046584144 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
hoopla:MWT11225466 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
overdrive:2d21f3ce-5b94-4035-894f-5718d3465583 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Factory farms, Food processing plants -- United States, Hormel Foods Corporation, Industrial safety, Meat industry and trade -- United States
title_display The chain : farm, factory, and the fate of our food
title_full The Chain Farm, Factory, and the Fate of Our Food, The chain : farm, factory, and the fate of our food / Ted Genoways, The chain : farm, factory, and the fate of our food [electronic resource] / Ted Genoways
title_short The chain :
title_sub farm, factory, and the fate of our food
topic_facet Business, Economics, Factory farms, Food processing plants, Industrial safety, Meat industry and trade, Nonfiction, Sociology