Looby Branch Library is closed September 17-27, 2019. Holds will be available for pick up at North Branch Library.

Pocketbooks and pistols: Haley Randolph Mystery Series, Book 10

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016.
Language:
English
Description
Haley Randolph isn't exactly a model sales clerk at Holt's Department Store. But when the corporate office acquires a high-end boutique chain and extends a juicy discount to employees, the fashionista will do anything-maybe even a little hard work-to keep the part-time gig and clinch a Mystique handbag, the season's absolute must-have, at a heart-stopping price . . . With the extra duties she's taking on, Haley's positioning herself to be Employee of the Month. But when Haley discovers former Holt's employee Asha McLean shot dead behind the store during orientation training, it turns out there's more to die for than hot designer deals. The ensuing negative publicity could force Holt's to close its doors permanently, sinking the surrounding shopping center-and Haley's job-into oblivion. Haley can't fathom why anyone would harm Asha-until she learns that her former coworker, who secretly lived in Sherman Oaks and owned a mint BMW, was seriously shady. Upon closer inspection, Asha's duplicitous lifestyle not only earned lots of cash, but plenty of mortal enemies. As authorities question her innocence and business wanes, Haley's desperate to sack the murderer and save Holt's in time. Otherwise, instead of rocking a Mystique, Haley might end up full of holes-or worse, locked away in a very unflattering shade of orange . . . PRAISE FOR DOROTHY HOWELL AND HER HALEY RANDOLPH MYSTERIES! BEACH BAGS AND BURGLARIES "A fun, lighthearted whodunit." - The Mystery Gazette EVENING BAGS AND EXECUTIONS "Enjoyable...an unlikely but engaging sleuth." - Publishers Weekly TOTE BAGS AND TOE TAGS "The well-crafted plot, humor, and designer details will appeal to fans of Laura Levine and MaryJanice Davidson." - Booklist CLUTCHES AND CURSES "Frothy....The well-crafted plot offers plenty of red herrings." - Publishers Weekly SHOULDER BAGS AND SHOOTINGS "Recommend this series to fans of lightweight, humorous mysteries." - Booklist PURSES AND POISON "A treat for those with a passion for fashion. No doubt this sassy heroine's in for a long run." - Kirkus Reviews HANDBAGS AND HOMICIDE "Fashionistas take note- Dorothy Howell's delightful Handbags and Homicide dangles shopping to die for and a murder in store in a breezy debut mystery as sure to please as a Notorious handbag." -Carolyn Hart
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780758295026
9780758295057
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID d3723459-fc58-9b39-8cf0-e3f8220ba134
Grouping Title pocketbooks and pistols
Grouping Author howell dorothy
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-09-16 22:46:53PM
Last Indexed 2019-09-17 00:17:15AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Howell, Dorothy (Dorothy A.).
author_display Howell, Dorothy
available_at_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
Madison
Madison Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Fiction
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Hermitage - Adult Fiction
Madison - Adult Fiction
Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description Haley Randolph isnt exactly a model sales clerk at Holts Department Store. But when the corporate office acquires a high-end boutique chain and extends a juicy discount to employees, the fashionista will do anything--maybe even a little hard work--to keep the part-time gig and clinch a Mystique handbag, the seasons absolute must-have, at a heart-stopping price. With the extra duties shes taking on, Haleys positioning herself to be Employee of the Month. But when Haley discovers former Holts employee Asha McLean shot dead behind the store during orientation training, it turns out theres more to die for than hot designer deals. The ensuing negative publicity could force Holts to close its doors permanently, sinking the surrounding shopping center--and Haleys job--into oblivion. Haley cant fathom why anyone would harm Asha--until she learns that her former coworker, who secretly lived in Sherman Oaks and owned a mint BMW, was seriously shady. Upon closer inspection, Ashas duplicitous lifestyle not only earned lots of cash, but plenty of mortal enemies. As authorities question her innocence and business wanes, Haleys desperate to sack the murderer and save Holts in time. Otherwise, instead of rocking a Mystique, Haley might end up full of holes--or worse, locked away in a very unflattering shade of orange.
format_catalog Book
eBook
format_category_catalog Books
eBook
id d3723459-fc58-9b39-8cf0-e3f8220ba134
isbn 9780758295026
9780758295057
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:a0dbe880-d162-47ea-86b0-84728358b6c4 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000493928 35192049058542 Hermitage - Adult Fiction Fiction Howell 1 false false On Shelf HM
ils:CARL0000493928 35192049058518 Bellevue - Adult Fiction Fiction Howell 1 false false On Shelf BL
ils:CARL0000493928 35192049058567 Main Library - Adult Fiction Fiction Howell 1 false false On Shelf MN
ils:CARL0000493928 35192049058534 Green Hills - Adult Fiction Fiction Howell 1 false false On Shelf GH
ils:CARL0000493928 35192049058559 Madison - Adult Fiction Fiction Howell 1 false false On Shelf MA
itype_catalog
Book
last_indexed 2019-09-17T05:17:15.542Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Howell
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
Madison
Madison Kids
Main Kids
Main Library
primary_isbn 9780758295026
publishDate 2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:a0dbe880-d162-47ea-86b0-84728358b6c4 eBook eBook English Kensington Books 2016
ils:CARL0000493928 Book Books First Kensington hardcover edition. English Kensington Publishing Corp., 2016. 256 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:a0dbe880-d162-47ea-86b0-84728358b6c4 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000493928 35192049058542 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000493928 35192049058518 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000493928 35192049058567 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000493928 35192049058534 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000493928 35192049058559 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
series Haley Randolph mysteries
series_with_volume Haley Randolph mysteries|10
subject_facet California, Southern -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Humorous fiction
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Randolph, Haley (Fictitious character) -- Fiction
Women detectives -- Fiction
title_display Pocketbooks and pistols
title_full Pocketbooks and Pistols Haley Randolph Mystery Series, Book 10
Pocketbooks and pistols / Dorothy Howell
title_short Pocketbooks and pistols
title_sub Haley Randolph Mystery Series, Book 10
topic_facet Fiction
Investigation
Murder
Mystery
Randolph, Haley (Fictitious character)
Women detectives